We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent budget resort”
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sugar Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent budget resort”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Although they were working on the parking garage nearby, we had no complaints about noise. We stayed on the 4th floor right on the ocean. The view of the ocean couldn't get any better. The beach was literally 50 feet from our place. The condo had everything we needed with no frills. The grounds are well kept with plumeria trees everywhere giving off amazing fragrance. The pool and hot tub are superb. We'd definitely go back!

Room Tip: Most rooms have ocean view, so you're okay just about anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blake A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    227
    46
    31
    36
See reviews for
137
288
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

1 bedroom condo on the 4th floor. One thing that really annoyed me. There os internet, but only if u have a laptop. There is a modem here but no wifi. Who the heck brings a laptop nowadays? There is only internet via wire connection. And with no ethernet cable provided in the room. So make sure you bring your wireless router if you need wifi internet. Pretty pathetic actually to not have wifi, makes me wonder how this is even possible.

Kitchen is almost fully equipped. Only thing I really needed here was a chef knife. Cutting a 12lbs watermelon with a carving knife or a butcher knife wasnt fun.
The beach is close by with little sand area. Very nice to swim in or walk along.

Swimming pool is like a hot tub. Very warm.

Overall, worth the money but still not happy about Internet. Still makes me wonder why there's no wifi in a US state in the year 2014. BRING A WIRELESS ROUTER!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cuong n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for staying at the Sugar Beach Resort. We hope you enjoyed the oceanfront pool and beachfront access. I am not sure if you stayed in one of the 100+ condos that our vacation rental company manages at the Sugar Beach Resort, but if you did, I encourage you to call our office next time to request a room with free WiFi and we would be happy to work with you to meet your requests. A large majority of our condos have free WiFi and I am sure we could have found you a great option!

We hope to see you again at the Sugar Beach Resort.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I wouldn't recommend staying here. The condo was dirty when we arrived and the bed was worn out and uncomfortable. The worst part about our stay was having to listen to a screeching saw all day. Nice beachfront location but too close to the highway.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank fishb4bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Aloha Bob,
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Sugar Beach Resort. I am not sure if you stayed at one of the vacation rentals our company manages, but a dirty room is unacceptable and we would have assured that a cleaner was sent to your room to address your concerns. Also, if there were issues with noise we could have moved you into another one of our units that was on a different side of the property. We hope you give the Sugar Beach Resort another try on a return trip out to Maui.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kekaha, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Sugar Beach Resort #213 is a beautiful breathtaking paradise. Corner unit, ocean front lanai! The mirrors are wonderful. They capture the turquoise blue ocean from every angle. No cheap stick on either, they go from ceiling to floor. Expensive furniture your shocked to see in a rental. The second floor is perfect. Off the ground, but not to high up. Great location. Always a great breeze to keep it cool, but AC is avaliable. Pool was a blast. We could see it from #213 side window too. Hot tub, even a little keiki pool. 5 miles of white sugar sand to walk every morning. We also swam, snorkled,& lil waves to surf sometimes, right in front of #213. Fantastic!

Mahalo Nui Loa to the owners of #213 for sharing your piece of paradise.

Room Tip: #213 is a gorgeous corner unit, bigger & more ocean & pool views. Very quiet, you only hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jules7772014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your review of the Sugar Beach Resort and oceanfront condo 213, which our vacation rental company manages. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the room and the furnishings. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to the owner. We hope to see you at the Sugar Beach Resort again in the future.

Mahalo
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed in sugar beach resort in April 2014 for 5 days in apartment 603 or PH3 as they like to call.
First let me tell you about this resort. The resort is old but very well maintained. There are people all the time cleaning the place . It is very comfortable and central and affordable. There is a wonderful sandwich shop in the complex The views from the lanai are just gorgeous. We had a ocean view apartment and had the view of the pool hot tub and the beach. The beach itself is very clean and not crowded at all. The water is very calm. I would not hesitate to visit again.

Having said that about the resort, the apartment 603 is very outdated and can use a lot of TLC.
However the owner has equipped the apartment with everything you can possibly need. The convenience of washer and dryer is great.

Room Tip: We loved the ocean view apartment a lot. Have not stayed in the ocean front apartment so really can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rktrip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent 10 glorious days in Maui and stayed in at the centrally located Sugar Beach Resort. We were beach front about 30 feet from the ocean with beautiful sunrises and sunsets. Kihei is a good location for weather. It seldom rains and has easy access to the volcano and up country as well as beaches and shopping of Lahaina. April is a good time to visit. Less crowded and expensive. Food will be your main cost so having a condo is ideal to do your own cooking. Lovely place.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aqua102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review of the Sugar Beach Resort. I am not sure if you stayed in one of the condos our vacation rental company manages, but we are glad you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, the beachfront location is fantastic for easy access to a white sand beach, but you can also drive with ease to Lahaina, Kihei, and Wailea for other beaches, shopping, and restaurant options.
We hope to see you again at the Sugar Beach Resort!
Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We just got back from Sugar Resort Unit 414. We rented this unit through VRBO but it was handled not by the owner but by the rental group, Alli. Alli has excellent customer service..probably the best we have encountered using rental companies. The resort itself was right on the beach and it was centrally located on the island so it was easy to get around. It is about 15 minutes from the airport. The resort's grounds were well maintained and everyone was very friendly. There were a few spots that could use a new coat of paint or a little "sprucing" up but overall, very nice. The resort is a supposed to be non-smoking but we did have a neighbor who did smoke on their balcony (never could tell if they were beside or below us). We just went inside until they were done. The unit was very clean and had just about anything you could want. Overall, we were very pleased with the unit and the resort.

Room Tip: It was cheaper than most hotel rooms and had a complete kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulaH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
4.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
17.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
17.8 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#5 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort

Property: Sugar Beach Resort
Address: 145 N Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8827
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach Resort is an all inclusive, quiet and well located ocean front condo hotel. Each unit is individually owned. The resort is managed by the homeowner's association/Hawiiana Management.The 214 units are ocean front, ocean view, garden view on 5 acres of lush tropical beach front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Resort Condos Hotel Kihei
Sugar Beach Resort Maui/Kihei
Sugar Beach Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing