We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled”
Review of Luana Kai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luana Kai Resort
Ranked #19 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed in C310 which was advertised as accommodations for six. The condo was clean but the furniture very old and worn. There was nowhere to eat inside. There was no bedding for the hide-a-bed, even after we complained and the condition of the mattress was appalling. The kitchen was barely large enough to turn around in so a bit tricky for us to prepare meals for six people. The dryer did not function well - literally took one hour to dry one load. There was only two lawn chairs and a very small cooler - nothing else. After complaining, two more lawn chairs appeared and two boogie boards. We ended up having to purchase additional things including beach towels. On a positive note, the grounds were beautiful, the pool and hot tub were fine and the gas BBQ 's excellent. The beach is not suitable for swimming. Overall, C310 gets a 5/10 and we won't be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed in B308 - a new, 2 bedroom condo on the third floor overlooking the parking lot and to the back, partial ocean views. it was amazing. It was clean and modern, with great decor (very island oriented) and it had a full kitchen - coffee maker, blender, stove, fridge, microwave, all pots and pans that you need!) saved money by having all these things. It was just one trip to safeway to get food and we were set for the week! The pool was nice, beach is less than 5 minute walk away, and there are palm trees everywhere and beautiful, well maintained grounds to walk on. I have nothing bad to say about this place, and really look forward to staying here again in the future! We got to look at another condo here, a 1 brdm suite, B111 and it was not as nice and kind of outdated. Regardless, the grounds being so spacious and beautiful more than make up for anything else.

Room Tip: I highly recommend B308!
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank parrotchick07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed at a one-bedroom condo at Luana Kai on Maui for 11 nights. It's a very well maintained property on the beach, with a nice pool and hot tub, two saunas, a huge deck around the pool, and outdoor grills and kitchen for bbqs. There also is a putting green, shuffleboard, and tennis courts. We saw many whales leaping and breaching in the bay while beach walking. The condo itself was very nice, with all the conveniences you could want. We'd highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: There are a variety of condos: one or two bedroom, and facing the beach, pool, or courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank door
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The Luana Kai Family was so gracious to my family on multiple stays. The rooms have always been clean, the pool in working order, and although the beach is a little rocky still a great place to watch the sunset or swim! This resort is close to everything, especially if you have a rental car, you are minutes away from everything. During a family emergency, the staff went above and beyond in helping us, which is such a blessing when you are in an unfamiliar city. I would recommend this resort 1,000 times. They not only give you a place to stay but make you part of their big Luana Kai Family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jewell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We are repeat visitors to Maui and have stayed at other places on the island. The Luana Kai is our "go to" place. We fell in love with the beautiful sunsets and location. The condos have a cozy feel to them. They're located on the quieter side of the island in Kihei. We love the Luana Kai so much, we asked for a list of their real estate listings at the end of our trip.

The property management team was awesome. They're very helpful and friendly! Keep up the great job Leslie and Mario. We're already looking forward to seeing you again soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swaneytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

I find very few things about this particular condo ( 2 bedrms) that I could give a positive comment about. The view is good. The owner has obviously not spent a cent on this condo - 70s carpet, lounge looks filthy, towels are thin and feel like sand paper. I won't go on. On the other hand my daughter stayed in b106 condo which although not out of this world was leaps and bounds better than ours. Being the Xmas/ny period we didn't get a whole lot of choice even though wr booked in April but think the owners should up their game - could make a big improvement on a small outlay - it has spoilt my feel for Maui. Also our condos were not ready til after 4 ( check
in is 3). Avoid this condo. This is one of my few negative reviews on TA.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gblyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

A205 has a really great view. It's on the second floor facing the ocean. We watched several sunsets from the living room. All the facilities were well equipped. I was especially happy with the beach chairs and pool toys that was in the condo. The books were great too, I actually finished one of them during the trip :)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank tracyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
2.5 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#6 of 62 in Kihei
421 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui,
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#7 of 62 in Kihei
620 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
3.8 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 62 in Kihei
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Kai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Kai Resort

Address: 940 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9198
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: £109 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luana Kai Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable rates combined with a great location, in-condo conveniences, and on site amenities make Luana Kai your home away from home.Welcome to Luana Kai, your source for leisure by the sea. We have so much more than hotels can offer for so much less.Enjoy FREE Broadband High Speed Wired and Wireless Internet Access at our great individually owned condo resort in sunny Kihei Maui.We rent out 66 units out of 113 total. 1,2 and 3 bedroom condo's with and without AC. All rentals have their own kitchens and in-room laundry. Cable TV, Telephone, Internet. Most units have DVD players and large flat screen TV's.Every unit is owner decorated. Refresh, exercise, relax, and tan at our Outdoor pool and recreation with whirlpool, spas, barbecues and more.Keep fit on pro tennis courts, shuffleboard and putting green. Free equipment.Enjoy the Oceanfront beach for windsurfing, whale watching, picnics and sunsets.Stroll the enormous grassy lawn for sunbathing, reading, kite flying, picnics or games.It's always a Great Day at Luana Kai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Luana Kai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luana Kai Hotel Kihei
Luana Kai Resort Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing