We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Breeze Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Breeze Hideaway
Ranked #4 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2008

Part of our honeymoon was spent in Maui and we stayed at the Ocean Breeze Hideaway in the Coral suite for 8 days and 1 day at the beach condo. The B&B's name says it all-it is not in the main hotel/business area but hidden in a quiet neighborhood-a 10 minute walk to the beach. Sande and Bob provided great breakfasts, excellent advice on what to do and how to get there, where to eat and provided interesting conversation. They even supply some beach neccesities. The personal experience is always what we enjoy about B&B's and this was one of the best. There is no substitute for local knowledge and here it was like having close friends in Maui. All this for very reasonable rates!

We were also lucky in getting to stay at their condo on the beach for our last day as the suite was booked. If you want to stay on the beach then this is the place for you. Large rooms, full kitchen, and great views of the bay from the lanai. However, you will not enjoy the beautiful fruit tree filled yard, the proximity to a personal guide and the refreshing breakfasts you have at the B&B!
Amy and Vin
Boston,Ma

  • Liked — The fruit trees
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geronimoboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    41
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
204
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2008

This was my first experience with a B&B. All I really expected was a place to rest my head at night & a shower. What I got was so much more. From the day I first drove up to the property (Sande's warm welcome) till the day I left (the passion fruit surprise for breakfast) I felt comfortable, and had plenty of privacy ( even my own little yard area) The clean room came equipt with all necessities. The breakfasts were fresh fruits and healthy granolas & yougart, along with baked pastries and homemade smoothies. The host & hostess (Bob & Sande) hospitality was impeccable. I will definately refer this lovely little tropical hideaway to all my friends and family. If you've never stayed at a B&B, give it try, you won't be sorry!!!!!!

Thank you Sande & Bob for being a part of an excellent vacation. I will be back.

Diane
San Diego, CA

  • Liked — Privacy
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dagodarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2008

We stayed with Bob and Sande for 3 nights earlier this month for our honeymoon. We had a wonderful time there - it was just so relaxing and easy. We like to have a base to explore from where we can come and go as we please and this was ideal for this. We spent a few afternoons just sitting in the garden reading our books or taking an afternoon nap. It was nice to meet the other guests at breakfast and exchange stories. The accommodation was perfect and had everything and more that we needed for our stay - like beach chairs and Matts. Coming from the UK we are used to B&B's so this suited us well. A wonderful breakfast started us off everyday and I was dissapointed to miss it when we had to get up super early for a dive!! The smoothie was wonderful - I wish I could make them like that.

  • Liked — Very relaxing, friendly and helpful
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyHolstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oahu, Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2008

Bob and Sande of the Ocean Breeze Hideaway are truly "hosts with the most." Their conversation at our spendid breakfast table started each day on a positive note. They are caring and super friendly, which made it easy for us to relax into the Ocean Suite. This is truly a suite of rooms, not just a bedroom: there are gardens at the front and side, and outside breakfast room nearby. And every need is provided for, from the bed to the refrigerator to the TV and good lighting for readers. The space is small, but things are organized superbly well. Outside there is a table and chairs, clothes line and, for the ecology-minded, bins for recycling trash. That is just an example of the thought that has gone into this B & B, to say nothing of the great food! Kihei is certainly built up, but it is central to most areas on the island. A long beach is only 10 minutes walk away. We're so glad we chose the Ocean Breeze Hideaway.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and food and friendliness
  • Disliked — size of room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank norgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irvine, ca, usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2008

The accomodations are an excellent value but it's meeting Bob and Sandi that make this B&B our favorite. They are both loving, peaceful kind hearts. They give you the local inside view of the wonderful island wihout the hype.

  • Liked — Great hosts and a private entry... breakfast on the deck was great
  • Disliked — kind of in a busy area
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cmcc3335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2008

First of all, I have to say that I am not a big fan of South Kihei. I spent the first part of my Maui trip Upcountry and then in Hana, peaceful places, not overly commercial, not too many people. But I love the ocean, I love to snorkel and swim, I wanted to learn to surf...I didn't want to stay in a big hotel...So if you want to be close to the beach, I most certainly recommend Ocean Breeze. Sande and Bob know the island really well, and can set you up with the best of everything, from outdoor adventures to restaurant recommendations. It was a pleasure to stay in such an intimate, friendly, quiet place, for such a reasonable price.

The room is small, but bright and cheerful. Because of the size, you won't want to hang out there too much--but you're not in Maui to hang out in your room! The problem with South Kihei is that there's really no place you would want to spend time to get out of the sun. It's one long commercial strip. So definitely stay at Ocean Breeze, but be prepared to drive to the better beaches (be prepared to drive everywhere).

  • Liked — owners
  • Disliked — size of room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfyogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaithersburg, MD
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2008

We stayed for 10 nights and woke up every morning to a beautiful view of the water framed by the colorful Hawaiian flora. The condo was clean, spacious and on the ground level which made it easy to walk right out from the lanai to the pool or beach (a short path away). The grounds are perfectly maintained and the location (situated between Wailea and Lahaina) is perfect for visiting the different parts of the island and restaurants and other amenities are just a short drive up the road. The place doesn't have AC which for my husband was a bit of a drawback, but the kids and I found that the ceiling fans and the breeze coming in from outside made it comfortable and maintained a great connection with the outdoors.

  • Liked — convenient location, great view
  • Disliked — lack of AC
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank morrowde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
3.5 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
6.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
8.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
6.9 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#15 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Breeze Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Breeze Hideaway

Property: Ocean Breeze Hideaway
Address: 435 Kalalau Pl, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our peaceful Maui Bed and Breakfast overlooks Maalaea Bay and is just a 10-minute walk from Maui's longest beach. Enjoy a morning swim or snorkel in calm waters, walk or run along this undeveloped white sand beach. Return to a delicious Island breakfast served on our ocean-view lanai, surrounded by coconut palms and bougainvillea. Take in the view of Maalaea Bay while you enjoy fresh ground coffee and assorted teas; tropical juices, fresh island fruit; granola; muffins, scones and assorted breads; and island jams. We choose locally grown and organic at every opportunity. Maui Bed and Breakfast permit #BBKM 2009/0003 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Breeze Hideaway Hotel Kihei
Ocean Breeze Hideaway Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing