We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Breeze Hideaway
Ranked #4 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arborg, Manitoba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best B & B”
Reviewed 19 February 2008

This is a great place to stay in Maui. Sande and Bob are great hosts, very helpful with info. on Maui and places to eat. The room is very nice and a huge bathroom. Breakfasts were very good.

Cliff and Sylvia Gislason
Arborg, Manitoba Canada.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank CraftPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    41
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
206
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2007

Ocean Breeze was a great value! Bob and Sandee were very welcoming and truly make Ocean Breeze a unique get away. My husband and I were on our honeymoon and were glad to try a bed and breakfast. The only down fall was there wasn't really a daily housekeeping service, however we were able to fend for ourselves. Great bargin in Maui!

  • Liked — Bob and Sandee were happy to share tips on activitis and such to do in Maui
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CappaccinoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2007

It was our last 3 days of our vacation in Hawaii and we definitely congratulated ourselves with right choice. At first, we were suspicious when we saw so low price for such a good location. Actually, we have not believed yet that so great place that we visited is so budget. Everything was just perfect: very pleasant chat during breakfast, relaxing atmosphere, sense of absolutely privacy, really wonderful breeze (the most wonderful sleeping time for last years, I forgot what does it mean “sleepless” after I came back). We ranked as # 1 activities that was suggested and reserved by Bob and Sande. We traveled a lot around the world and therefore can definitely say: this is not just B&B, this is the Superbest place for your vacation! Dear Sande and Bob, thank you again! Elena and Alex, Novosibirsk, Siberia, Russia (Bethesda, Maryland)

  • Liked — place and privacy
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Lena_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2007

Arriving on a late flight, the directions to Ocean Breeze Hideaway were perfect, and a security light even came on automatically as I pulled into my parking space. I spent 7 perfect nights sleeping in a comfortable bed with the window open to allow a perfect breeze to sweeten the air. My room was spacious and comfortable with plenty of dresser and closet space. The lanai was quiet day and night, with only the sound of banana leaves. The first morning I walked into the ohana (family) room to meet my hosts, Sande and Bob. Breakfast was a surprise every morning with fresh fruits, local of course, and a view of the ocean. It was such a big breakfast, that I spent no more than $20 a day on meals. Bob was helpful with ideas on how to explore the island. Sande's suggestions for learning about the environment, put me in contact with the right people to learn more about the natural treasures of Maui. I would stay with Sande and Bob again.

  • Liked — The hosts.
  • Disliked — I liked everything.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank honu-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2007

One year later and we have nothing but the greatest memories of this place. More than anything, it is Sande and Bob who make this place what it is. So cliché, but you really do feel as though you're visiting family (the family you actually like). They are a kind gentle couple with an incredibly embracing spirit.
We stayed for 3 nights last February and would go back in a heartbeat. The room is adequate (see picture); you don't go to Maui to stay in a hotel room. And the location is perfect; it is very centrally located. Bob and Sande tell you everything you need to know to ensure your visit to Maui is one you will not forget. (They even have winter coats for you in case you want to go up to Haleakala.)
Mahalo Bob and Sande! We'll be back some day.

  • Liked — Friendlines of the owners and the Inn's central location
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing; it was all good.
  • Stayed February 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MDM_and_DDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2006

We feel very fortunate to have found the Ocean Breeze Hideaway. From the moment we made our booking, we had a wonderful experience. Bob and Sande were delightful hosts. Before we arrived, they were very accommodating in booking activities for us. Once we arrived, we found oursleves in a warm and secure environment. Our room was both clean and attractive. Breakfast every morning was wondeful--ranging from fresh scones to smoothies to yogurt parfaits. Once we finished breakfast, we found that we were also equipped with all of the requisite supplies for the beach--including beach towels, mats, umbrellas, and more. We will definitely be returning to the Ocean Breeze. Mahalo to Bob and Sande!

  • Liked — The Hosts
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — Great price for Maui accommodation and knowledgeable hosts.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wannabe_back_in_Maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton,Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2006

Bob and Sande were away when we visited, but had wonderful hosts in Les and Helen. The breakfast were terrific with fresh fruit, juice, cereal, and a fresh baked bread each morning. The bed was comfortable, and as others have commented no A/C was needed due to the nice breezes.
It was very nice to have winter coats supplied for the trip to the top of the volcano
Can't say enough good things about Les and Helen- they were very helpful and very friendly- good conversation each morning at breakfast.
The outside of the property could use some clean-up and maintenance updating, but we were not actually at the property very much and the room itself was very clean.
We would recommend this B&B wholeheartedly- it was not quite as nice as the Rainbow Inn on Oahu, but certainly a great deal.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pyxis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
3.5 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
6.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.8 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#16 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
4.6 mi away
What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Breeze Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Breeze Hideaway

Property: Ocean Breeze Hideaway
Address: 435 Kalalau Pl, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our peaceful Maui Bed and Breakfast overlooks Maalaea Bay and is just a 10-minute walk from Maui's longest beach. Enjoy a morning swim or snorkel in calm waters, walk or run along this undeveloped white sand beach. Return to a delicious Island breakfast served on our ocean-view lanai, surrounded by coconut palms and bougainvillea. Take in the view of Maalaea Bay while you enjoy fresh ground coffee and assorted teas; tropical juices, fresh island fruit; granola; muffins, scones and assorted breads; and island jams. We choose locally grown and organic at every opportunity. Maui Bed and Breakfast permit #BBKM 2009/0003 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Breeze Hideaway Hotel Kihei
Ocean Breeze Hideaway Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing