We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michael and GAbby made the difference”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kula
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Upcountry Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Kula B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level Contributor
129 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Michael and GAbby made the difference”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Just Perfect. The city of Kula, the location and the excursion to Haleakala, the room and the hospitality. Upcountry Bed ad Breakfast was just percet. Michael and Gabbi were welcoming us, sparing us lots of useful advice and tips, and setting us up for the sunrise trip to Haleakala with lamp, breakfast, maps, blankets and thermos bottles to keep warm our coffee. He also gave advice on what else to see, where to eat, and things like driving styles on the island. The Local Kula Bistro is simply worth the visit. Michael, we will be back !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannythyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    14
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
102
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Upcountry Bed ad Breakfast was fab. Michael was welcoming and full of useful advice and tips. He supplied us with a packed breakfast of coffee and scones to take with us when we went to see the sunrise from the top of Haleakala. He told us to take blankets and we would have frozen without them!
He also gave advice on what else to see, where to eat etc.

Room Tip: We stayed in the blue room which is big and has a great balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Upcountry Bed ad Breakfast was wonderful. Michael was welcoming and full of useful advice and tips. He supplied us with a packed breakfast, chairs and blankets to take with us when we went to see the sunrise from the top of Haleakala. He also gave advice on what else to see, where to eat, and things like driving styles on the island.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Room - great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami,FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Lovely B & B. Roomy Black and White room. Fireplace. Comfortable bed. Huge bathroom. Large wrap around porch. Great view of the mountains and the Pacific. Friendly inn keeper. Great breakfast. We only stayed one night, so I have no more to say!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joed45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lahaina
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We live on Maui and wanted to enjoy a simple "stay-cation" and explore parts of our island that we have not explored as much as other areas in our eleven years here. The four of us (me, my wife and two grown young ladies) were in two adjoining rooms with a large connecting lanai and expansive views. The quality/size of the rooms, the reasonable price, the overall attention to detail, those views (to the other islands, the west Maui mountains and the sunsets), the breakfasts (including croissants from La Provence nearby and very fresh/local fruit), the conversations with Michael (the owner) and the interaction with Gabby (his dog... and you can't help but "love" Gabby) made for a perfect setting to enjoy "Upcountry" for a long weekend. We will return and will highly recommend this B&B to family and friends. Well done, Michael!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The B&B is centrally located on the slopes of volcano with a great view over half the island - you literally see half island! The rooms are very nice, comfortable, clean and everything is in working order. Michael and his dog are excellent hosts and very informed. He also has a great deal of equipment to loan out for different activities. Michael, his canine and his B&B are truly the aloha spirit and are a big part of what makes Maui such a nice place to visit.

Room Tip: They are all on the second floor and have a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoscoePinscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Michael is fantastic! He has more info on Maui than ten guidebooks combined. He gave us tips on everything. The atmosphere is definitely relaxing and view is really a knockout. Our room was so comfortable that we really didn't want to leave. No stone has been left untouched in making you feel comfortable. Especially in regards to gearing us up for sunrise on Haleakala. Michael made a number of sweatshirts and blankets ready for us and hooked us up with fresh French pastries, fruit and coffee. Amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarliSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kula
22.0 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
8.0 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
9.2 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
9.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
8.4 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upcountry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upcountry Bed and Breakfast

Property: Upcountry Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4925 Lower Kula Rd, Kula, Maui, HI 96790-7708
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kula
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Upcountry Hotel Kula
Upcountry b&b
Upcountry Bed And Breakfast Kula, Maui, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing