We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids not welcome”
Review of Kealia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kealia Resort
Ranked #41 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kids not welcome”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We have spent many family vacations on the island of Maui. Wonderful memories we created. We were extremely disappointed with the Kealia and their lack of family atmosphere. If you are an empty nester or have no children accompanying you, then you may enjoy your time here. This is not our first stay at the Kealia, but it will most definitely be our last. Be warned if you have children who enjoy being children and laugh, play and make noise. You might have a Resort employee yell at you to be quiet. My family and I were speechless. We have travelled extensively with our children and have NEVER been so embarrassed and belittled by any staff member anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FlyGirl1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    25
    9
    9
    2
See reviews for
32
57
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

This is the 8th time I have stayed here. The view from the lanai is wonderful and you can see the whales if you are lucky. The unit is designed to make your stay relaxing. If you want to cook your own meals, #603 has a well equipped kitchen, including a selection of spices. There are also two gas grills available to guests. The owners of this unit make you feel welcome from the minute you step in - a welcome basket, well kept unit and frequent updating. I'll be back again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Kath51__12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Kealia Resort is a MUST stay for anyone wanting a relaxing stay in paradise! The condo is the last in a group along the beach of N Kihei - how nice to have a completely open beach on one side! We are a family of 3 and the one bedroom unit (#402) suited us perfectly! The lanai faces the ocean and the sound of the waves/surf was the best sleep inducer every night! The unit was updated with a great kitchen with practically everything one would need to cook, bake or picnic! We also got lots of use out of the boogie boards, cooler and umbrella! The staff was particularly helpful with hints on where to eat, shop and visit - THANK YOU SHERRY AND NORMA-JEAN - you made us feel like family!!! We are already planning our trip for next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We booked 3 units for March 2013 stay.. units value for cost but highway noise as ocean view not ocean front problematic , found not children welcome as many older owner guests wanted quite and kids in pool had restrictions on noise. Have stayed at better family friendly condos.
Resident manager gave us impression not to welcome with children.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 326familytrip2013326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, AR
Level Contributor
328 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at The Kealia Resort, Unit #202. The owners, The DeAngelo's, were very helpful during our booking process and provided us with all of the pertinent information we needed (map to the condo, information on all nearby merchants, etc.). We completely enjoyed watching the whales from the oceanfront lanai, and loved that it was only a few steps from the beach. In retrospect, the condo is a little on the smaller side, but we hardly noticed, since we weren't spending much of our time in there anyway! For 2 people, it's perfect. 4 people may be a little cramped. But the unit is updated, and very clean. I have no complaints at all. Although, if I could change one thing, it would be the shower head. It has lots of various settings, but it didn't seem to have the specific one that I have at home. Overall, it's a fabulous place and centrally located on Maui. And if we ever go back, we would definitely book with them again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tracy-BO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Unit 601 had an amazing view of the ocean! Beautiful lanai perfect for relaxing or getting some work done in the evening. Couldn't imagine a better way to fall asleep than listening to the waves. No traffic noise noticed, great central location for exploring the island. Unit was perfectly clean at arrival, very nicely furnished. Turtle decor was beautiful!

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Georgie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Kealia unit 402 is an amazing unit with a full ocean view overlooking the pool. The lanai is a stone's throw from the white sandy beach. We have been traveling to Kealia for over 25 years and this is definitely our favorite unit. It has beautiful granite and tilework as well as amazing artwork painted by the condo owner. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank shanwalk_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.3 mi away
Maalaea Surf Resort
Maalaea Surf Resort
#22 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
0.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#11 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nani Kai Hale
Nani Kai Hale
#46 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kihei Beach
Kihei Beach
#21 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#16 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kealia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kealia Resort

Property: Kealia Resort
Address: 191 N Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8832
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kealia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kealia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kealia Hotel Kihei
Kealia Resort Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing