We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort with a View”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kula
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Upcountry Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Kula B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Lovely B & B. Roomy Black and White room. Fireplace. Comfortable bed. Huge bathroom. Large wrap around porch. Great view of the mountains and the Pacific. Friendly inn keeper. Great breakfast. We only stayed one night, so I have no more to say!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joed45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

We live on Maui and wanted to enjoy a simple "stay-cation" and explore parts of our island that we have not explored as much as other areas in our eleven years here. The four of us (me, my wife and two grown young ladies) were in two adjoining rooms with a large connecting lanai and expansive views. The quality/size of the rooms, the reasonable price, the overall attention to detail, those views (to the other islands, the west Maui mountains and the sunsets), the breakfasts (including croissants from La Provence nearby and very fresh/local fruit), the conversations with Michael (the owner) and the interaction with Gabby (his dog... and you can't help but "love" Gabby) made for a perfect setting to enjoy "Upcountry" for a long weekend. We will return and will highly recommend this B&B to family and friends. Well done, Michael!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The B&B is centrally located on the slopes of volcano with a great view over half the island - you literally see half island! The rooms are very nice, comfortable, clean and everything is in working order. Michael and his dog are excellent hosts and very informed. He also has a great deal of equipment to loan out for different activities. Michael, his canine and his B&B are truly the aloha spirit and are a big part of what makes Maui such a nice place to visit.

Room Tip: They are all on the second floor and have a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoscoePinscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Michael is fantastic! He has more info on Maui than ten guidebooks combined. He gave us tips on everything. The atmosphere is definitely relaxing and view is really a knockout. Our room was so comfortable that we really didn't want to leave. No stone has been left untouched in making you feel comfortable. Especially in regards to gearing us up for sunrise on Haleakala. Michael made a number of sweatshirts and blankets ready for us and hooked us up with fresh French pastries, fruit and coffee. Amazing!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarliSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Lovely location with sweeping views, spacious rooms and really good breakfast! Thank you Michael for making our stay so comfortable and for you recommendation of Kula Bistro! We truly enjoyed the lovely days and cool evenings. Can not wait to return next year!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goldens4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

A very comfortable, relaxing and friendly B&B in an ideal location for exploring Haleakala and the surrounding coutryside. The rooms are spacious with good balconies on the upper floor which was perfect for looking at both sides of the island whilst enjoying a drink.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarrie554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We loved it here. Michael is a gem and set us all up for sunrise at Haleakala. He's really cool to talk to and knows all the best restaurants. He also provides you tons of movies and popcorn for your room! Just because you're in Maui doesn't mean you don't wants to just kick back. Really lovely bathroom also. We had been camping a lot before our stay and the little luxuries of this bnb were so appreciated! Super comfy bed, fireplace, yummy breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McWilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kula
13.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,086 reviews
11.5 mi away
Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast
24.2 mi away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Kula Lodge
Kula Lodge
#1 of 5 in Kula
225 reviews
11.5 mi away
Maui Tradewinds
Maui Tradewinds
#1 of 8 in Haiku
240 reviews
7.5 mi away
Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upcountry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upcountry Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4925 Lower Kula Rd, Kula, Maui, HI 96790-7708
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kula
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kula
Price Range: £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Upcountry Hotel Kula
Upcountry b&b
Upcountry Bed And Breakfast Kula, Maui, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing