We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Koa Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Koa Lagoon
Ranked #12 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed in 304. there ws bsolutely everything you need fo a home wy from home. The only thing we needed to supply for ouselves was our clothing, toiletries & food if we were to eat in. there was beach chairs, beach towles, boggie boards, books on the area - things to see & do, the list is endless!!!

There was lots of room, there was 5 staying & space was not an issue. Lovely condo in a lovely spot. Can't wait to go back Mahalo Maui

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Toni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

Linda Barron is the manager and she is friendly, accommodating , and very knowledgeable. She is a pleasure to work with. My wife and I have been to Koa Lagoon three times and primarily
because of Linda will never go anywhere else. Close to the beach, great ocean views , small
and quiet. What more could anyone ask for? reasonably priced as well. This place is great and
so is Linda. We were in 305 the last 2 times and in 206 this time. Both were fine.

Blake & Jan Murray

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor to avoid any street noise since this sits right on South Kihei Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janray14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The rental is as described and it was clean and comfortable with a relatively well equipped kitchen. Having a washer & a dryer was very convenient. The 2 A/C units were functional but placed in very poor locations (blowing on the dinner table in the living/dinning room and on one's head in the bedroom). Without the A/C on you could not sleep in the bedroom (you could not and would not open the window). This unit is listed as "deluxe" (recently refurbished). This might be true for the kitchen but not the bathroom. The lanai furniture was not cleaned for probably a long time and the black remains of the burned sugar cane that the wind brings over covered it. The view from the lanai is very nice. It is also nice to get up early and just go for a walk on the local beach before it gets too hot. We didn't swim there based on what we read about the water quality in this area, which was OK for us because we spent most of the time sight seeing and stopping on the way on nicer beaches. The noise from the street didn't bother us as w. the A/C on we didn't hear it. Linda, the manager for these apartments (which are individually owned) was prompt with her answers. Since each apartment is different, make sure that you ask lots of questions about what's important to you. I recommend the place for those on budget and do not mind having to drive to get anywhere (beach, shopping, etc.).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank suzannaPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks at Koa Lagoon and loved it. The condo was very comfortable and had everything in it we needed for a relaxing, enjoyable stay. We stayed in #206 and couldn't find anything to complain about. The kitchen had everything we needed for cooking, the bed was very comfortable, there was a new flat screen tv a washer and dryer, the livingroom was very nice and of course the lanai had wonderful views of the water and sunsets with comfortable deck chairs to sit on and just relax.The building is on the ocean side and we were never bothered by road noise. The complex isn't that big and it was quiet and peaceful. If you want the hustle and bustle of life go to South Kihei but if you want tranquility go to Koa Lagoon. The beach walks were very nice and although the water was rocky I brought beach shoes and it didn't matter. We loved Koa Lagoon both the condo and the location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tessa020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We extended our week's stay at another resort by spending three nights at the Koa Lagoon. We had a two bedroom corner unit. The living area was spacious and the kitchen was well equipped. Unfortunately my wife and I were bunked in the small bedroom which seemed no larger than my closet at home, and it wasn't comfortable to sleep there. It would be OK for a family with a couple of kids who probably wouldn't care. The unit was old and outdated, but very clean. There is a small enclosed swimming pool that requires your room key to enter. The place is also on the beach, but it didn't appear to be used much. We spent our water time in the pool area. All in all it was an OK place for a couple of nights, but if you are looking for more activities and amenities this is not the place for you.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Big C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We did a lot of research before picking this fantastic apartment in North Kihie. As a special treat to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary i wanted my wife to experience a tropical island (as well as ticking off a bucket list of flying around the world). I had previously been to Honolulu and cant say that I was all that impressed but had heard good things about Maui so decide to give Hawaii a second chance (glad I did). The fight from UK was pretty exhausting with a 5 hour lay over in LAX (glad I pre booked the business lounge) we finally arrived in Maui and after picking up a rental arrived at to Koa Lagoon about 10pm local (27 hours travelling door to door). My wife's face when she went out onto the lanai the next morning was proof that the planning, cost andjourney had been worth it. The apartment was perfect with all the amenities that were needed and the location was great. A small ABC store, just down the road had been able to supply us with the basics until we were able to do a larger grocery shop once we had located our bearings and explored the area a little bit. The pool area was used by my wife to catch the sun whilst I went scuba diving in the mornings and the we would go out in the afternoon/evening to various parts of the island. All in all Maui has redemed my thoughts of Hawaii and if I got the chance to go back I would definitley look at the Koa Lagoon again.
On the down side and this is very minor I needed to acquire a car parking pass, the instructions gave a contact phone number for which I left a message, only later bumping into Edward the groundman/maintance guy who explained that this had now changed and he issued me one there and then, and the fact the the exterior of the building was being cleaned and repainted by a couple of guys in a hoist that had not been communicated about, I felt that this was a bit intrusive but as we were only in the place for part of the day it was no big deal.

I would highley recomend this rental to anyone who is thinking about it

Room Tip: 603 is on the top floor and has panoramic views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The place is just wonderful, in front of the ocean. We found everything we needed and more! The apartment was very big, with washing machine, dryer, microwave, equipped kitchen, really everything. The only problem was a noice (24hours a day) which seemd to come from the ventilation system. We stayed in the 602.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
15.8 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
21 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.5 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui,
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 60 in Kihei
551 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#15 of 60 in Kihei
977 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maui Schooner Resort
Maui Schooner Resort
#9 of 60 in Kihei
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Lagoon

Address: 800 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9069
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: £141 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koa Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Koa Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Lagoon Hotel Kihei
Koa Lagoon Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing