We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea
Nearby Hotels
US$548
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$687
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$466
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andaz Maui At Wailea Resort(Wailea)
US$721
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$674
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$537
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$468
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea(Wailea)(Great Value!)
US$406
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$365
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$570
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$457
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$800
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$771
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$296
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
87
92
29
30
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
92
29
30
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubocean viewthe kitchenliving roomlaundry roompicnic tablesputting greenfew minutes driveboth bedroomsshuffle boardsecond bedroomnice beachessmall beachnon smokingrented unitsouth kihei roadcentral location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

If you are looking for a budget friendly location, Kihei is it. We stayed at Kauhale Makai, a well kept condo complex. It has all the basic amenities (beach for walking, not swimming though). Definitely do your research on units, as there is a wide variety of quality here. Pictures on rental site (Maui Condo and Home) were very helpful. We stayed in unit 433, a two bedroom with great ocean views. This place was very well equipped and clean. Everything from snorkel equipment and boogie boards to beach towels and chairs.

Lots of dining options in Kihei, especially if you are on a budget. Grocery stores nearby. We found this location to be very central and could get to Wailea or Lahaina pretty quickly. Not fancy, but good spot for families.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grace n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauiCondoMarina, Rental Manager, Maui Condo and Home, LLC. at Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your review of Kauhale Makai unit #433. We are happy to offer photos and information for all of our units on our websites so guests can book a specific unit. The owners of this unit have provided the snorkel equipment, boogie boards, beach chairs, and beach towels. These items do not come standard with all units as it is up to the owner to choose to provide them. What a great addition to your vacation! We hope you return to Maui and choose to stay in at Kauhale Makai 433 again. If you need assistance planning your next Maui vacation please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department.
Mahalo,
Marina Sands
Maui Condo and Home, LLC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were there for 16 days, and are so glad we found Court's Condo to stay in. Way more bang for your buck than a hotel room. Like described there is everything you need in there. Decorated so nice, loved all the beautiful mirrors, Comfy bed, loved the shower, great kitchen, great view, BBQ area was always spotless, which my husband really enjoyed.
Loved Cafe O'lei in Kihei which he recommended, best french onion soup!! Coconut's Fish Cafe had the best fish and chips. Lots of great little bars to go to for happy hour just down the road,1/2 price drinks and appy's. Three's Bar and Grill was probably our favorite. We visited The Surfing Goat Dairy Farm and sampled their cheeses they make right there.Kids would love it. Drove the Road To Hana, if not raining take the back way back, saves about 1 1/2 hrs. If you like Markets make sure and go to the Kahlui Swap Meet on Saturdays. They have everything there you could want. Also the Geste's Shrimp Truck is not far from there and was the best shrimp we have ever had. Messy but so good! The Alhoa Open Market is awesome too, Wed. and Sat. are the days for it. Best Macadamia Nut Bread and fresh vegetables. Already had a friend asking me to send her a link of the condo after seeing my pictures. We really enjoyed our stay in Village By The Sea.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank laurie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauiCondoMarina, Rental Manager, Maui Condo and Home, LLC. at Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your review of Kauhale Makai. Though you did not book directly with our company, we do manage many of the condos at Kauhale Makai. You certainly made the most of your trip and I hope many people read your review because you gave a lot of great recommendations!! You named many of my favorite places to eat like Café O’lei and Coconuts and the road to Hana is one of my all-time favorites!! We hope you visit Maui again and make many more lasting memories!
Mahalo,
Marina Sands
Maui Condo and Home, LLC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The view wasn't that good. Out our unit the view of the ocean is obstructed by an ugly hill of hideous "grass". The rules for the pool are ridiculous. No toys no fins no splashing. The "putting green" is a small and a waste of space. The grassy areas have a lot of "potholes" I have personally have sprained my ankle. Management is very rude. Management yelled at members of our group for skateboarding in the parking lot. There are no rules saying that such activities were against the rules. They were just going around the building. Not doing tricks and always stopped when they saw a car. They also seemed to be under construction. The sound of construction was very annoying. Mostly this place is more so for the retired. Not much to do and a little too strict for people who want to enjoy their stay. It seems most of the other occupants are rude/unfriendly during the day and raging alcoholics at night. Not much to do within walking distance. We spent more time away from this condo and yet still had a lousy time.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveling_Drag0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauiCondoMarina, Rental Management, Maui Condo and Home, LLC. at Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your review of Kauhale Makai.
It is unfortunate to hear that your stay was unsatisfactory. You did not specify your unit number and therefore it can’t be determined who you booked through. We manage condos at 18 different properties on Maui and all of the properties have similar rules and regulations. Though the rules and regulations may seem ridiculous, they are most likely to prevent injury or liability. This is the same for most properties. We hope you return to Maui and are able to find a condo complex that better fits your needs. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact our office.
Mahalo,
Marina Sands, Maui Condo and Home, LLC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was our first time to Maui and did enjoy our time there. I'm sorry to say our condo did not meet my expectations. Please understand that I'm very fussy about a clean room. This condo was not clean.

The plastic plants should be thrown out, there's coating of dust on them. There was a smell that came from the kitchen on arrival. We purchased room fresheners to bring back to the condo.

The bathroom was tiny with mis-matched hardware. The shelving was dusty. The nozzles in the spa tub had black in them. The whole bathroom needed a good scrub brush. Oh, and the washcloth I used to shower was stained. The two beautiful sliding glass doors were dirty- I mean this is a condo with ocean views- the windows should be clean!

The owners need to look into a different cleaning company before I'd ever stay there again.

Also, the wi-fi was not reliable. It constantly kicked us off. My husband said (normally a very patient man) "It's enough to drive you nuts."

The room has potnetial, but I can't give it a favorable rating as it was. I've seen better, way better.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank SmilesCanDo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This condo was comfortable and was a good price. It is a older building but was very clean. I had no issues with the condo and the property was great. The pool was cold so I never used it much besides to cool off a bit and the hot tub was good for the evenings. It was a quiet relaxing vacation and I was satified with the building

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauiCondoMarina, Property Management Company, Maui Condo and Home, LLC. at Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Aloha and thank you for your review.
Having a comfortable and clean place to rest and relax is on the top of the priority list when it comes to choosing vacation accommodations. It is great to hear that you had a relaxing vacation at the Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea and condo 331 was clean and inviting. When planning your next trip to Maui, book on our website and you can choose a specific condo whether it is 331 again or you can try another condo. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact our office.
Mahalo,
Marina Sands, Maui Condo and Home, LLC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews