We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - Wonderful spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 April 2011

This was my second trip to the Hyatt in Maui for a large group combination business/leisure trip. It is a beautiful resort in an excellent location with a wonderful spa. The service and staff were very nice. I specifically wanted to write about the spa experience. We had a couples' massage on the beach and then were able to use the spa relaxation room, whirlpool, sauna, steam room, etc. Nicholas (Nicco) was my massage therapist and was one of the best I've ever had anywhere. The spa staff were very friendly and always called me by name and remembered me even after I left and came back. I was very impressed with their attentiveness. The rooms at the hotel are very nice with lovely views. The restaurants and shops have everything you'd need while there. They run a very professional organization right down to the people who work in valet parking.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allisondeanlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2011

Mahalo! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your time at our hotel. It's good to hear you had such a great spa experience. Our spa personnel are great at making your treatment one to remember! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,276 - 5,282 of 6,661 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2011

I was in Maui for my wedding and we stayed at this hotel for 7 days. The staff were great and were really accomodating. Since we had a large group staying at the hotel, we were able to get a group rate which was a couple hundred dollars cheaper than the published rate. We were in Hawaii during spring break time and I was a little worried that there would be little kids running around everywhere. To my surprise, this wasn't an issue at all.

The grounds at this hotel are beautiful. In my opinion, the hotel has the best grounds out of all of the hotels along that strip. The rooms were spacious, clean, and newly renovated. The beds were also really comfy. We had a mini fridge in our room which was also really nice.

We did attend the luau while we were there and I would say save your $100 and spend it on a massage. The food was luke warm and they had a cheesy guy who was hosting the whole thing. The highlight was the firedancer, but that was at the very end. I found myself really bored.

The pool area is awesome and they have a separate pool for the kids. The only restaurant I ate at was Umalu which was surprisingly really good. The food is overpriced, but that is the case everywhere in Maui. I also did go to the coffee bar in the lobby in the mornings. Coffee/lattes were good but I would suggest buying breakfast food at Safeway and eating in your room because bagels were $5.

This hotel is walking distance to Whaler's Village and there are several restaurants along the walkway that spans down to the Sheraton.

Also, the gym is really great! All of the machines had TV's and they also had fitness classes.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorita688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2011

Mahalo! I am so happy you chose us to spend your special day with. Thank you for recommending our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

The Hyatt in Maui was a beautiful resort with amazing food! The beaches were very nice and the location was great. I loved the spa there. It was a very relaxing trip! The luau was lots of fun!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAM07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

I was very fortunate growing up and travelled the world with my parents ... this was by fair the most beautiful resort I have been at. The landscaping is spectacular!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shennine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Customer Service Representative at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2011

Dear Shennine:

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. I'm happy to hear how much you enjoyed the surroundings of the hotel. It is a beautiful property with lots of different greenery. Hopefully, we are able to welcome you back again!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We spent a week at this resort in the end of April. The location and grounds are magnificent. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food at all of the resturants is good but not cheap, but it is inline with what you would expect for Hawaii.
Everything is very clean and well kept and the stay was just a pleasure. The only items keeping us from rating this a five is the rooms could use some slight TLC. Some of the wallpaper seams are loose as an example. We had some issues with the TV reception that was fixed but it took a couple of calls.
Our biggest negitive is the size of the pools and the associated pool area. Because this facility can hold the number of people that it can, the chairs in both the pool areas are on top off one another. Our group had 500 people as an example, and at the high times for the pool, there were not enough lounge chairs and the ones they had are literly inches apart.
This was not a big deal for us because everyone knew each other. But if I was a family visiting and had to be this close to a group of strangers, it would feel like Coney Island.
Dont let this stop you from going. It was the only slight negitive that we had in a very positive stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6533john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Beautiful hotel.....amazing lobby and landscaping! Ocean views from the Swan Court breakfast area are breathtaking. Friendly staff...would definitely stay again!!

Room Tip: Book well in advance to get ocean front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alnello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2011

Thank you for your warm and positive comments about Hyatt Regency Maui. We appreciate your insights and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

I am in the Hyatt Maui right now. It's my 1st day here. I am writing this review in the room. I am going to stay here for 3 nights for my honeymoon since tonight, but we are not satisfied about the Hyatt.

When checking in, we were told that $25 resort fee is required for EVERYONE! I was not told about this before and after booking. I cannot find the information on their web site. We have NO CHOICE for the resort fee. I don't think it's reasonble.

And, the room is facing ... parking lot!! Besides, our room is UNDER the lobby! We are in level 1 and lobby is in level 2. Face to parking lot and lower than lobby!? Are you kidding me?

And, actually, TV is useless unless you pay for it. We need to pay for most activities in Hyatt. The most horrible part is, I saw some reviews here and they said the snacks are located above weight sensitive machine?! After seeing the reviews, I saw our snacks, and found it seems that they are truly above some kinds of weight sensitive machine! We might touch some snacks before seeing the review. Now, we are worrying about being charged. Overall, we feel like, we would be charged for almost EVERYTHING and the quality of rooms is not so good. It's just OK. Don't have higher expectation for the Hyatt, or you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaichih_Hu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
23.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
22.4 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
1.3 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £262 - £668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing