We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and awesome atmosphere!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hale Kamaole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hale Kamaole
Ranked #30 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great location and awesome atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here 7 years ago and loved it! This time we stayed in a one bedroom ( bottom floor). The unit was 107. Close to the pool and right near the beach. Unit was clean and equipped with everything you need including boogie boards, sand toys, a cooler and snorkel equipment! Very good community feel, nice open grass area in centre. Community BBQs. Across from Kamaole 3 beach which has a large grassy area, soft sand, a lifeguard and awesome snorkeling (we saw turtles daily, and even some rays). Afternoon surf is great for boogie boarding. One side of complex has single bed on bottom floor, and two bedroom loft on top. The other side has singles on floor 1 and 2 and 2 bed loft on top. Lots of parking and easy to get out to highway or Wailea without having to negotiate Kihei traffic! Walking distance from several restaurants! Highly recommend this place- especially for families!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Disneygroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Hale Kamaole, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hale Kamaole. While we do not manage the exact vacation rental you stayed in, we are happy you enjoyed the property and its close proximity to the beach, popular dining options, and Wailea. We hope to see you at the Hale Kamaole again in the future!

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    71
    18
    12
    11
See reviews for
68
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful holiday on the island of Maui we had 14 fantastic days at 212 Hale Kamaole. This condo has been recently renovated with perfect island style and original art work covers by the credited artist who owns the condo. We found everything we could need from beach chairs and games, to tennis rackets, the kitchen was extremely well equipped, we slept very well in the quiet bedroom and enjoyed our meals on the lanai looking out to sea as well as a view of the well kept garden. The condo was the cleanest accommodation I have ever experienced. I would stay here again and I would also recommend 212 to all without reservation. Go and enjoy.

Room Tip: Choose 212
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeasideHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Had an amazing time here! The staff was very helpful and friendly. I came to Maui to get married and 18 of our friends and family joined us from Canada. Everyone loved their rooms and the grounds with no complaints. It was a close walk across the street to the beach which I thought was the best on the strip. The pool was great and never too crowded. I had a chance to look at all of my guests rooms and they were all great! We stayed in unit 273 which was amazing! I would stay there in the future. All of the units had everything you could think of and lots of toys and chairs in the closets outside the balcony. #273 had a beautiful view of the ocean. 107,206,177,113,127,129,109 were the other units rented by my guests. Everyone was very happy with the decor and cleanliness. Thank you for an awesome stay.. Everyone is talking about going back. We were close to Foodland and the Wailea Marriott, where we took a $9 cab for a luau. Don't miss five palms restaurant for happy hour less then a five minute walk away.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ash_nick_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed in room 215 this past April, and boy was it great! I'm not going to try and con anyone into believing that if you stay at one of these condo's you will be staying at some millionaire's vacation home. My condo (as well as others I saw) was somewhat recently renovated: it had a newer fridge/freezer/icemaker, granite countertops, LCD TV, and a newer cooler (though it was on the small side). That being said, I didn't pay anything near what it would have cost to stay at some millionaire's getaway!

My condo was clean, in GREAT condition, had nearly every kitchen essential I could want, and it had extras such as a boogie board, frisbee, beach chairs, some classic books/ and travel guides, charcoal for the community BBQ's (great way to meet other vacationers while grilling up fresh local grub), washer and dryer, dish washer, beach towels, etc. It was kind of crazy to think that though our room was great, I saw some other rooms that were even nicer! I'm sure you can't go wrong by staying at a recently renovated room on this property.

Be sure to speak with other guests (many of whom I talked to stay for a month or so several times a year here) as well as the property management regarding places to eat. I forgot the employee's name who helped me, but he recommended several great choices.

As far as location, it doesn't get much better at this price! The grounds themselves were well kept but the real treat was Kamaole Beach Park 3 across the road! Every evening dozens of folks (locals, guests at this property, and those from other properties) would flock to the nice grass area to watch the sunset. It was a good time for all. The beaches right in front of the hotel had turtles, some snorkeling, fishing, and if you go a tad to the North (when the surf is right) decent boogie boarding. When the water was calm swimming was great. Those who complained about the condo's being far from nightlife, it was probably only 1/2mi to Moose/Freds and not much beyond that for plenty more restaurants. I personally wouldn't choose Kihei if nightlife was my priority.

Pro tip: Use a club card and shop at FOodland for good prices. Foodland Kihei is a few miles North on Kihei road. Another good option is Costco right by the airport for food.

All in all, I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room! Also, make sure to find out who you are renting from. Apparently there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcom X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoRentalsHI, Vacation Rental Agency at Hale Kamaole, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Hale Kamaole and unit #215, which we manage. I am glad you found the condo clean and in possession of all the items you would need to be comfortable. All the condos we manage are required to have a list of over 100 items that are intended to make guests feel right at home. We hope to see you at the Hale Kamaole again!

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

i stayed in a 2-br, 2-bath condo with my husband and another couple. the location is fantastic, walking distance to great restaurants and bars and across the street from kamaole III beach park. also a short drive to mekana state beach which was our fave on the island.

the facilities are nice. we used the pool and enjoyed our private lanai every evening. the condo was spacious and comfortable and had beach chairs and towels for our use.

the 2-bedrooms apparently all have 1 room with twins, so be aware if you are 2 couples. also, some units are rented out by a separate company. make sure you find out where to get your keys before you arrive.

i would stay here again if i returned to kihei and would recommend it to anyone looking for affordable accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jooliecoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoRentalsHI, Vacation Rental Agency at Hale Kamaole, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Hale Kamaole. I am glad you liked the location, pool, and the roomy two-bedroom unit that you stayed in. I am not sure if you stayed in one of the two-bedroom condos that we manage, but you are correct that most two bedrooms that we manage have two twins in the second bedroom to accommodate traveling families. If you rented through us, we do however have conversion kits with mattress pads that we can apply to these beds to transform them into a comfortable king bed for traveling couples. Just let us know if you would like this conversion if you stay in one of our condos in the future.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

We recently stayed in Unit #128. This is a ground floor unit, close to the pool and if not very updated was clean and comfortable. There was a washer/dryer in our unit as well as a closet stocked with body boards and beach chairs. There were plenty of towels as well as beach towels. The location was great, across from the beach which we walked to almost every day. Also within walking distance of good places to eat. The people in the complex we met were all from Canada and we very nice.

The cons for us were:
-there are no BBQs allowed on the patios so we used the community charcoal ones - kind of a pain.
-there was no wifi which we realized was important for us
-Our unit was stocked with ONE roll of toilet paper and ONE garbage bag. There was also one roll of paper towels but that was less important. With 2 adults and one toddler we were forced to buy more of each for our 10 day stay and well not terribly expensive was very annoying.
-The beds left a lot to be desired and could use an upgrade.

For the price we would probably stay at this location again although if we could find something with a similar price that had wifi, gas BBQ and more toilet paper we would try something else.

Room Tip: The bottom floor was handy with a toddler/stroller but it was loud - both from the parking lot where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdubb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Hale Kamaole, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hale Kamaole. Our vacation rental company manages many condos at Hale Kamaole, but not the particular one you stayed in. It sounds like you enjoyed the property and location, but your major concerns were with unit-specific items (WiFi, mattress, amount of toilet paper). If you wanted to return to Hale Kamaole again in the future and stay in a condo that had WiFi, newer furniture, and is professionally cleaned, I encourage you to maybe look into renting through any vacation rental company on island that can find a room to match your requests and also respond to any issues as they arise. Just a thought! Happy travels.

Mahalo
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

All rooms are quite different, as I had family in many rooms during our stay. Some are more modern looking and some look a bit dated. Clean, affordable. Many come equipped with beach stuffs like boogie boards, chairs, frisbees etc. A bit of a walk from the nightlife area of Kihei, so that may be a positive or negative for you. For the best view of the ocean I would suggest look into getting a room with one of the balconies which sits farther out, as balconies are staggered in positioning. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Berri22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.1 mi away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#3 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kihei Akahi
Kihei Akahi
#28 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#14 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Haleakala Shores Condos
Haleakala Shores Condos
#33 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maui Parkshore
Maui Parkshore
#57 of 62 in Kihei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kihei Surfside
Kihei Surfside
#18 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kamaole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kamaole

Property: Hale Kamaole
Address: 2737 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9699
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Kamaole 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hale Kamaole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Kamaole Hotel Kihei
Hale Kamaole Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing