We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Families”
Review of Kamaole Sands

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kamaole Sands
Ranked #16 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Waianae, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Place for Families”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We came across this property by accident. I read the amenities and thought it might be too good to be true. It surpassed our expectations. They room was immaculate and very well furnished and decorated. Full kitchen, washer/dryer, bedroom suite and sofa bed in the living room area. The room was also stocked with supplies. Laundry detergent, dryer sheets, dish washer soap, beach chairs, beach towels, ice chest, WOW! We were able to cook to save money, even took the ice chest to Haleakale to keep our beverages cold! Great accommodations. There was a few mis communications, but where handled quickly and efficiently by the staff. YES, we will be staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the outer perimeter are farther from the pool, but are so quite and serene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    346
    131
    80
    67
See reviews for
404
267
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We recently returned from a visit to Maui staying at the Castle Kamaole Sands unit 7206.
The first thing you see as you enter the unit is a sign asking you to remove your shoes. You should ignore this sign as your feet or socks will be dirtier than the bottom of your shoes within minutes.
On the second day we noticed we had house guests in the form of cockroaches. The management said they would spray however we only noticed more roaches. The management said they would bring in an outside service to do a professional spray. This did not happen while we were there but they said they would do it after we had left.
This was our 6th visit to this property and has us now considering whether we will go back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Kamaole sands is beautiful! It's in the best part of Maui (Kihei) we've been 6 times out of 8 yrs. if u can, try and book in buildings 1,2,7 or 10. We have only stayed in building 10 and love it. The grounds are beautiful and the BBQ's are fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europe
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Unit 4211. We booked through Expedia. Advertised as Garden View, but in fact we could not
enjoy the patio, here named lanai, as it is just over a busy road. The furniture is aged, the bed in the MBR worn out. Quite well managed. With wireless Internet access complimentary.

The beach is nice, but 250 yards from the unit. There's a swimming pool and barbecue available.

Room Tip: Avoid building four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I almost never say bad things about places. Let me preface this by saying the location and grounds are beautiful. The pool is great. However, we checked in yesterday (10/26) and were put in room 6102 (an upgrade with a "view" from the other one we were originally assigned) which only has a/c in the main living room. The bedroom on the opposite end of the hallway is painfully hot...a fact obviously known by the owners because there are about 5 fans in the room which do nothing. I walk around barefoot and my feet turned literally black. We called the desk and they told us we cannot request a new room until the following day so we slept in a terribly uncomfortable bed and then went about our business today (10/27). We got back from a long day of beaches and fun to call and be told we waited too long and would have to wait another night. At this point, I'm sad and irritable about the whole thing. It's our honeymoon and it sucks to be in a room you are not comfortable in.

We were planning on driving the road to Hana tomorrow starting really early but now we have to wait around the hotel for a new room if we are lucky enough to get one. It's terrible customer service and they don't seem to care at the front desk. Frustrated in paradise

Room Tip: Make sure to check out your room right away and ask for a new one immediately if you don't like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have stayed here numerous times over the years and have always been pleased with the resort and its facilities. We booked through Expedia this year and spent two weeks in a one bedroom unit, #3-307.

This resort continues to offer great accommodations and services for the $'s. I can say that the place is very well maintained and has great public areas, gardens, pool and BBQ areas. The BBQ grills and cooking areas here are second to none. Everything is kept very clean and you are always seeing staff working at keeping it nice. Over the years, nothing has deteriorated and that's nice to see.

The location of this resort is perfect. An easy walk across South Kihei Road and you're on Kamaole Beach III. No matter where you are in the resort it's literally only 2-3 min's to the beach.
You can easily and quickly drive to many others in mere minutes. Wailea is close and some of the best beaches, Ulua as an example are only 5 min's away. You can easily walk north from the resort and get to some excellent eateries, shops in 5-10 min's. Really nice as you can walk up to Moose McGuilicuddy's, Freds Mexican or 808 Bistro and not have to drive. Makes it good to go for Happy hour with no issues right from the beach.

As in other reviews you'll note that condos are all privately owned so you never know what the owners have done for upgrades/amenities so they all differ. If you use sites like VRBO you can rent specific units and therefore know what you're getting for a unit, location, etc. In using Expedia, you get a unit in the rental pool but that has worked good for us in the past. I've found that if you book it through Castle, they have lots of units so if there is an issue, they can help you out. I requested third floor, garden view and got exactly what I wanted.

Our unit this year was fine, some upgrades and clean. Kitchen had great assortment of items, new appliances and well appointed. The couch and a reclining chair were on the new side and really nice. There were beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, rice mats, coolers, etc for the beach so this was really good. The only downfall of this unit was no AC in the bedroom. Usually not a biggie but this time it was HOT during our two weeks and it would have been nice to have room AC to cool it for sleeping. Not a deal breaker but I'd put AC in for the times you need it.

The wireless internet at this resort is now excellent and in every room. Used it for two weeks without any problems, very well done. If you don't bring a laptop they have 4 desk tops at the desk where you get daily papers for free. These computers are in great shape and always dependable.

The pool are is well kept and excellent for relaxing. It's never busy other than Wednesday PM when the pool party goes 3-5 and free Mai Tai's flow. This is fun and we went each Wed PM. The pool is always clean and well serviced, great temp for a nice swim.

This resort is still a very good value for the money. If you are wanting high end and WOW, you need to head south to Wailea and spend 2-3 times as much money. For those that want a great, clean place in a perfect location at an affordable price, this resort is hard to beat. We will be booking it again on our next rip to Maui.

Room Tip: Buildings 3-6 garden view on 3rd and 4th floor are the best for view and quiet being away from traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapolei
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We loved staying in your condo there in Maui.The air conditioner however could have been replaced as it was making lots of noise and had to turn it on and off some.Grounds were well kept and really would have loved to stay a bit longer.Hopefully we will again get to return to your wonderful island.

Room Tip: Get there early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,126 reviews
21.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,032 reviews
22.8 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,509 reviews
22.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
22.1 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Kamaole Sands

Property: Kamaole Sands
Address: 2695 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8678
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kamaole Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamaole Sands is set amid tropical gardens with waterfalls and ponds, across from a scenic Maui beack park. One-, two-, and three-bedroom suites have full-kitchens and washer/dryers. Amenities include tennis courts, a swimming pool and kids wading pool, jet spas, barbecue grills, and a weekly Mai Tai party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kamaole Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamaole Sands Hotel Kihei
Kamaole Sands Maui/Kihei
Castle Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing