We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unit 3405 at the Maui Vista is great!”
Review of Maui Vista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maui Vista Resort
Ranked #20 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I understand from reading the reviews of the Maui Vista that there is considerable disparity among the different units as they are all individually owned. Unit 3405 is one of the excellent ones. It sleeps five or six with a separate bedroom with full bathroom and an upstairs loft with another full bathroom. The ocean view was panoramic, the unit was clean and well supplied including an extensive first aid kit. Free long distance calling to the U.S. and Canada, Wi-fi, three televisions (not that we had much time to watch) and any help was just a phone call away. We'll come back to this one!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annaliese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

This was a solid choice. It's not fancy, but it has everything you might want from a one BR condo. The little things were nice - not just beach stuff like a snorkel mask, boogie boards, beach chairs, etc - but also condiments, cooking oil, laundry soap, etc. The room was clean and convenient to the beach. It is a great place for a small family, with a pleasant bedroom and a pull out couch.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Marshall W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Maui Vista #2110. Great location (about a block away) to a great swimming and sandy beach (Charlie Young Beach). There were beach chairs, towels and umbrella available for use. The unit is on the ground floor and close but not too close to the pool. There is a washer and dryer is in the unit so we were able to pack clean clothes for our trip home. The complex is quiet and each morning they give an informative orientation meeting about everything in the area and what to do. Great for first time visitors. There are restaurants, shops and a Foodland (grocery store) all within walking distance. The wifi connection was fast. Overall we completely enjoyed our stay and will be returning to this unit when we come back to Maui.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

would not stay in this unit again but would stay at the maui vista, as it has a great location and the staff are very courteous. The grounds are well maintained and amazing landscaping. The unit needs a good cleaning,(especially the bathroom) and the owner needs to remove alot of their personal belongings. There is no closet space as it is filled with the owners belongings. It has a very cluttered decor which makes it uncomfortable. The internet did not work. Building 3 is a little too far from the beach when you have children, and requests are not accepted for a specific room. Not very accomodating.

Room Tip: choose building 1 or 2...and ask for pictures of the specific room you are booking as they are all d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank colleenm192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Excellent location, had room 2223. Great complex close to everything and clean. Has all the essentials. Would definitely go back to this place. 2 thumbs up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Free cable,movies, telephone long distance to Canada and usa. Clean facility, small pools but then you have the beach right across the street. NEEd car for Sure.

Room Tip: Rooms in the second complex better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bpourk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Maui Vista 3415 - this was the worst part of our whole stay in Maui. This condo is old and outdated but I could handle that if it had been clean! Where to start?? Living Room - dirty old carpet, needed to be vacuumed when we arrived. Couch was stained and full of dirt and dust in the cracks and underneath. Kitchen - Very few necessities, needs more pots, pans, bowls etc. Ants crawling all over the kitchen counters. Washer/Dryer- was full of wet stinky towels when we arrived. We had to go out and purchase towels on our first day. Main Bathroom - Dust filled vents and vanity. 1 roll of toilet paper. Upstairs Bathroom - Shower with only hot water. Cold tap doesn't turn on. Screen Door to the Lanai - torn and doesn't slide well. Cosmetically - this place needs some updating. Carpet, paint, get rid of the ugly plastic flowers, get rid of the VCR. Lots of the other condos are stocked with beach chairs, snorkel gear, coolers etc - none of these items are supplied here.

This is not the case with all condos at the Maui vista. We had friends staying as well, so we were able to check out 4 other units in the complex and they obviously have owners that care.
Talking with some of the regulars at the Maui Vista - the owner of this building is never around and obviously doesn't care and just in it for the money!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heebs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Maui Vista 3106. Old and outdated but we are okay with that as long as it's clean. This condo is dirty, dirty, dirty. We were truly disappointed. You open the door and enter to a stench of an unknown odor that fills the air. The carpet is in dire need of a really good steam cleaning (even better if removed). Where the "tile" trim meets the floor tiles there is a 1/4" inch border of dirt/dust. A two toned bathtub which is not the norm since the color was once white but the bottom in particular is now so discolored it is a grunge yellowish brown. A good cleaning and a fresh coat of paint would do wonders for this condo.

Not to only name the negatives we would also like to share some of the positives. On the upside the service received when booking and on arrival were fantastic. The grounds are well maintained. Smaller quaint area with 3 buildings, 3 smaller pools, and 2 BBQ's per building complex. We had a small tub drain issue which was looked after immediately. The wifi and washer and dryer in the condo were added bonuses. Being on the ground floor in building 3, it was a quiet convenient location for the pool and parking lot (when lugging beach chairs, luggage, and groceries). The lanai's are larger in the ground floor units. Condo was fully equipped for the beach including chairs, coolers, umbrella, etc.. Fantastic! The central island location is convenient for venturing in many directions on day trips. There is not much of the island we did not travel too. The Maui Vista is also within walking distance to an assortment of beaches, parks, shopping, and restaurants. A clean condo and our trip as a whole would have been rated a 5.

These condo's are individually owned so they are all different in cleanliness and furnishings. Do your homework and try to stay away from condo's with carpet. Carpet and humidity are not a good combination. If you are big walkers like we are you will most likely really enjoy this location.

We also booked our car rental through Discount Hawaii who hooked us up with Avis. Fantastic service at pickup and drop off and at a great price.

Karen and Dave

Room Tip: Individually owned so the prices range, furnishings, and cleanliness will vary. Pay close attention...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dreams4u1961Manitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,174 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#15 of 61 in Kihei
966 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 61 in Kihei
538 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kihei Akahi
Kihei Akahi
#28 of 61 in Kihei
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Vista Resort

Address: 2191 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8627
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: £138 - £386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Vista Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Vista is for all visitors. Located right across the street from several crystal clear beaches with warm water and sand. We offer one and two bedroom condos with individual lanai's overlooking garden or partial ocean views. Each room including a full kitchen. We have amenities such as pools, tennis courts and BBQ areas. Come relax and enjoy Maui Vista Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maui Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Vista Hotel Kihei
Maui Vista Resort Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing