We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful condo complex on the beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Luana Kai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Luana Kai Resort
Ranked #26 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Waukesha, WI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“wonderful condo complex on the beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed at a one-bedroom condo at Luana Kai on Maui for 11 nights. It's a very well maintained property on the beach, with a nice pool and hot tub, two saunas, a huge deck around the pool, and outdoor grills and kitchen for bbqs. There also is a putting green, shuffleboard, and tennis courts. We saw many whales leaping and breaching in the bay while beach walking. The condo itself was very nice, with all the conveniences you could want. We'd highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: There are a variety of condos: one or two bedroom, and facing the beach, pool, or courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank door
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    62
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
67
51
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

The Luana Kai Family was so gracious to my family on multiple stays. The rooms have always been clean, the pool in working order, and although the beach is a little rocky still a great place to watch the sunset or swim! This resort is close to everything, especially if you have a rental car, you are minutes away from everything. During a family emergency, the staff went above and beyond in helping us, which is such a blessing when you are in an unfamiliar city. I would recommend this resort 1,000 times. They not only give you a place to stay but make you part of their big Luana Kai Family.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We are repeat visitors to Maui and have stayed at other places on the island. The Luana Kai is our "go to" place. We fell in love with the beautiful sunsets and location. The condos have a cozy feel to them. They're located on the quieter side of the island in Kihei. We love the Luana Kai so much, we asked for a list of their real estate listings at the end of our trip.

The property management team was awesome. They're very helpful and friendly! Keep up the great job Leslie and Mario. We're already looking forward to seeing you again soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swaneytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

I find very few things about this particular condo ( 2 bedrms) that I could give a positive comment about. The view is good. The owner has obviously not spent a cent on this condo - 70s carpet, lounge looks filthy, towels are thin and feel like sand paper. I won't go on. On the other hand my daughter stayed in b106 condo which although not out of this world was leaps and bounds better than ours. Being the Xmas/ny period we didn't get a whole lot of choice even though wr booked in April but think the owners should up their game - could make a big improvement on a small outlay - it has spoilt my feel for Maui. Also our condos were not ready til after 4 ( check
in is 3). Avoid this condo. This is one of my few negative reviews on TA.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gblyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

A205 has a really great view. It's on the second floor facing the ocean. We watched several sunsets from the living room. All the facilities were well equipped. I was especially happy with the beach chairs and pool toys that was in the condo. The books were great too, I actually finished one of them during the trip :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank tracyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed in building A, unit A104. 2 bedroom ground floor unit facing the ocean. Liked the location, quiet yet within walking distance of the Times Supermarket and Long's Drugs as well as some other small businesses. Chose this area specifically as it's at the quieter north end of Kihei and it was perfect for our family. Good location to drive to other beaches, Lahaina, Kahului etc, within 1/2 hour of most places we frequented. Beach out front not great for swimming as it's quite narrow and the water is cloudy, but if you have a vehicle all the south Kihei beaches are not far at all. Liked A building, D would be my second choice. People at front desk very helpful when needed, watch the hours though as they're limited. Condo older but clean, partially renovated, spacious and well supplied with everything we needed. Stunning sunsets from the patio every night, nice pool, BBQ area and lawn. Parking a bit hard to find in their lot if you come in late, may need to park away from your building. Never had trouble finding a closeby spot during the day. Met the neighbours in A105, nice 1 bedroom unit, and my parents were upstairs at A205, also a very nice 1 bedroom. Hope to stay here again.

Room Tip: Buildings A & D face the ocean, B & C face the pool area and tiny putting green, OK but not...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank chromedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We fell in love with the condo the minute we got in and our 11 month old daughter squealed in joy and speed crawled around to check out all the space she had after being confined for 8 hours on the plane. They have everything you'll need for your vacation. They have so many beach/pool toys, great appliances and kitchen supplies to make this a great vacation. The pool area is lovely and very well maintained. We spent hours and hours on the lanai, just hanging out or eating meals. What a view! This really was a perfect spot for a family vacation with a little kids. You're sooo close to the beach and not far at all from stores and places to eat.
I would definitely stay here again in the future and will be recommending this condo to friends. Thanks for a great vacation and some amazing memories from this place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jags3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.3 mi away
Koa Lagoon
Koa Lagoon
#20 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea
0.2 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#6 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
0.9 mi away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#15 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leinaala
Leinaala
#45 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Kai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Kai Resort

Property: Luana Kai Resort
Address: 940 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9198
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Kai Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable rates combined with a great location, in-condo conveniences, and on site amenities make Luana Kai your home away from home.Welcome to Luana Kai, your source for leisure by the sea. We have so much more than hotels can offer for so much less.Enjoy FREE Broadband High Speed Wired and Wireless Internet Access at our great individually owned condo resort in sunny Kihei Maui.We rent out 66 units out of 113 total. 1,2 and 3 bedroom condo's with and without AC. All rentals have their own kitchens and in-room laundry. Cable TV, Telephone, Internet. Most units have DVD players and large flat screen TV's.Every unit is owner decorated. Refresh, exercise, relax, and tan at our Outdoor pool and recreation with whirlpool, spas, barbecues and more.Keep fit on pro tennis courts, shuffleboard and putting green. Free equipment.Enjoy the Oceanfront beach for windsurfing, whale watching, picnics and sunsets.Stroll the enormous grassy lawn for sunbathing, reading, kite flying, picnics or games.It's always a Great Day at Luana Kai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luana Kai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luana Kai Hotel Kihei
Luana Kai Resort Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing