We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maui visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston at the Maui Banyan
Ranked #11 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Maui visit”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

This place is okay at best. Good location, quite suitable if you are on a budget and are spending very little time in your room. When we arrived from the airport (before check in time) we were told our room was not ready, which was understandable since we were early, we left our luggage and went to have lunch and explore the town. We were told that they would call us when our room was ready. 3 hours later nobody had called so we decided to go back and get swimsuits out of our luggage. When we went back we were told our room was ready. It was HOT in our room, unbearably HOT. The ac is operated by a small under the window unit on a timer which can be set for 4 hours at a time. Based on the temperature of our room I can safely assume that the air conditioning had not been run in at least a day, so it's unlikely that somebody checked out of our room that morning. It was most likely available when we first arrived.
The $18 amenity fee is ridiculous, they are supposed to replenish laundry detergent, coffee etc as part of that fee and ours was not replenished. We returned to our condo after a long day of hiking to do laundry, only to find that we had no detergent as promised. When I went to the front desk to ask for some I was told they didn't have any... But they would bring some in the morning. As of 11 am they still haven't brought any. The place is clean but dated. I almost burned myself in the shower because the faucet is installed incorrectly. The cold side is hot and hot is cold. They labeled the blanket in SHARPIE, they screwed a rug into the wall to cover the breaker box, and the AC only being able to be set for 4 hours causes my husband to get overheated during the night so he has to wake up and reset it. It's clean, but hot, and in a good location. If you have no expectations you'll most likely be comfortable if you're just looking for a place to rest your head, if you're looking for a nice place with a resort feel, look elsewhere.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for your recent review. Your feedback is very important to us and I personally apologize for any inconveniences you encountered. I wish I had the opportunity to address these concerns while you were still here but rest assured that they are being researched and corrected.

We are pleased to hear that you found the property and location suitable and hope that you enjoyed your time Maui.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Natalie Chappelle
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    301
    136
    47
    38
See reviews for
242
275
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here May 2nd-11th and really enjoyed it. Booked our trip through American Airlines "which we will never do again" and were given a hotel room instead of a condo. We thought our trip was ruined but thanks to the great staff at this resort, they upgraded us to a very nice condo for a nominal fee. My suggestion is if you want a condo be sure you pick the right room before booking. Our room had all the amenities and a very comfortable king size bed. The grounds were very nice and right across the street from Kamaole beach. We met a lot of fine folks the week were here. A few years ago we stayed next door at Kihei Akahi and this was by far a better place. We will definitely stay here again in the future. The only thing I don't like about Hawaii is the resort fee they are charging everyone now. It's around $18 a day and then they tax that. Crazy!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigEFortSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for your recent review. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with Aston at the Maui Banyan. We look forward to your next visit.

A hui hou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deer Park, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The outside of this hotel is very nice. However, once inside the room it was very low-average. Room was very hot and never got cold. The view from our balcony was nothing like the pictures. All we saw was overgrown grass. Im glad we only stayed here for one night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursiedream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for your recent review. We are very sorry that the room did not meet your expectations. We hope to appeal to a variety of travelers by offering 10 different room categories ranging from a standard hotel room to fully renovated 2 bedroom condominiums with a partial ocean view. We would like to invite you back to Maui Banyan on your next visit to Maui. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly so that we may assist you in choosing the rooms that best suits your needs and expectations.

Mahalo Nui Loa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I feel badly giving this such a bad review, because the one bright spot of this hotel is the staff. They are very friendly and helpful, and are truly the best thing about our stay here.

Unfortunately, there aren't many other positives to report. This is by no means a resort: there are no restaurants, many (if not all?) of the rooms are actually privately owned and rented out. With this being said, I'm sure there are nicer rooms than the one we stayed in. However, here are some things we encountered:

Hallways are very loud and you can hear everything from your room (including the adjoining rooms)

Much of the parking is reserved, you have to go higher up in the garage to get a spot

There is no reception or lobby area. There is simply a desk-nowhere to store your luggage if you arrive early, sit and enjoy a drink, etc....they also do not have this staffed 24hours a day.

Specifically, our room felt very worn down and dirty. The air conditioner worked on a timer and could only be set for a maximum of 6 hours at a time (ie, if you sleep more than 6 hours at night it shuts off.). There was a large bed, but it was so big, it was difficult to get luggage around it.

We were quite busy during our stay, so fortunately, didn't need to spend much time here. If you are just looking for a place to sleep, this might be ok for you; however if you are looking for somewhere with any kind of amenities, or privacy and quiet, you'll need to look elsewhere.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank katie126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for your recent review and comments about the staff. They work very hard to ensure guest satisfaction and will appreciate your kind words. We, however, are very sorry to hear your dissatisfaction with the condominium style resort. One of the things visitors love best about Aston Maui Banyan is the close proximity to a large variety of beaches, restaurants, shops, stores, and activities. They also find that our full sized stocked kitchens with washer and dryer provide an affordable benefit and additional an option to vacationing in a high end chain hotel.

We would love the opportunity to change your mind and invite you back to the Aston Maui Banyan the next time you are on Maui.

Mahalo Nui Loa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Sherri saved our vacation! The last part of our vacation took us to kihei. Our first hotel was horrible and we were disparate to find another one for our last night. Enter Sherri. She found us a wonderful one bedroom that was a reasonable price and ready for us! I figured we would have to wait until 4 but we explained our situation and Sherri took care of us. And she called to make sure everything was ok. Okay? It was fantastic- roomy, clean, perfect. Location is good too. Right across from the beach and walking distance to restaurants. And in the morning, Sherri told us where to get good masubi on the way to the airport. Thanks Sherri. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary-Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for your recent review. We are so pleased to hear that Sherri was able to assist in making your trip a pleasurable one and how much your enjoyed Aston at the Maui Banyan. We look forward to your next visit.

A hui hou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The room was fantastic. In fact it consisted of two rooms and two bathrooms with a kitchen and living room. WiFi was provided in each room of the property. The pool was fantastic and it contained a BBQ area. The staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLASMASTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for your recent review. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with Aston at the Maui Banyan. We look forward to your next visit.

A hui hou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Our room was in excellent condition and clean. After our Oahu stays, it was refreshing to be in a clean and well kept place. Grounds well kept, and location was great,

The staff was especially accommodating and pleasant. They were the icing on the cake.

I do recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Whon-t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Aloha and Mahalo Nui Loa for your recent review. Your satisfaction is a reward to our staff’s hard work and they will be so pleased to hear your kind words. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your next visit.

A hui hou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.6 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,126 reviews
22.0 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
22.7 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,080 reviews
22.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
21.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at the Maui Banyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at the Maui Banyan

Property: Aston at the Maui Banyan
Address: 2575 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8697 (Formerly ResortQuest at the Maui Banyan)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at the Maui Banyan 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious suites across from the beach. This affordable condominium resort on Maui's South Coast is within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. Access to swimming pools, outdoor barbecues and tennis courts and proximity to golf and the beach make this modern resort especially popular with families and larger parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aston at the Maui Banyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At The Maui Banyan Hotel Kihei
Resortquest Maui Banyan Kihei
Resort Quest Maui Banyan
Aston At The Maui Banyan Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing