We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So amazing!! Loved it there!!”
Review of Luana Kai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luana Kai Resort
Ranked #18 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So amazing!! Loved it there!!”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The staff was so awesome, the rooms were amazing and the view is gorgeous!! The rooms were also very clean when you arived. THey also let us stay till 8:30 at night even though check out time is 11:00. The area is also really safe :).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    66
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
69
55
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We first stayed at Luana Kai in 2012 and enjoyed it so much we booked our 2013 stay before we left!

We were in the A building - one of the two that have full ocean views - both times, albeit in different units. Sitting on the lanai and watching the sunset was the highlight of just about every day of our stay this year. We found the condo comfortable, relaxing and in many ways just like home.

Each unit at Luana Kai is individually owned, so the condition of the condos is variable. Some are well and tastefully furnished and recently renovated. Others are pretty worn out. Take care in choosing your unit. Many of the condos are managed by an on-site team and those units are likely to be in somewhat better shape but they are still owned by individuals who may...or may not...want to invest in upkeep.

What is kept up very well are the common areas. The gardens are lovely, the pool area clean and inviting and there are half a dozen high-end BBQs to grill your ahi-ahi on. As well as a full kitchen within the pool enclosure.

The office staff are friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Even in off-hours (we had a flood one night when a plumbing fixture failed and Mario and his team worked hard to make it right).

The wind is strong in Kihei and the dust is red. This is not a Five Diamond Resort - be prepared to do a little cleaning. We spent some time removing the dust caked in the window screens – by the time we left two weeks later it was already filling in again.

The park area in front of the complex and the beach beyond that is lovely. Watching the runners and dog-walkers in the park is an entertaining pastime. You can’t swim at the beach – and some reviewers have said you can’t walk on the beach either, although I’m not sure why not. We walked that beach pretty much every day. It can be windy. But it’s pretty much always windy in Kihei.

The complex is quiet and feels very secure. It seems to attract families and older folks and there are posted ‘quiet hours’ from 10pm to 8am which are almost universally honoured. This is not a place to come to party. It’s a place to relax and enjoy a little space, a beautiful ocean and appreciative neighbours. We really like it and will be back.

Room Tip: A and D buildings have full-on ocean views. Views from B and C buildings vary from some ocean to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ARV_51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed in Luana Kai B303 - a nicely updated, third floor unit with cathedral ceilings plus an AC unit for those hot, humid afternoons. The owners have provided everything you could possibly need for your stay in Kihei. This complex is not too large, has a nice comfy feel, and the FULL outdoor kitchen plus multiple nice grills at the pool area is a real plus - we prepared a lovely meal there. Luana Kai is on the BEACH side of the road so you can walk right across the expansive back lawn to the sandy beach for sunrise/sunset walks. Thank you, Jean, we loved our stay at your condo and hope to be back.

Room Tip: If staying at Luana Kai, get a third floor unit with the cathedral ceilings for more air circulation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Stayed here a couple years ago in April, it was our first time to Maui. Luana Kai was perfect!! There was nothing better than waking up to the sounds of the birds and having a coffee on our lanai. The grounds are beautifully kept, you can see the gardeners out every morning. The condo itself was very clean and comfortable, we had EVERYTHING we needed! The beach is not a swimming beach, but it was beautiful to walk every morning and collect sea shells and rocks. Great location to get anywhere on the island (with rental car of course). We stayed in condo C310 over looking the pool area and putting greens. Very quiet and relaxing. We have actually booked the same condo again for this year, we will be back April 15th 2013. Luana Kai is the perfect home away from home and I could not imagine staying anywhere else!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Luana Kai was more than we expected! First off, the location is great! The condo itself was average (they all vary) but we really had no complaints. For the price, we had a good little place to settle for the day and it came equipped with everything you could think of. The kitchen was well stocked and the convenience of the in-condo washer/dryer was great. There was also plenty of toys for the pool and the beaches, which was great!

The grounds at Luana Kai are absolutely amazing! We spent most mornings at the beach but always spent our afternoons at the pool once the winds picked up. Although, if it were up to our son, I'm sure we would have spent our days only at the pool. In the pool area, there is an outdoor kitchen as well as many BBQ's and seating areas to enjoy a family dinner. There is also a shuffleboard located just outside of the pool area and tennis courts and putting green.
And after a nice long day in the sun, sitting on the Lanai watching the sunsets is such a nice way to end the day.

Luana Kai exceeded our expectations by far! We created such wonderful family memories and plan to come back every year. We just booked another trip to Luana Kai again this summer. It was our first time booking directly through Luana Kai and I will say that Leslie was an absolute pleasure to deal with.

I highly recommend Luana Kai.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Falls, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We stayed here in late November and it was great ! The rooms are large and conferrable , the grounds are beautiful. We really liked the large lawn leading to the beach, kind of like its your own . The staff was great, if were lucky enough to come to Maui again ,we will stay here.

Room Tip: We liked the ground floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loisbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I am back for another stay here and I am not disappointed. The resort is busier than the last time I was here but the grounds are still very well maintained. The office is remains a no-hassle place, just an email and I was all set up again.

Condo D105 has been renovated and is a treat. New bed, furniture, lanai set up, carpets. The new owners are obviously hands on and it shows. I have no complaints and highly recommend this resort again. Being a dog lover and missing mine, I am thrilled that the local "dog park" sets up shop for an hour or so at sunset.

The oceanviews cannot be beat!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xyz693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
2.5 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#6 of 62 in Kihei
413 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#16 of 62 in Kihei
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#5 of 62 in Kihei
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea
3.5 mi away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#3 of 62 in Kihei
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Kai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Kai Resort

Property: Luana Kai Resort
Address: 940 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9198
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Kai Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable rates combined with a great location, in-condo conveniences, and on site amenities make Luana Kai your home away from home.Welcome to Luana Kai, your source for leisure by the sea. We have so much more than hotels can offer for so much less.Enjoy FREE Broadband High Speed Wired and Wireless Internet Access at our great individually owned condo resort in sunny Kihei Maui.We rent out 66 units out of 113 total. 1,2 and 3 bedroom condo's with and without AC. All rentals have their own kitchens and in-room laundry. Cable TV, Telephone, Internet. Most units have DVD players and large flat screen TV's.Every unit is owner decorated. Refresh, exercise, relax, and tan at our Outdoor pool and recreation with whirlpool, spas, barbecues and more.Keep fit on pro tennis courts, shuffleboard and putting green. Free equipment.Enjoy the Oceanfront beach for windsurfing, whale watching, picnics and sunsets.Stroll the enormous grassy lawn for sunbathing, reading, kite flying, picnics or games.It's always a Great Day at Luana Kai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Luana Kai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luana Kai Hotel Kihei
Luana Kai Resort Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing