We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views, perfect location, and nice facilities”
Review of Aston Maui Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Maui Hill
Ranked #2 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just got back from a great eight day trip to Hawaii where we stayed at the Aston Maui Hill. This is a timeshare resort where you check in just about any day of the week which is actually pretty nice. I'm used to mandatory Friday arrivals which usually makes for a very busy front desk and long wait times to check in. This is not the case here.

There are two and three bedroom condos. We had a two bedroom. This meant it could sleep six; Two in the master, two in the guestroom, and two more in the couch hide-a-bed. The layout is great for a family with the master bedroom having its own vanity and bathroom with a shower. The far wall is also all glass doors that can be opened up allow the breeze though the unit and take advantage the spectacular southwest views of Maui and the islands off its coast.

As for the guests, if they are children it is fine, but if they are adults is could be a little awkward. The second bathroom is a tub/shower and toilet and the vanity is in a hallway/alcove outside of the bathroom in front of the master bedroom. It doesn't leave much privacy for a second couple when getting ready. There is a over-under washer and dryer which is very convenient because you don't have to bring as much clothing allowing you to minimize the luggage you carry. The kitchen is simple and clean with a dishwasher, oven, stove, microwave, a full sized refrigerator, and plenty of dishes and silverware. If you don't plan on eating out every night this is excellent. We ate out a lot, but were able to hold a pre/post dinner drinks and snacks several of the nights we were there because of the kitchen.

The main living area includes an elevated dinning room that has a railing and steps down into the living room where there is a couch, a couple chairs, coffee table and entertainment center. The far wall is all glass doors that open like the master bedroom and offer the same breathtaking views.

While the rooms were mostly upgraded with new tile and countertops, the furniture and cabinetry still seemed a little dated, but not in disrepair. Its the little things that just seemed a little off. However there is a storage room that includes all of the equipment you would need for going to the beach like chairs and umbrellas as well as other things like Christmas tree stands and other oddities that would come in helpful being at a residential style condo.

As for the amenities there are tennis courts, a pool and Jacuzzi, and putting green. No gym which was a bummer, but this place was definitely built before that was considered a necessity. The pool was very clean and this is despite being very heavily used everyday. And for new guests they do hold a welcome party with Mai Thais, wine and beer so everybody can meet one another. It does have a back stairway to connect you to the main sidewalk into town which seems funny to mention, but turned out to be extremely convenient every time we walked to the local shops, activities and beaches. The grounds are amazingly maintained and there is ample parking.

The resort is about half-a-mile from the nearest shopping center in Kihei (walking north), which included a restaurants and souvenir shops as well as several other services. The fancier shops in Wialea were about a mile and a half walk to the south. Also in this direction are all of the 5-star high end resorts like the Grand Wialea and Four Seasons. Across the street from the Maui Hill is the Kihei boat launch where you can met several of the different diving expeditions. There are also beaches just north of the boat launch. However, the bigger secret is the beach across the street and to the south starting at the Days Inn. this is a huge beach with very little traffic due to there mostly being private residences facing it and nobody really knowing that it is there because the parking is mixed in with the resorts and homes and not very well posted. You can walk nearly a mile before you come to the first break in sand at the Wialea Marriott. Also there are several restaurants scattered along the beach that provide amazing views.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower ring appear to be low in the complex, but have the least obstructed views to...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis C, General Manager at Aston Maui Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Aloha and Mahalo Nui Loa (thank you very much) for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your recent stay with us at the Aston Maui Hill Resort to share with the Trip Advisor community. We are so pleased that you found our resort comfortable, spacious, and well equipped, and that we were able to provide an enjoyable vacation experience for you and your family. We truly appreciate your recommendation, and would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again should you decide to return to our beautiful island in the future. Please contact me directly so that I may personally ensure your next visit is every bit as positive and memorable for you.

Sincerely, Dennis Costa, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
There are newer reviews for Aston Maui Hill
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was our first visit to Maui and we really lucked-out with our choice of a condo at the Aston Maui Hill. The one bedroom unit accommodation was very comfortable and well equipped, although to call it "ocean view" was a bit of a stretch. We could see the ocean, but only just. However that did not distract in any way from our enjoyment. The condo was spotless and the daily housekeeping service was thorough and perfectly timed to suit us. The outside of the buildings and the grounds are beautifully maintained. The staff is super friendly and extremely helpful. Would definitely stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Suggest you request a room away from the pool as it can get a little noisy sometimes.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis C, General Manager at Aston Maui Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Aloha and Mahalo Nui Loa (thank you very much) for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at the Aston Maui Hill Resort. As it is the goal of the entire team here to provide a memorable vacation experience by imparting some of the famous aloha spirit so unique to our beautiful islands, we are so pleased to hear that we were able to do so for you. We truly appreciate your recommendation, and would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again. Please contact me directly so that I may personally ensure your next visit is every bit as enjoyable for you.

Sincerely, Dennis Costa, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We loved staying here, the location was great for views, swimming, close to amenities. Our unit was super, large, clean, air con worked, great views, full kitchen, pool. The orientation was good if your new to the island. There is enough parking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis C, General Manager at Aston Maui Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Aloha and Mahalo (thank you) for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at the Aston Maui Hill Resort. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found our resort comfortable and well-appointed. We would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again should you decide to return to our beautiful island in the future. Please contact me directly so that I may personally ensure your next visit once again fulfills your every expectation.
Sincerely, Dennis Costa, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was my first trip to Hawaii and my experience at Aston Maui Hill was like having a little taste of heaven. My sister, her entire family and I loved our time there. The accommodations and settings couldn't have been better. We enjoyed a view of the ocean and beaches, the accommodations were spacious and spotless, the staff friendly and helpful. Special kudos to Dennis the manager who made us feel like VIPs, was always smiling and willing to chat.
The children enjoyed the Easter Egg hunt and seemed to spend more time in the pool than at the beach.
Thank you, Dennis and staff for a wonderful vacation. We plan to go back next year, God willing!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis C, General Manager at Aston Maui Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Aloha and Mahalo Nui Loa (thank you very much) for your wonderful, complimentary review of your recent stay with us at the Aston Maui Hill Resort. As it is the goal of the entire team here to provide unparalleled customer service and a memorable vacation experience for all our valued guests, we are so pleased to hear we were able to do so for you on your first trip to Hawaii. It is guests like you who make our jobs here so rewarding, and it was our pleasure accommodating you. We truly appreciate your recommendation and to hear that you would choose to stay with us again. Please contact me directly so that I may personally ensure your next visit is once again “a taste of heaven.”

Sincerely, Dennis Costa, General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My family of five stayed here last week during our first visit to Maui. We had a two-bed two-bath ocean view unit on the second floor. There is enough space for everyone and it was very comfortable even with the queen size sofa bed in the living room. We enjoyed the Hugh lanai when kids slept in in the morning. Most importantly, I would like to thank the manager, Dennis for provided us a very reasonable rate for us to have one extended night and a late checkout. He understood our stress caused by the flight cancelation and ensured us a hassle free stay with a controlled budget for an extra night. He was also so kind to give us box of Mauna Loa chocolate. The location is quiet and just close to everywhere. I will definitely considered to stay here again for our next visit.

Room Tip: Our room 60 was very good one to us.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis C, General Manager at Aston Maui Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Aloha and Mahalo Nui Loa (thank you very much) for taking the time to write such a positive review of your recent stay with us at the Aston Maui Hill Resort. As the entire team here at the resort pride ourselves on providing a memorable stay for all our guests that imparts that “home away from home” feeling, we are so pleased to hear that we were able to do so for you and your family on your first visit to our beautiful island. It was my pleasure to be able to alleviate your concerns caused by the cancellation of your flight. We appreciate your recommendation and that you would consider us again for your next visit. Please contact me directly and I will personally ensure your next visit is equally as enjoyable for you.

Sincerely, Dennis Costa, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My family and I stayed here for spring break, The size of the room was perfect and was able to accomidate all six of us. The staff was pleasent. The beach was directly across the street and from what I could tell this was the nicest beach in Kihei. The 5 palms restuarant on the beach was also great. I am very pleased with Maui Hill resort and will be sure to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis C, General Manager at Aston Maui Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Aloha and Mahalo Nui Loa (thank you very much) for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at the Aston Maui Hill Resort. Please allow me to personally thank you on behalf of the entire team here at the resort for your positive recommendation and for your comment that you would choose us again for your vacation needs. Please contact me directly and I will personally ensure we do our utmost to once again provide a “perfect vacation” for you and your family.

Sincerely, Dennis Costa, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My family and I stayed here for the second time and we really enjoy the location and the quietness of the resort. It is a little bit south of all the Kihei action, but for us, that made it all the better. The units itself are very spacious and perfect for a family of 5. We enjoyed the 2 bedroom vaulted ceilings. We really liked the lanai and had a view of the ocean as well as Haleakala. There are not a lot of amenities here, but we come for Hawaii amenities and beaches, not resort amenities.

All in all, a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis C, General Manager at Aston Maui Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Aloha and Mahalo (thank you) for writing a review of your recent stay with us at the Aston Maui Hill Resort. We truly appreciate both your return business and your positive recommendation of our resort. It is gratifying to hear that we were able to provide a positive vacation experience for you and your family, and we would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again should you decide to visit our beautiful island again in the future. Please contact me directly so that I may personally ensure your next visit is equally as enjoyable for you.

Sincerely, Dennis Costa, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,145 reviews
22.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
23.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
23.1 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Maui Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Maui Hill

Address: 2881 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9614 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Hill)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: £188 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Maui Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great ocean views with warm aloha service. This private oasis, just minutes from the premier resort area of Wailea, offers extra-spacious condos with private lanais, and the amenities and activities of a hotel in a tropical setting. Golf, shops and dining nearby. A perfect alternative to more expensive Wailea super-resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aston Maui Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Maui Hill Hotel Kihei
Maui Hill
Resortquest Maui Hill
Aston Maui Hill Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing