We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston at the Maui Banyan
Ranked #10 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The room is good and clean. There are shops and restaurants nearby. However, the shower was less than average and the wifi of our room wasn't working. Also, I couldn't agree with their mandatory amenity fee.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Renata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We are very pleased to hear that you did like the room and location but wish we had the opportunity to address any concerns you had while you were still here.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly the next time you are planning a trip to Maui. Our team works hard to meet, even exceed expectations and we would love the chance to do so upon your return.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Natalie Chappelle
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Staff helpful, room clean, food nearby. Near road, traffic can be loud. Can be warm and a/c is loud but nice ceiling fans. We really liked the location! Snorkeling close, past Wailua a few miles, must do! Also great deal on snorkel,chairs, umbrella from concierge at desk.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Aloha and Mahalo for providing a review of your recent stay with Aston Maui Banyan. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the property, staff, and amenities.

It appears that you were in a unit closer to the road and beach. We look forward to your next visit and the opportunity to further exceed your expectations. Please do not hesitate to let us know when you are coming so we may place you in one of our other buildings further back on property.

A hui hou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here in the middle of March for less than 7 days, so it was really nice to be able to get a condo-style unit, with a well fitted out kitchen, for less than a week's stay. The resort grounds seem to be nicely maintained, the pool area was clean and overall it was quite quiet.

Our unit had been updated in most aspects, including the kitchen, bathroom and the bedroom. We really enjoyed the generously-sized lanai, with a great view out over the pool area and the beach - a must for those sunsets!

We were fortunate enough to be on the 4th floor and if you are able to specify a floor, I would do that (we just got lucky). The bottom units are very dark, the lanais are closed in with foliage, etc. These may not even be a part of the rental pool, not sure about that, so it would be best to ask.

We had a car, which is a must on Maui, for grocery shopping and sightseeing but there are other things certainly within walking distance, including a couple of nice restaurants, a good health food store and of course, the beach!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TheDelicateTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Aloha and Mahalo for providing this review of your recent stay us. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and all that Aston Maui Banyan has to offer.

We look forward to your next visit.

A hui hou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We spent a little over a week at this hotel during Spring Break this year.
We really like the apartment. We picked a deluxe 2 bedroom/2 bath suite and it was really worth it and the difference in price to the standard room isn't really big.
The place was spacious, well planned, clean, the kitchen was large, bright and updated with granite countertops. So it was pleasant to come "home" after a day out and about. The balcony was also spacious, nice place to relax, have a drink after coming back from the beach.
The grounds are not so big, but really well kept, with 2 pool areas on the smallish side, but keep in mind this is more of an apartment building than a hotel.
We rarely used the pool, but when we did, it wasn't crowded as most people use the beach right across, Kamaole II, which in my opinion, is the best of them, specially if you have older kids that want to catch the shore break with their bodyboards. Be careful though, as during our stay, we saw a number of people being tossed around, including me, and pushed off the boards when the breaks got strong, even though they are not always strong. One woman had a bone broken - don't know exactly what happened though, but she got taken away by an ambulance.
The lobby is tiny and stripped down to basics. You can get a couple of movies to watch for free out of a machine there, which our kids thought was neat.
There is a concierge desk an the lady there will give you great advice on things to do and book your tours. However, due to the large size of the complex, we always found a few people either ahead or behind us in line waiting to talk to her...One family must have booked every attraction the island had to offer while we waited... So it is a good idea to keep checking when there is nobody there and then that's your chance to go get advice.
The beach is right across the street and that is the best setup.
When it was time to check out at lunch, but we still had plenty of hours left in our day before our flight left, so they told us we could book their courtesy room for a couple of hours. That was great as it afforded us the chance to go to the beach one more time in the afternoon and still have a place to shower, get ready, etc.
They don't provide any beach chairs, umbrellas, towels or toys at the apartment, like we have seen at other places with a similar setup, so you do need to bring/buy your own. Key-Mart is a good place for that.
Sometimes people leave things behind - we did, and maybe it would be useful to ask at the lady at the desk if there is any item such as those left there that other guests can use.
It was a good place to stay, if you plan to stay at one of the Kamaole beaches. A few years before we stayed at Kamaole Sands down the road, but this experience at the Maui Banyan was a lot better.

Room Tip: Ocean view, second floor and up. They are brighter than the ones on the main floor facing the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniel and Clau... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to write such an extensive review. We realize that future travelers rely heavily on this information and it means so much to us that you experienced true Aloha Spirit here with Aston at the Maui Banyan.

Mahalo from the bottom of our hearts for allowing us the opportunity to serve you and helping us meet our goals. We look forward to welcoming you “home” again very soon.

A hui hou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

First of all don't rely on hotel pics. I'm sure Maui has plenty of nice beaches; however, Kihei is old & grimy & needs an overhaul. If you're an ambiance person accustomed to nice long beach stretches, w/ non-touristy feel, don't come here-you will be disappointed. Just came off a great trip to Oahu's North Shore, thought Maui jaunt would be nice ending. Town felt like urban Mainland America, not exotic Hawaii. First thing I noticed- Kihei looked dingy, featuring rundown shopping centers with billboards & advertising of attractions standing out, a Denny's, bums, ugh, total turn-off. I needed a hotel last minute not too far from airport for a night. From a map I chose Kihei-it looked good on paper. Aston at the Maui Banyan was about the only hotel with openings-the Aston in Waikii was good so I didn't hesitate to book. We paid for a hotel room ($179-sounded like good price), but upon arrival there was no reception area, just an old room with a rep counter. No hotel rooms available! Rep gave me a condo instead-seemed like nice upgrade-wrong! I was placed in very last building (T-108), far walk from the street which led to mediocre public beach access that looked dirty and had bums (Kamoli I, II & III). Hotel & front, side lacked a beach feel, lots of pavement, with the exception of back grounds which were ok with decent trees & flowers. Unit was spacious, but visually unappealing & stale smelling. ALL furniture, fixtures, kitchen items, bedding, bathroom, pictures, etc. were old and outdated, 70s style. I was immediately turned off by the hotel, building and unit allocated. There were not views of anything. Wanted to evacuate immediately! Walked North to explore beach & town thinking it would get better. Beach water not light blue like pictures appeared, but murky & dark. Visited Kamoli I, II & III which were all the same. Walked South down busy street where sidewalks end until I hit the Day's Inn & I was done. I had seen enough Grimy looking public parks that could be anytown USA. Kihei seems like Maui's poor man's beach. If you are not used to the beach or like the Jersey Shore feel, ok you may appreciate it. If not, try Wailua area, Napoli, Kaanapali, or Lahaina instead. I will not be visiting Aston or Kihei again. Needs an upgrade. Perception is everything!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 459audreyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Please except our sincerest apologies for not meeting your expectations. Each island is very diverse and even can be quite different in what it has to offer. It seems that Kihei, in general, was just not a good fit.

We are, however, very pleased that our sister property in Waikiki was more to your satisfaction and to hear how much you enjoyed the rest of your vacation.

Mahalo Nui Loa and Warmest Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Fabulous location! Easy check in and all the staff were amazing and showed us the Aloha spirit! Never been to Maui before so this was Our first visit and we'll worth it! Loved it!!! Suites well excellent just steps from the pool or beach. So glad we found it!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevesdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We know there are a lot of accommodation options on Maui and appreciate that you chose Aston at the Maui Banyan.

The management and staff are consistently working towards meeting if not exceeding the expectations of every guest and we are glad to hear that we have succeeded in making your stay most enjoyable.

We look forward to your next visit.

Mahalo Nui Loa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very nice resort, beach just across the street and enough parking spaces at the resort. We had a nice studio with two bathrooms, separate bedroom and a very well equiped kitchen. The highlight was the absolutely and always friendly receptionists. On our last day we checked out but our flight was only in the late evening. We asked the receptionist if we could leave our luggage at the reception and told them that we will go to the beach until we have to leave. They offered us that we can "rent" a special room for free after we come from beach where we can have a shower and change clothes. But after a look into their system they saw that our studio, where we just checked out, is not directly reserved again and offered us to go back to our studio and take our time to refresh ourselfes. We could left our luggage there, taking a shower and had nothing to pay extra therefor - very, very lovely and helpful!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We know there are a lot of accommodation options on Maui and appreciate that you chose Aston at the Maui Banyan.
The management and staff are consistently working towards meeting if not exceeding the expectations of every guest and we are glad to hear that we have succeeded in making your stay most enjoyable.
We look forward to your next visit.

A hui hou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.6 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
21.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,231 reviews
22.7 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#14 of 60 in Kihei
966 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 60 in Kihei
540 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at the Maui Banyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at the Maui Banyan

Address: 2575 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8697 (Formerly ResortQuest at the Maui Banyan)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: £149 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at the Maui Banyan 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious suites across from the beach. This affordable condominium resort on Maui's South Coast is within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. Access to swimming pools, outdoor barbecues and tennis courts and proximity to golf and the beach make this modern resort especially popular with families and larger parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aston at the Maui Banyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At The Maui Banyan Hotel Kihei
Resortquest Maui Banyan Kihei
Resort Quest Maui Banyan
Aston At The Maui Banyan Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing