We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maui Vista 3-218”
Review of Maui Vista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maui Vista Resort
Ranked #25 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Maui Vista 3-218”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Generally speaking this is an excellent unit to stay in - we spent three weeks here and it became just like home to us. It was just as described on VRBO and the photos of the unit were accurate. It is nicely updated with ceramic tile throughout, granite countertops and a great tiled walk in shower. The bed was quite comfortable, but is is getting close to needing to be replaced. Lots and lots of nice bath towels, and great beach towels. The kitchen was well equipped, with everything except BBQ tools. We emailed the management company and they promptly delivered a new set to our door. Having a washer and dryer in the unit is very convenient for a longer stay. There was lots of beaching stuff - backpack chairs, boogie boards, beach umbrellas and beach toys, tennis racquets and coolers. Location is perfect, just across the street from Charlie Young Beach, and easy walking distance to lots of stores and restaurants in both directions. The living room couch and chair are due to be replaced, as they are quite saggy and uncomfortable, and the lanai chairs are pretty hard to sit in for long. Nice TV with DVD player, but no DVD's to watch. Also no beach or travel books in the unit, which is a bit unusual for this type of vacation rental. The AC and fans worked well, but we seldom used them, as the breezes blow through nicely. The complex is very pretty, and very well maintained. There are three buildings, each with its own pool, tennis courts and BBQ areas, and everything is well looked after. There could be more chairs and lounges at the pools, as there was often no place to sit or lay, so being at the pool was often not an option unless you sat on the pool deck on your towel.

Room Tip: Units in the buildings back from the street are quieter, but a bit farther to walk to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 404HappyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    94
    46
    28
    29
See reviews for
84
94
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The condo is exactly as shown. We arrived to a very clean and very well stocked condo with A/C in the main living area only. Our kids were very comfortable in the loft with the twin beds and their own bathroom with shower. The location of the condo is great especially because Charley Young Beach is across the street. The condo is great for walking to restaurants, grocery shopping and touristy shopping spots. There were a few things that we did not like and that was the road noise, the master bedroom at the back of the condo was stuffy and hot at night even though we had the ceiling fan, floor fan and window open. We also found the main living area too dark but that's an easy fix with brighter lightbulbs. We have stayed 'off the beaten path' in Maui previously right on the ocean and did like listening to the ocean at night lulling us to sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Mama001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alta Loma, California
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

I called and booked this condo thru Aloha International Real Estate, Joel Bachman was my contact. I must say that our whole experience was great. This was a last minute booking, as we had a family member pass away. We explained this to Joel and he was willing to help. We stayed in condo 2116, which is second building 1st floor. This condo is a 1 bedroom with a nice lanai, Pictures on the website do not help and we were a little concerned. He assured us it was a clean and nice place. And he was right. The place was very clean and spacious. There was really nothing that I can complain about. I was staying there with my wife and mother in law and needed a air mattress as we were going to let my mother in law have the bedroom. We told him we would purchase one there in Hawaii, but to our surprise there was one there. I don't know if he did that for us or there was one there, but it made us fell as if he had done that for us. Also it is centrally located, beaches are across the street, shops and Restraunts are in walking distance. I would recommend this place to friends and anytime we return we will call and book again. Thanks Joel we appreciate everything...

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveLalaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed in Maui Vista 3-117 from Dec 27-Jan 15 2014. The location is great. A ground floor condo in the 3rd building from the road. Very quiet and just a short walk to the beach, restaurants and stores. The BBq's are right outside the door of this condo and the pool is located right down the breezeway. For the most part the condo has everything you need but we had friends stay in other ones in the same complex that had been redone and upgraded for the same price. I had a couple of minor issues that were addressed promptly by the property managers. All in all a great place to stay for the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rileyp956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

OMG the place was infested with cockroaches! Our booking was through Maui Condo and Home who were unable to do anything. They did not move us to another property, offer us a discount or reimbursement. It was a disaster. I rented a condo, expecting to save money by not needing to eat out but, of course, I was unable to prepare food in the condo as anytime I put anything on the counter it was swarmed by bugs. Horrible! I feel bad for the poor property owner who's condo is being managed by such an irresponsible company.

Room Tip: Don't get the ground floor! My parents were on the second floor in the same building and had NO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauiCondoMarina, Maui Condo, Vacation Rental Management company at Maui Vista Resort, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Aloha and thank you for your feedback.
I apologize for the inconvenience of having roaches in your unit. This is something that we take seriously, while still understanding that we live in a Tropical climate which has more bugs and insects than the mainland. The Maui Vista has pest control scheduled quarterly at which time they spray in the unit and on the property grounds. Pest control is also called as needed because we never want our guests to live with bugs and insects in their unit. When you called to inform us of the “infestation of roaches” we promptly called All Natural Pest Control (no chemicals used) to spray your unit and scheduled for the housekeeper to follow with any necessary clean up. We also offered to have you move units, but you declined. We treated the unit again as soon as you departed.
After you departed your father came in to our office to submit a complaint and we informed him that we treated the unit naturally (to avoid chemicals while people are in the unit) and we also offered to move you to another unit. He was not aware that we offered to move you and promptly left our office after threatening to “blog about this”.
We take care of our units for our owners and for our guests. Here in this Tropical paradise there are pests, but we are sensitive to how people feel about them. We want to make sure that the unit is comfortable and clean at all times.
Please do not hesitate to contact our office with any questions or concerns.
Mahalo,
Marina
Maui Condo and Home, LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kihei hotels

Chilliwack, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked this condo and we also had family staying on the third floor in two separate condos. The positives are that the condo is one easy block to the Charlie Young beach which is amazing. It is close to Foodland and the ABC for easy shopping and walking distance to Fred's and Moose Macgillicuddy's (both of which are good restaurants). The air conditioning worked well in the living room and there are ceiling fans in the living room and bedroom so temperature wise we were good. The air conditioner was not too loud which other units say they had problems with. The dishwasher was relatively new and it worked really well and no problems with the washer or dryer. We had all the utensils to cook including pots and pans plus lots of dishes and cutlery, coffee maker plus some great beach chairs, tennis rackets and beach towels. This particular condo was clean although very outdated. The plug-ins are old and the vacuum cord kept falling out of the plug. The sinks and tub are tired and stained as is the furniture. The tv is an old style small tv but since we were out this wasn't really an issue. My grandsons stayed overnight on several occasions and the pull-out couch has a very thin mattress and was not comfortable - the pillows kept sliding into the couch. I was disappointed overall with the price we paid in comparison to other units and would choose to stay somewhere else on my next trip to Maui.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan's C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauiCondoMarina, Maui Condo, Vacation Rental Management company at Maui Vista Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for your review of the Maui Vista. I apologize that your experience was not satisfactory. This property does not have air conditioning in all of the units, but there is usually at least a breeze here on Maui. You did not state your unit or who you booked with and it is a shame that you had such a negative experience in the unit you stayed in. Our website features all of our units with photos and descriptions so guests know exactly what they are getting. It is better to know what your accommodations are going to be like before you arrive. I will investigate further about the pool being crammed and parts of the property being off limits because I have not had those complaints before. I hope you took advantage of Charlie Young beach just across the street and the shopping and restaurants nearby. If you need assistance with planning your next trip to Maui our agents will be more than happy to help you.
Mahalo,
Marina
Maui Condo and Home, LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Read previous reviews and our first stay at this location. I don't think I would recommend it and not very family or tourist welcoming. First of all the condo we where in had no breeze and it was hella hot. Needed AC but didn't and it was run down. The whole place reminded me of my college years and dorm life. They don't let you use certain areas and everyone crammed into the pool next to the road and some residents are friendly and some are not. I would not recommend this place even if the condo we got was crappy no Aloha feeling here. Will never come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heckya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.7 mi away
Kihei Akahi
Kihei Akahi
#29 of 62 in Kihei
306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#16 of 62 in Kihei
934 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#4 of 62 in Kihei
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#6 of 62 in Kihei
413 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
2.5 mi away
Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Vista Resort

Property: Maui Vista Resort
Address: 2191 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8627
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Vista Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Vista is for all visitors. Located right across the street from several crystal clear beaches with warm water and sand. We offer one and two bedroom condos with individual lanai's overlooking garden or partial ocean views. Each room including a full kitchen. We have amenities such as pools, tennis courts and BBQ areas. Come relax and enjoy Maui Vista Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Maui Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Vista Hotel Kihei
Maui Vista Resort Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing