We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aston at the Maui Banyan
Ranked #9 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Blair, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed in room B1 with our four children 13,11,9 &7 May 21-29. We booked a vacation package with American Airlines Vacations and got a great deal. This condo was on the ground floor with two bedrooms fully updated kitchen w&d which we used a few times a day drying wet suits and beach clothes. The beach is right across the street with ocean views. There is a nice large grill five steps from the door we used almost every night. Full size appliances were stainless and helped with cooking for a family of six. The staff and daily cleaning service were excellent. All soaps, paper products were delivered daily. We received a DVD rental card much like a Redbox that was in the lobby for us to rent movies or video games ( fee included in the $18 per day resort fee). You also can get beach towels from the front desk( included in resort fee). There were beach chairs coolers and umbrella. We left three boogie boards for future guests. We did not use the pools as we were at the beaches everyday. The kids however did play tennis and the court was very nice even included a drinking fountain and lounge chairs. This condo feels more like you are at home than in a rental. This is not a resort complex but has a lot of resort amenities. It's very quite and private but still kid friendly. This part of Maui is so nice full of locals and a slow easy going pace. Lots of fun shops and cool places to eat. Stop at all the food trucks they are delicious! Surf lesson from Surf Club were OUTSTANDING!!! We rented a Tahoe for the nine days drove all around the island and only used one tank of gas. We went to several different beaches around the island and they were all so completely different. A local told us the big resorts have to offer public beach parking as all beaches on Maui are public. Look for the signs as they are not well posted but worth the stop. Most that we stopped at had public restrooms and showers. Next trip to Maui we will only stay at Aston Maui Banyan in Kihei.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the deluxe rooms as they are updated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GGfamilyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to write such a nice and extensive review of your recent stay with Aston at the Maui Bayan. Our staff works hard to make this your home away from home and will be pleased to hear they have succeeded. We look forward to your next visit!

A hui hou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    288
    130
    43
    36
See reviews for
228
264
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

It's my first hotel on maui. The room with a kitchen is so cute and clean! We may cook and have dinner here. The room service is nice and parking is also convinent. It's close to the beach park, we can see the sea view in the room. Next time I will choose Maui Banyan again!

Helpful?
4 Thank Ying D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Aloha! We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Aston Maui Banyan and look forward to your next visit!

A hui hou kakou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

If you value your life, go some where else. The door of our room we had did NOT lock. The striking plate and door jamb was broken. Security came up and looked at it and reported it. I requested another room but none was available. On the second night we had a different room on the ground floor. There were complimentary roaches with the room. The quality control at this place is bad (and yes I did note it on the online Aston survey). For the price, we paid we could have gone else where. Believe me, we will next time!!!

Room Tip: Check in early and look over your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Art555555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Aloha, we are very sorry for your disappointment. We obviously were not successful in our multiple attempts to ensure satisfaction. Even though security was able to verify that the door could still be secured by using the other lock, the front desk did offer to move you to another room but was advised you would stay for the evening. For the inconvenience we did move and upgrade you to a deluxe renovated room the next day. Please also accept our sincerest apologies for the unwanted visitor. We do maintain quarterly pest control services, although being from Hawaii, I am sure you are aware that sometimes they do sneak in. We are pleased to hear that you liked the property location and hope that you otherwise enjoyed your trip to Maui.

Mahalo Nui Loa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I would have rated our stay as excellent except for a few things in our 2 bedroom suite that could have been easily repaired. The faucets in both bathrooms were cracked and broken although they did work. The air conditioners were loud and no air conditioner in one bedroom so we had to keep the door open to the living room for air. We also had to ask for a fan to circulate air - and they had one to give us! The pull out sofa, which is advertised as a sleeping unit, was in very bad shape. The mattress had to be pulled off and used on the floor. On the positive side, the location is great, the grounds are beautiful and well kept, the staff was super helpful and friendly. We had a great view but were on the 5th floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper level for a great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cardiomomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Aston at the Maui Banyan. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed yourself. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and are currently looking into the concerns you have mentioned.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly the next time you are planning a trip to Maui. We hope to have the opportunity to again provide you with excellent accommodations and exceed your expectations.

A hui hou,
Natalie Chappelle
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The room is good and clean. There are shops and restaurants nearby. However, the shower was less than average and the wifi of our room wasn't working. Also, I couldn't agree with their mandatory amenity fee.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Renata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We are very pleased to hear that you did like the room and location but wish we had the opportunity to address any concerns you had while you were still here.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly the next time you are planning a trip to Maui. Our team works hard to meet, even exceed expectations and we would love the chance to do so upon your return.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Natalie Chappelle
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Staff helpful, room clean, food nearby. Near road, traffic can be loud. Can be warm and a/c is loud but nice ceiling fans. We really liked the location! Snorkeling close, past Wailua a few miles, must do! Also great deal on snorkel,chairs, umbrella from concierge at desk.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for providing a review of your recent stay with Aston Maui Banyan. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the property, staff, and amenities.

It appears that you were in a unit closer to the road and beach. We look forward to your next visit and the opportunity to further exceed your expectations. Please do not hesitate to let us know when you are coming so we may place you in one of our other buildings further back on property.

A hui hou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here in the middle of March for less than 7 days, so it was really nice to be able to get a condo-style unit, with a well fitted out kitchen, for less than a week's stay. The resort grounds seem to be nicely maintained, the pool area was clean and overall it was quite quiet.

Our unit had been updated in most aspects, including the kitchen, bathroom and the bedroom. We really enjoyed the generously-sized lanai, with a great view out over the pool area and the beach - a must for those sunsets!

We were fortunate enough to be on the 4th floor and if you are able to specify a floor, I would do that (we just got lucky). The bottom units are very dark, the lanais are closed in with foliage, etc. These may not even be a part of the rental pool, not sure about that, so it would be best to ask.

We had a car, which is a must on Maui, for grocery shopping and sightseeing but there are other things certainly within walking distance, including a couple of nice restaurants, a good health food store and of course, the beach!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDelicateTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for providing this review of your recent stay us. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and all that Aston Maui Banyan has to offer.

We look forward to your next visit.

A hui hou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.6 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
22.0 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
22.7 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
21.6 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
22.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at the Maui Banyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at the Maui Banyan

Property: Aston at the Maui Banyan
Address: 2575 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8697 (Formerly ResortQuest at the Maui Banyan)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at the Maui Banyan 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious suites across from the beach. This affordable condominium resort on Maui's South Coast is within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. Access to swimming pools, outdoor barbecues and tennis courts and proximity to golf and the beach make this modern resort especially popular with families and larger parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aston at the Maui Banyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At The Maui Banyan Hotel Kihei
Resortquest Maui Banyan Kihei
Resort Quest Maui Banyan
Aston At The Maui Banyan Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing