We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“8 glorious days in Maui”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haleakala Shores Condos
Ranked #33 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Sparks, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“8 glorious days in Maui”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We spent 8 glorious days on Maui in early May 2014. We stayed in Condo A402 (VRBO #139) at the Haleakala shores which was superb. The condo was well appointed and of a very high standard with everything supplied to make your stay very welcoming. all the beach toys you need (beach chairs, boogie boards, mats, umbrella). The Kitchen is equipped with all that you need, lots of room in living area and bedrooms. The condo was more than what we expected. It is beautifully decorated and we enjoyed our time there. Kihei has great beaches, shops and wonderful sunsets. Haleakala Shores is arcoss from our favorite beach Kamaol'e 3 and the complex is well maintained, with a beautiful pool and BBQ's and a outside dinning area. We would definitely stay in A402 again. Don the owner was most obliging and fantastic to deal with... Thanks making our vacation a great one! Would definitely recommend to family and friends!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 40AndresMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    26
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
54
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We recently came back from a 6 day stay in Kihei, staying in the 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo B307 at Haleakala Shores. The unit was amazing, and served our needs and then some. We walked in to a updated and well-appointed kitchen, open concept living room, nice flat screen TV with all the HD channels, beautiful large dining table and an outdoor lanai for watching sunsets. The unit is less than a block from the beach. It also had 2 bedrooms, one separated from living room by an accordian wall, the other a traditional wall, both with beautiful ensuite bathrooms, complete with glass showers. The kitchen provided a blender, quality pots and pans and pretty much anything you will need for your stay. The owner's family stays often, so you truly are getting someone else's home for your stay. The unit has an in-suite washer and dryer as well as the owners provide some lounge chairs and boogy boards to take down to the water. We had a brilliant, albeit to short a stay, but I would not hesitate to recommend this to anybody who needs a bit more space and is looking to relax. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have just returned from a glorious three weeks in Maui. Our stay in this unit was a big part of our wonderful holiday. The unit was as lovely as described—the photos do not do it justice. We have stayed in many rental units over the years and this is one of our favourites. It was a pleasure to stay in such a beautifully furnished and decorated apartment. It felt more like staying with friends than a rental unit. The beds were comfy, the couch invited lounging and even the patio furniture was cushioned, providing hours of comfortable loafing while watching the sun set. We loved the large, private lanai and delighted in its views of the pool, flowering trees and ocean vistas. We enjoyed many cups of coffee and glasses of wine out there, not to mention just about every meal as well.
Since we were travelling with our children, we especially appreciated the extremely well-equipped kitchen. We made many large meals, elaborate brunches and delicious desserts and always found whatever we needed in the well-stocked cupboards. By the end of our visit our ten year old was sure we needed to upgrade our blender to match the one in the condo. We appreciated the free phone calls back to the mainland—including Canada and our two older children were even more appreciative of the excellent wi-fi provided. The large stack of beach towels, coolers (and freezer packs!) and beach chairs were a bonus.
It’s a terrific neighbourhood, convenient to activities, shopping and restaurants. We love being across the street from one of our favourite beaches—Kamaole III. Joseph and Marlowe were great to deal with—prompt, friendly and professional. The entire process was seamless and smooth. We have already booked our return visit and can’t wait to get back.

Room Tip: We love this Unit as it overlooks the pool and is much quieter than most of the other units that ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilyTraveler381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We've visited Maui in 2012 and in 2013 and both times we've spent the majority of our time at Haleakala Shores. We've seen multiple units that we either stayed in, had relatives stay at, or just went to open houses. We LOVE the location, layout, amenities, and the overall feel of the condo. Our only issue comes down to some run ins with the on site manager/care taker Jim. Don't get me wrong, Jim does an amazing job of care taking and keeping the place emaculate. Jim is always working and seems to enjoy his role and takes his responsibility very serious, maybe a little too serious! We have three kids and they like to play in the pool. I like to think they are respectful of the rules and others around them but I'm sure they are louder than the owner residents might like. The conflicts seem to come up when Jim appears to be serving the resident owners, and who can blame him. My issue is that this VRBO friendly units have two different ownership types. There are those owners who live there which are made up of mainly seniors and then those who own the units as investors. Jim is in a difficult position in serving two masters and I completely understand the delima. I also see how the resident owners win as they are there and have his ear. In the end this hasn't ruined our trips and I will continue to stay here and recommend this condo because the location, layout, etc... are just too good to pass up on. I just hope the condo board understands the balance that needs to be recognized between this being an approved rental condo and resident owners. If this is recognized then maybe Jim can lighten up!

Room Tip: All the units have the same basic floor plan but each unit is owned individually. Book early to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This was our 4th trip to Maui and our first stay at Haleakala Shores A402. In years past we have stayed at Maui Kamaole and loved the condos but wanted to have an ocean view this time and be a bit closer to the shops and beaches.
Terry and Don's condo was beautifully decorated in a Hawaiian theme. We loved the open spaciousness and high vaulted ceilings. It was also quite convenient being close to the shops, beaches and of course Fred's.
The one thing that we didn't like was the traffic noise. If you kept the windows closed it wasn't a problem, but with Kihei being so much busier now than ever before we felt like we were right in the middle of a big city. We also loved to have the breeze blow through the condo so keeping the windows closed wasn't an option. Morning wasn't so bad but it was sometimes nearly impossible to sit on the lanai and have a conversation in the evenings. Weekends were particularly bad with partying going on in the parking lot until 2 and 3 in the morning. Motorcycles would race down the streets to all hours of the night, and the garbage truck would start out at 5 in the morning.
If you are a city dweller and are accustomed to street noise then this is the condo for you. If you like peace and quiet I would look at renting away from Kihei Rd.
In the future we would consider going back to Haleakala Shores but would take one of the buildings at the back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed in two different condos and both were nice. Location is excellent and a minute walk to the beach. Each unit is privately owned so renovations are dependent in the owners discretion. Check vrbo.com for pricing and room pictures. Reasonable price and excellent location. When visiting Maui I would suggest renting a car to see the entire island as kihei is only a small portion and there is no public transportation between towns.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank stephanie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Our party of 4 enjoyed our 2 week stay in the condo owned by the Parrillo family. The furnishings were comfortable; the kitchen was well-equipped. The choice of ceiling fans or A/C allowed us to enjoy the warm breezes in the morning, but escape the late-in-the-day heat. We loved the proximity to the breeze where we could enjoy a daily swim or snorkel. The BBQ chicken (cooked in the lot next to the condo) were a weekend treat. All our communication with the owners was pleasant and efficient. Lovely stay!

Room Tip: Our suite faced the busy street, but the traffic noise died down in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Grah36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.1 mi away
Maui Parkshore
Maui Parkshore
#58 of 62 in Kihei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hale Kamaole
Hale Kamaole
#27 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kihei Surfside
Kihei Surfside
#15 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hale Pau Hana
The Hale Pau Hana
#1 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#4 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hale Hui Kai Condominium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haleakala Shores Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haleakala Shores Condos

Property: Haleakala Shores Condos
Address: 2619 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9627
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Haleakala Shores Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haleakala Shores is a small condo complex directly accross Kihei Rd from Kamaole III beach park. There are 30+ vacation rentals to chose from here. They are all large, bright 2br/2ba units with private lanais. Many offer great beach, ocean, or mountain views. Rare covered parking is also included. Many previous guests have reviewed specific units here and many return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Haleakala Shores Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haleakala Shores Condos Hotel Kihei
Haleakala Shores Condos Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing