We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Breeze Hideaway
Ranked #4 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We stayed 3 nights in this lovely B&B and we definitely enjoyed our stay. I read a lot of the other reviews and I can confirm the laudatory facts like the perfect breakfast and the great hospitality of Sande and Bob and so I don´t want to repeat all of them. So maybe I use these words to comment on the few not so perfect reviews that we cannot understand. For example some people complained about not having an A/C in their room and therefore the need to sleep with open windows and the assosciated noise. BUT there is the possibility to have an A/C because one of the two rooms has one. So if you book the Coral Suite you will have an A/C and can sleep with closed windows. So you will definetly have a quite night in a well tempered room. (Only as a side note: this was the only B&B we had on Hawaii (and we had a lot) that offered the convenience of an A/C).

We would definitely recommend these B&B to all our friends because it is a really great place to explore Maui and get in contact with people living on Hawaii.

There is only a small disadvantage for people from europe that do not book by a travel agency. Because the advanced payment with paypal was quite expensive for us. We had to pay the fees of paypal AND the credit card (because paypal charges the credit card). In all the other B&Bs we gave our credit card number as deposit and paid cash during our stay. That was much more convenient for us. But never the less Oceanbreeze Hideaway was worth the money.

Markus and Kerstin

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lunzinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2009

My husband and I stayed at Bob and Sande's oceanfront condo and had a great time. The condo is located in a beautiful setting by an ancient Hawaiian fish pond. Turtles came into the fish pond to feed and right up to the surface of the water in front of us. We loved watching them in the evenings! It was also really nice to sit out on the lanai and drink coffee in the morning and watch the sun rise. It ended up being a really good deal for us because between the BBQ outside and the fully equiped kitchen, we were able to save a lot of money by not going out to eat for every meal. Also, with the laundry facilities and all of the extras provided such as beach towels, we were able to pack lightly. I would definitely recommend the oceanfront condo.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLOtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

I have to say that Ocean Breeze B & B is a great place to stay to recharge your batteries. Bob and Sande were excellent host and provided great advise of where to go and places to eat that aren't only on a tourist agenda, but those slightly off the beatin path. I stayed in the Coral Suite (which is the larger of the two suites) and had plenty of space for my things. The mornings were always something to look forward to and Bob and Sande provided an excellent variety in breakfast. Coming from a small town, the cooing of the doves first thing in the morning was much preferred to that of an alarm clock and though the roosters crowing was something to get used to, by the second morning I was up with them getting ready for another great day. Inaddition, the entrance to my suite was quite private and I was able to leave my door and window open all day if I wanted to (which I mostly did). Thanks Bob and Sande for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blue_lady74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

During our outdoor-nature-beach&sea holiday in Hawaii we stayed for 5 nights at Bob and Sande's Ocean Breeze Hideaway B&B, a perfect place to discovery and fully enjoy all treasures of Maui.
The Ocean Suite room is a cozy and friendly place with private bathroom (shower), large storage with fridge, terrasse and garden corner for eating, readying or relaxing. You have also at your disposal umbrella for the beach, beachtowels, bodyboard...
Bob and Sande are a very open and welcoming couple, making feeling everyone like at home, and can give you a lot of tips and advice about Kihei and Maui.
They are preparing you a wonderful big breakfast in the morning on their lanai in their flowered garden, with home made muffins or scones or cake, beagels, fresh island fruit from their garden or from the market, fruit juice or smoothie...
Kihei is a very nice place to stay when discovering Maui, staying mixed touristic and local. You can talk with the fishermen on the beach morning or evening, watch kids skating or playing baseball, friends playing beachvolley... Restaurants are frequented by both, tourists and locals.
The beach is at 10 minutes walk from the Ocean Breeze Hideaway, and you can walk west or south for several miles on golden sand or in the water.
By car you are quickly everywhere else on the island, whether you wish to discover west side around Laihana, south Makena, north Hokeina or central Volcanos National Park, Kihei and the Ocean Breeze Hideaway are a perfect place to stay for an overall succesful holiday in Maui !

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TurtleParis_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Awesome home away from home. A wonderful place to experience the real side of Kihei, Hawaii. We are scuba divers and have an awesome lanai to be able to rinse our gear and also have an area out doors to be able to let our gear dry out .Having returned for our third visit to the Coral Suite you couldn't ask for any better host's than Bob and Sande. They will help you get to know the island as if you have always lived there. Bob and Sande supply you with a breakfast of yogurts, cereals, fruits and many other choices-something different every morning. Staying in the Coral Suite has been a pleasure, it is a great size room -with a full size private bathroom.
Having choices to stay wherever we want ,we will always choose Ocean breeze Hideaway because you never have to worry about loud children screaming or running down the hallway or being very loud in the room next door. It is located in a quaint neighborhood with easy access to the beach and pretty much anything else you would need without having to pay 5 star hotel prices.
We will be back ---and If you want a great deal for your money YOU will check them out too

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandimike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

We stayed with Bob and Sande for a fortnight and enjoyed every minute of it. The room and private bathroom are fully equipped and for beach buddies like ourselves also the essential relaxation tools like towels, chairs, and body-board were provided. Everything was nice and clean.

The room had an own little fridge, and we were also invited to use the living room and help ourselves to ice and glasses from the kitchen, so it much felt like being at home. After an active day of hiking the Haleakala crater, it felt good to put the feet up and have a glass of pina colada on our private little lanai among lush green plants of the well maintained garden.

Breakfast was a daily delight - in fact, now that we are back home, we miss very much the fresh fruit and pastry from the island (individually adjusted after I admitted a dislike for scones). Bob and Sande's enjoyable company at breakfast was always a good start of the day. They provided us with useful advice and recommendations for eateries and nice places to visit, but we also had some generally nice chats making us feel like being part of the family.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wgreller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Hello,
We stayed at the Ocean Breeze Hideaway in Maui in July of 2009 as part of our Honeymoon and it was a great Bed and Breakfast. Bob, one of the owners was such a nice man and he made us marvelous breakfasts every morning. He also provided us with some great advice on where to go explore on the island.

The room (Coral Suite) was nice and tidy with lots of privacy. It is in a great location, a short drive away from many beautiful beaches and other attractions and restaurants.

I would recommend this bed and breakfast to any traveler who doe not enjoy staying at big resorts and would like a more intimate vacation.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Surfer_Chick_Patty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
3.5 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
4.6 mi away
What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui,
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Ho'oilo House
Ho'oilo House
#2 of 11 in Lahaina
362 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast
4.8 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 60 in Kihei
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Breeze Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Breeze Hideaway

Address: 435 Kalalau Pl, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range: £109 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Breeze Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our peaceful Maui Bed and Breakfast overlooks Maalaea Bay and is just a 10-minute walk from Maui's longest beach. Enjoy a morning swim or snorkel in calm waters, walk or run along this undeveloped white sand beach. Return to a delicious Island breakfast served on our ocean-view lanai, surrounded by coconut palms and bougainvillea. Take in the view of Maalaea Bay while you enjoy fresh ground coffee and assorted teas; tropical juices, fresh island fruit; granola; muffins, scones and assorted breads; and island jams. We choose locally grown and organic at every opportunity. Maui Bed and Breakfast permit #BBKM 2009/0003 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Breeze Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Breeze Hideaway Hotel Kihei
Ocean Breeze Hideaway Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing