We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 16:00
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Ali'i Kula Lavender Farm
from US$229.12
More Info
from US$189.34
More Info
from US$260.37
More Info
from US$325.00
More Info
Reviews (1,109)
Filter reviews
1,109 results
Traveller rating
497
378
167
46
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
497
378
167
46
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lavender scones gift shop treasure hunt cart tour brownie full bloom walking tour porta potties self guided tour different types entrance fee plants and flowers lilikoi west maui mountains up country for sale nice stop
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 1,109 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We toured the gardens in late June, lavender is not quite in full bloom, but there was still lots to see. We booked the cart tour, Jarrett was our guide. He gave us the full history of the garden, picked samples of every blooming lavender for us to smell, and answered every question we could think to ask. We had a really nice time and enjoyed the tour. The gift shop is small, but nicely appointed. The lavender scones are lovely - there's a toaster oven on the out back where you can warm them up. There's also lavender honey as well - which is quite lovely. The views from the garden are really pretty - make sure to bring your camera.

Thank mlparso1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

This place is a lavender infused zen garden with a view. It’s really beautiful and peaceful. There’s a large variety of tropical plants and it’s a good place to just sit back and take in the beauty that can be found in the Maui hills.

Thank Snorkeldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We visited Ali'i Kula Lavender Farm in mid Jun and was disappointed that the lavenders were not in full bloom. However, they do have several different kind of lavenders and quite a good varieties of interesting flowers.

Thank Koh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Excellent visit. Employees were very gracious. We took cart tour. Chris our guide was patient with our 7 year old. The interactive scavenger hunt and the stamps were very rewarding kid friendly experiences. This farm really illustrates the variety of Maui plants. Chris provided detailed information. His enthusiasm and love for the farm were very impressive. The gift shop was amazing. The lunch value was not there for the amount charged. I would recommend packing your own picnic.

Thank carol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLStaff, Customer Service at Ali'i Kula Lavender Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Aloha,

Our team is so thrilled to hear such good feedback. Chris was very happy to read this review from you, and is so glad you joined the tour. Please visit again soon :)

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Come on guys! First, I don't think you should be charging and I had no idea we had to pay prior to going or know I could have brought a donation. You are at the gate, after a long drive, faced with having to pay $3 a person, that doesn't even include the tour price. Then, I nearly threw up in one of the port-o-potties from the smell and the mess. Everyone was talking about it! We understood the lavender was not in bloom but the gardens are dismal! A person can find more appeal walking around hotel grounds.
The gift shop has a nice selection. The lavender tea is lovely, the coffee though? No. Stop with the coffee. Lavender does not belong in coffee. A couple people in our group had it, I tried it. It was not good. Then some other tourists were talking about it. The talk of the place was the poor bathroom situation and coffee... I really hate to knock any place in Maui but I felt like it was such a waste of time and money and I would encourage people to do one of the many, many other things to do on Maui. Even if there were proper washrooms and didn't have to pay... the gardens and everything... boring. Would only be a nice place to have a wedding if the lavender was in bloom. There, that's my only nice thing to say about this place.

Thank Jenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLStaff, Customer Service at Ali'i Kula Lavender Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Aloha,

Thank you for your review.

We do state on our website that we do charge admission. Please visit our FAQ page on our website for more information.
Also a canned good or nonperishable item per person, will waive your entrance fee of $3 a person because we donate to the Maui Food Bank.

We are sorry to hear that our restrooms were not up to par when you visited. We share a large water tank with our surrounding neighbors, and this is why we grow lavender - it is a drought tolerant and sustainable plant. In this same manner, we also are trying to be eco-concious by using the portables. They are cleaned every day at 8am, 11am, 1pm, and 3pm.... so we do apologize that if in-between those times it happened to become less than favorable.

The tea is wonderful, and we're very happy to hear that your enjoyed it. The coffee is not for everyone, but we do have guests that enjoy it.

The peak of the season where the big lavender fields bloom is limited to mid-summer, June-August , and the beginning part of September. Here we do have certain varieties that bloom year round. We also have other botanical flowers on property as well, not just lavender.

Mahalo for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews