We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much ambiance and charm for the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Breeze Hideaway
Ranked #4 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So much ambiance and charm for the money!”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I'm late in writing this review. My husband and I stayed at Bob and Sande's Ocean Breeze Hideaway back in November--over Thanksgiving, to be exact. We love Maui and had a wonderful trip, and it was all the more memorable and special because we chose to stay at the "OBH" (I'll call it that, for short.)

The OBH could also affectionately be called "Bob and Sande's" little piece of heaven. That sounds hokey, but Sande and Bob are really sweet people, and they run a great B&B! Plus, I know their place is popular among many others who've stayed there (it was all the other glowing reviews that helped me choose the place.)

When we arrived our first evening, there were hugs all around as Bob and Sande greeted me and my husband. So welcoming and refreshing! And we continued to feel that aloha spirit--along with great innkeeper professionalism--for the remainder of our stay.

To get to the "meat" of our stay here: we stayed in the Ocean (slightly smaller) room--but we loved it! With this room, we enjoyed two private lanais to choose from--one of them so lush, surrounded by plants, bamboo, grass and a soothing bird bath and fountain. And the other one more functional, with a large outdoor glass dining table, chairs, and beach supplies.

In the Ocean Room, the unique blue tile flooring help keep the feel of the place cool and fresh, and is so much cleaner than carpet, etc. Plus, there's a friendly "shoes off" policy for the room, and that helps keep things cleaner for everyone. The shower-only stall in our bathroom was small, however, it had a rich "spa" feel to it, with it's pretty stone flooring, in place of traditional tile. The bed was comfy all around, and Sande provided us some extra pillows upon request. Also note: our room and bathroom were VERY CLEAN. Fastidiously cleaned. I was impressed (and relieved).

The room also included a microwave, mini fridge, and some dishes, utensils, and sundry items for enjoying food and drink in your room or on one of your lanais. (side note: this room does get a bit crowded with two people plus a week's worth of belongings, so you might have to find some creative storage for any food and other items you want to store around the room.)

Breakfast was amazing. Though OBH is not licensed to prepare "hot foods" (think: eggs, bacon, etc)--you'll never miss it. For one, the warm Maui weather is a better match anyways, for fruit and baked goods. And for another, Sande prepares a mean continental breakfast! We enjoyed a week of breakfasts--none of them ever boring, repetitive or lacking. Just the opposite.

We wolfed down Sande's rotating homemade baked goods, and slurped down the multiple varieties of fruit offered each day. There were also daily basics offered: cereal(s), maybe toast or bagels, several different spreads, and coffee, juice, etc. No one leaves that table hungry! (Another FYI--each morning, you'll dine at the table alongside guests from the other room, if there are any, along with Bob and Sande. Be prepared to "talk story" with the group.)

To summarize, I embarked on the trip happy to stay at the OBH, but secretly drooling over the big-shot resorts like the Fairmont and the Grand Wailea. Yes, comparing these mega resorts to the sweet, humble OBH is like comparing apples to oranges. But by the end of our lovely stay, I believe I had received more cozy ambiance, more opportunity to unwind and actually blend into Maui, than if we had spent four or five times the money to stay at a resort instead. So if the hubby and I ever do get a chance to go back to Maui, we would choose the OBH all over again.

Room Tip: Have no fear, you can't go wrong with either room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    42
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
208
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
hereford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed in the Coral Room. The decor is really nice, and the owners Sande and Bob have packed the room with lots of extras which make your Maui holiday more comfortable. Aswell as the usual coffee maker and tv they also supply coats if you go into the mountains, a cooler, parasol and sunchairs to take to the beach and beach towels. There is also a washing line and outdoor table and chairs in your own little garden. Breakfast is served on the deck and is a lovelt balance of healthy food including fruit, yoghurt, granola and some home baking.
Sande and Bob are really welcoming hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them, they are very cool people and we hope to go back and stay again in the future. Mahalo so much.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jakster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Everything about Ocean Breeze Hideaway exceeded our expectations. After busy days of having fun it was like coming home. The privacy, landscaping, soothing fountains made for such relaxing evenings. We ended up not eating at the more expensive restaraunts because we were anxious to get back to relaxing on our private patio. Bob & Sande have thought of everything to make their guests comfortable. The beach gear was thoughtful and extensive including, chairs, towels, umbrella and a cooler. They provide the menues for local restaranuts, which made picking out our dining choices a breeze. They booked top notch tours for us as registered activity agents. When I picked up a brochure named the Best of Maui all the vendors they chose for us matched up perfectly with the brochure. There are alot of vendors to choose from so it was so helpful to allow Bob & Sande to make our decisions for us. The breakfast served on their deck was a scrumptous way to start our days. Staying in Kihea with Bob & Sande made our vacation completely memorable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ocean Suites but I wouldn't hesitate to book the Coral Suite. The suites are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This was our third stay at Ocean Breeze Hideaway, but it had been about 4 years since our last visit to Maui. Mahalo to Bob and Sande. They are as warm and welcoming as ever (and look exactly the same-- how do they do that?!) Everything was as relaxing as we remembered. Even more so, since Bob is studying massage and gave my husband some much needed relief from the back pain he was experiencing! We stayed in the Coral Room and enjoyed the comfortable bed and cool breezes. Some changes/improvements were plates, cups, utensils in the room, in case you want to dine "at home". Also breakfast is now "on your own" on Sundays (they will still provide you with breakfast food if you want, to enjoy in your room, or you may want to check out one of the area restaurants for Sunday brunch). We loved relaxing on our lanai, in the afternoons, and lingering over coffee with Bob and Sande, and the other guests in the mornings. Bob and Sande also gave us some great recommendations for restaurants that had opened since our last visit. Coconuts for fish tacos, and Cuattro for an excellent dinner. Highly recommend OBH for couples or singles looking for a quiet home away from home!

Room Tip: Coral Suite is a little larger, with private bathroom across the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DKK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We will always have wonderful memories of our stay at Ocean Breeze Hideaway (B & B). We stayed in the Ocean Room. What a lovely room! Bob and Sande thought of everything to make their guests feel at home! It was an " Aloha" welcome. The Ocean Room has a fountain flowing just outside our door which we found very relaxing. There was a patio table and lawn chairs for us to sit outside and enjoy their beautiful yard and the warm breezes of Hawaii. We appreciated Bob's and Sande's knowledge of the sightseeing tours and the Island foods served at the different restaurants in Maui. Besides being great hosts,
Bob and Sande are very accommodating people. We couldn't make the breakfasts that Bob and Sande serve on their lanai during the week day because we had to leave the B&B around 7 A.M. every morning to take care of our Grandchildren while their Mom and Dad attended a Dental Conference at the Fairmont Hotel in Wailea. Sande would provide us with a breakfast of fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins/banana bread and put it in our little fridge so we could have it the next morning. Mahalo Sande!! You are very special people Bob and Sande! Mahalo for making our stay so memorable in Maui. We will return!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Don y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We spent a week (by the way, there's a 10% discount for a week) in the Ocean Room at Ocean Breeze Hideaway and it was perfect for us. We loved the blue tiled floor, the mirrors which made the small room look bigger, the little lanai table, the refrigerator and the essentials of eating in: eating utensils, plates & bowls, wine glasses, electric teapot & cups. We could also use the microwave in the main kitchen, which was open to us. These little touches made it not only possible but fun to eat dinners on the lanai, simple things like salad greens topped with marinated fish and French bread from the supermarket. The room is NOT set up for cooking but with a little creativity you can save a lot of money (we found restaurants expensive) by doing this. Bob and Sandee were kind and helpful hosts and the
breakfasts were great. The location is slightly less than ideal, because the closest beach, while great for walking, is not really a swimming beach. But it was easy to drive a short way to better beaches. All in all, we would definitely return here.

Room Tip: The Ocean Room has a fountain flowing just outside the door, which we found very restful. It is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Our previous trip to Hawaii was spent in a very nice hotel, this time we decided to try something different and what a terrific time we had at Ocean Breeze Hideaway. Bob and Sande are the perfect hosts making us feel like very special friends that chose to keep them company for a week. The room was absolutely spotless, the breakfasts delicious, and the king size bed was more comfortable than ours at home. When you add the little extras, like the use of an ice cooler and beach chairs for the beach, jackets for our sunrise drive to Haleakala and suggestions for what to see and when to see it, you can't possibly go wrong with a stay at the Ocean Breeze Hideaway. For those days that we wanted to get going early, Bob and Sande provided us with some fruit, pastries and coffee to "get us going". What a thoughtful little extra that was!!! A little comment about our normal breakfasts, it was wonderful that a very satisfying breakfast was always served with freshly picked flowers from Bob and Sande's garden. It was also very enlightening to meet with the other guests over breakfast. We almost hated to "hit the road" since we enjoyed so much chatting with the other guests. Our only regret was having to leave, we surely hope that we don't have to wait until our second 50th wedding anniversary to return!!

Room Tip: Take a look at Trip Advisor reviews from folks living in Germany. If they say it is clean and comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
3.5 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui,
0.4 mi away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#15 of 62 in Kihei
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
5.7 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
1.2 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#8 of 62 in Kihei
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Breeze Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Breeze Hideaway

Property: Ocean Breeze Hideaway
Address: 435 Kalalau Pl, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Breeze Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our peaceful Maui Bed and Breakfast overlooks Maalaea Bay and is just a 10-minute walk from Maui's longest beach. Enjoy a morning swim or snorkel in calm waters, walk or run along this undeveloped white sand beach. Return to a delicious Island breakfast served on our ocean-view lanai, surrounded by coconut palms and bougainvillea. Take in the view of Maalaea Bay while you enjoy fresh ground coffee and assorted teas; tropical juices, fresh island fruit; granola; muffins, scones and assorted breads; and island jams. We choose locally grown and organic at every opportunity. Maui Bed and Breakfast permit #BBKM 2009/0003 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Breeze Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Breeze Hideaway Hotel Kihei
Ocean Breeze Hideaway Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing