We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT PLACE FOR OUR GROUP OF 4!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puamana Townhomes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Puamana Townhomes
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE FOR OUR GROUP OF 4!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We loved the setting, views of the water, and activity! We rented bicycles which turned out to be a BLAST just from a proximity and ease of accessing Lahaina, LOVED IT!!! From the patio of our unit we could view the whales and listen to the waves!! BIG FUN!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paige S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    20
    8
    5
    11
See reviews for
42
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with a family of five. We liked the gated community, quiet streets and open lawns. Kids could longboard and play soccer. Community right on the ocean with easy access to a beach. About a 1 mile walk to town.

Unfortunately our unit backed on the highway. We had a BBQ and table in the back, but it was too noisy to use. We could sit in front, still noisy but somewhat acceptable.

Other than noise, nice place to stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank JT3062014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillette, Wyoming
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Our actual location was 17-3 Hale O Kapena also known as the Captains House. A lovely 3 bedroom 2 1/2 bath, completely supplied with all the things needed for your stay. Complete kitchen, beach, bath, hand was wash towels. Washer and dryer made it so much easier to keep up with 3 couples. You are within 4 tenths of a mile walking distance from just about everything thing you could possible wish to buy of do...
Zip lining is a must and to do this with a couple awesome guides go try out North Shore Zipline Co.

Room Tip: can't think of anything to add, it just a great place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doreanabland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

For our family of 4 with 2 littles, this place found on VRBO is what I wanted: no concrete jungle condominium, no 2 double beds in a fancy hotel with no kitchen facilities. Just outside Lahaina location is nice. There's really not much beach to speak of, 3 pools with OUTRAGEOUSLY kid-hostile signs ("NO MARCO POLO," "no common towels, glasses, combs, hairbrushes, cell phones"). Our two kids actually cleared the mountain pool of adults by their apparent breathing. So that's the negative, but the heck with 'em. The grounds are beautiful. The clubhouse right by our unit offered lovely tables to sit and have coffee while the waves crashed in the mornings or a plate of dinner in the evening. The units were built in the 1970s and the infrastructure shows. All units are individually owned, and ours (12-4 on VRBO) has been tastefully updated throughout the years. Very comfortable and homey. Beautiful semi-secluded lanai with palms. It worked well for us.

Room Tip: 12-4 on VRBO is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeoulDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

34 Puailima #226-3
Hawaii Vacation Condos Inc.
Whalers Realty
Mark A Marchello

This property was a total disaster from the moment we arrived. The property was not cleaned to the extent you would expect for this price. The carpets were filthy and the living room curtains were in such bad shape that the Drapery cleaner the management company sent refused to clean them. He said they may fall apart in the cleaning process. There was a mouse in the unit and his droppings were in one of the main food storage cupboards. The cleaning lady had obviously never opened this space to clean. The kitchen was very dirty as well. The oven was dirty and the hood fan was so greasy that it dropped grease onto the cooktop everyday. There was a double wide kitchen drawer which held all of the utensils for the unit. It must have weighed 30-35 pounds and was actually quite dangerous to pull out. We had to brace a knee beneath it to prevent it from dropping on our feet. The washing machine leaked twice, the kitchen sink was clogged, the blender leaked, and there was no working can opener. The air-conditioning units leaked onto the front door mat continually. The master bathroom toilet was running when we checked in and a few days later stopped working. The owner decided they wanted to repair the toilet rather than replace it. As there were no available parts to repair the toilet, we went without this toilet for 8 days (6 people in the unit). When they finally replaced the toilet, they put the old one outside of the front door. It remained there until we checked out. The shower head in the master bath was cracked and had to be replaced while we were there. The hot water tank was set so low that we never had hot water. During one of the many visits by the handymen, they adjusted it for us. The management company came by as per our request for a site visit as we couldn't believe that they'd actually rented this place out for $550 per night. Their comments to us were that as long as they make efforts to repair/replace the broken things as needed, they're doing their job. We felt that they had never properly inspected the property for renters. We wouldn't have been upset about a broken blender or can opener, but after 9 handyman/plumber visits and the mouse and his crap and the lack of a master toilet and the filthy conditions we'd had enough. This review is our only recourse to our situation. We asked for a partial refund for all of our inconvenience and were told that none would be coming. We cannot recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We would have rated the unit 3.5 if that was available in the rating system. We stayed at the Puamana from November 1-10. APVR staff were great to deal with and answered inquiries very promptly.

The unit is a great size, and despite its location by the gate and Front Street, there was surprisingly little road noise - a definite plus!

There were a few things that kept this unit from being a 'perfect' rental though - and we have notified A Perfect Vacation Rental (APVR) with a more detailed listing of these things which included:
-the unit smelled really musty on arrival.
-bedding smelled like it hadn't been washed in some time-it had a distinctive 'body odour' to it.
-lights not working or burnt out in some areas. We replaced the bulbs where we could.
-outside fans/lighting had been tripped and not reset. We fixed this.
-no phone service. The phones were unplugged, and when we plugged them in there was no line available.
-overall cleaning was spotty at best.
-instructions on how to work all six of the remotes would have been helpful
-we knew there was 24 hour security, but a room safe and a locking mechanism on the doors from the inside of the unit would have helped us to feel more secure.

Individually these are pretty minor things that we feel should have been looked after before we arrived. It did put a bit of damper on our overall vacation, but we made the best of it, of course.

The Puamana is a beautiful property, and we will likely stay in the complex again on a return trip to Maui.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JacinMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We booked unit 175-2 via VRBO. This unit was a one bedroom, two bathroom, and nicely renovated. When you walk in, you walk directly into the kitchen, which is adjoined with the living room area (open concept). The living room has a large, all glass window/door onto the good-sized lanai, which is a one step drop onto a nice, shared green space. The bedroom was a good size, with a king sized bed, and it was nice to have a second bathroom to use.

The complex was very nice - a gated community, with pools, tennis court and beach access.

It was a little bit of a walk to "downtown" Lahaina, but nothing concerning if you have no mobility issues. As there are no sidewalks at that end of town, beware that you'll be dodging cars the entire walk. We walked every day, as we like to have a few drinks with supper, and also because we didn't want to pay for parking in town.

I was not very happy to pay extra for parking, seeing as we were renting a unit from an owner, and the parking out front belongs to the unit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#30 of 31 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Lahaina House
Old Lahaina House
#8 of 11 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Puunoa Beach Estates
Puunoa Beach Estates
#21 of 42 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ilikahi
The Ilikahi
#5 of 11 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tiki Beach Hostel
The Tiki Beach Hostel
#33 of 42 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puamana Townhomes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puamana Townhomes

Property: Puamana Townhomes
Address: 34 Puailima Pl, Lahaina, Maui, HI
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Website on listing is for one single unit in a complex. Reviews are for apartments all over the complex. I can't find an official website for the complex that answers questions about onsite staff. Doesn't seem to be a valid accommodation. -MW 1/30/14 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Puamana Townhomes Hotel Lahaina
Puamana Townhomes Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing