We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic and different but not good.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Kula Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kula
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kula Lodge
Weston, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Rustic and different but not good.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here between stays on the beach and weren't exactly impressed. We also chose this place because we liked the restaurant there. The room is very, very dated. The bathroom was remodeled but it wasn't done very well. The bedding is very dated and old along with the building in general. The good thing was that the unit was mostly clean and the staff was very nice. If you are looking for a nights stay that is quiet don't stay here, the road is literally just a few feet away and with the building being so old you get to hear every car and truck drive by all night long.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ezra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    70
    37
    17
    23
See reviews for
43
105
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We just stopped for the restaurant enjoyed the views and the walk throughout the garden. We had tried this place for breakfast earlier in the week and decided to go back for a sunset dinner.

My husband ordered the baby back ribs which were cold and under cooked. He had to send them back and lost his appetite for any other item on the menu which the hostess offered him in exchange. I had the onion soup which was also cold and had to ask for it to be heated up.
To try to please us they offered free coffee and a glass of wine,
I would not go again, although the pizzas and the views from the lanai are worth a stop.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kula hotels

Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

The rooms were clean and tidy upon check-in, but the housekeeping situation on subsequent days left a lot to be desired. On the first full day housekeeping was minimal but okay (clean towels left on bed, but no other services). On the second day we returned to our room to find that some of our stuff had been moved around the room (some toiletries were now in the bedroom and our books had been moved into the bathroom) and someone had rearranged the rest of our toiletries around the bathroom (i.e. the razor I use on my legs and underarms was no longer in the shower, but in a mug on the sink resting against the bristles of my toothbrush. Gross). The most frustrating thing was that several items, including one very expensive item, had disappeared from our room. We found most of the missing items in the hotel's lost and found. It seems that housekeeping had mistakenly put the items on their cart while cleaning and forgot which room they came from. The manager was busy with other things and never apologized for this frustrating experience or even acknowledged that this was very bad customer service. As for the rest of the experience, some of the hotel/restaurant staff were quite friendly and others were surly. They seem to have different staff every day, so the quality of the customer service was very dependent upon the day. The quality of the food was variable. Breakfast is far better than dinner. This is a very beautiful area of Maui and the lodge would be a great place to stay if it could resolve issues such as this.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlwaysTraveling1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Knowing what I know I would rather invest in the drive time into Kula instead of staying at this Lodge. Rustic=Runs and I believe they are still in business because they seem to be the only game in town and know it.

The Chalets LACK a complete pride of ownership. I was shocked to have paid $195 to have moth eaten 1970's curtains, musty smelling room, blood stains on the side on the fitted sheet (I didn't see this until the morning or I would have just left in the night) and a lanai with not patio light. My family coughed THROUGHOUT THE NIGHT most probably from the MOLD levels. We had to air out the Chalet and keep all the windows/porch screen fully opened to alleviate symptoms. We had already been in Maui for 10 days and this was the only place we experienced coughing throughout the night.

Their website misrepresents the Chalets by appearing picturesque and beautifully decorated. Quit the contrary...RUSTIC=RUN and I'll stop here.

The fact that changes have not been made after the majority of reviews I have read and after having stayed here proves my point!

This was the only utterly disappointing experience in Maui and we quickly left in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searcy, AR
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stopped here on our way back from hiking at Haleakala. We were dirty and starving! They were so nice, great conversation and totally put up with us in our dirty hiking clothes. The view from our table was absolutely amazing. The food was awesome! We had some pizza and some appertizers, could not have been happier! Stop here on the way up or on the way down for some great food!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

First visit to the kula lodge but will not be our last. We had a wonderful lunch. There brick oven baked pizzas are the best.
Our server made the day. The manager even visited our table. A must do stop on your way to the top of Haleakala.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Have wanted to stay at Kula Lodge for quite some time now. Last year, the lodge was sold out for the dates we wanted, so this year, we made sure our reservation was made well in advance. Upon arrival, we asked the bartender where to check in, was told to wait at the podium and the manager approached to check us in. There was no greeting of hello or welcome, no smile, no sense of hospitality or spirit of aloha. We were asked our name, asked if we were previous guests, signed our credit card receipt, then told to follow the manager to our cabin. The room was dark, all the curtains were drawn, he explained the heater and humidifier, gave us our key, and left. Rustic is an apt description, maybe you can stretch that to cozy. This was the smallest cabin and least expensive, which we knew, but the location was near the parking lot of the Marketplace store and backside of the kitchen, so we heard the car traffic and in the morning, the delivery trucks woke us up. Kula is lovely, the view from the dining room and garden is wonderful, the fireplace in the restaurant is really nice, but the manager did not give a good example of hospitality, which would make you less critical of the room's shortcomings.

Room Tip: Don't reserve "chalet" 5--has no view and it's right next to the parking lot and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sowoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kula
20.8 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
9.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
13.0 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
11.9 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
7.9 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kula Lodge

Property: Kula Lodge
Address: 15200 Haleakala Hwy, Kula, Maui, HI 96790-8007
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kula
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Kula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Kula Hotel Kula
Kula Lodge Maui, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing