We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Pie....Get a Slice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Paradise Pie....Get a Slice!”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

While this hotel is a bit older and lightly dated in its decor, it is still just marvelous! Friendly, good eats, and the location is perfect. My family had a blast there!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coastaltransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,100
    1,810
    853
    388
    196
See reviews for
1,807
3,017
87
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I had read reviews of this resort ad nauseum and didn't know quite what to expect. The reviews seemed excellent since recent renovations were completed. I am a Hilton Honors member and was a bit nervous staying at a non-Hilton property because Hilton is almost always exceptional. Stayed at the Hilton Waikoloa Village on the Big Island last year and felt it was going to be hard for a resort to compete with this "ultra-mega" exceptional resort.

But, my hats off to the Hyatt Regency Maui. Our stay, with some minor exceptions was wonderful from check-in to check out. The recent renovations, although not luxury, are only a small step below. The property is gorgeous and well kept. The staff, with very rare exception, were attentive, extremely polite and welcoming. Janice at check-in made the process quick and got us to our room quickly. She was excellent. The renovated deluxe ocean view room, although a bit smaller than I would have liked, was roomy enough for my family of four and nicely appointed.

The pool was fantastic. Had read reviews about the beach being too small. Maybe, just in front of the pool, but just past the cabanas was big enough with plenty of beach for the kids to play and the sand in the water was not rocky until quite a ways out. The 150 foot water slide was a hit with the kids. My daughter is barely under 48' tall. Thanks to Josh and Emily and there excellent judgement she was given a wrist band and had a ball on the slide. I still have a problem with the policy as I know a number of kids who are 50" tall who would have floundered at the end of the slide as a child's height has nothing to do with having the ability to swim. And although Tim (another lifeguard) was hesitant about allowing her on the slide (and offered some lame explanation about the policy on the third day and some big Hawaiian dude who wasn't very pleasant on the second day, with some assertiveness on my part, she rode the slide daily and was fine (as I knew she would be as she is a very good swimmer. You people need to tell your attorneys/policymakers to rethink this absurd policy. Nonetheless, Josh and Emily were awesome. They remembered us by name throughout our day and deserve commendations for their outstanding customer service. Tim and the "big hawaiian dude" need to be informed that they should get the corn cobs out of their "you know whats" (That is for the customer service people at Hyatt who I'm certain will read this review). The frequent complimentary Otter Pops daily were a nice touch.

The only other issue we had was some small issues with housekeeping. On the second day, went to our room after a day at the beach to clean up an 3:40PM and the room had not been serviced. Some other issues with the quality of housekeeping as well. Addressed my concerns to the manager. They arranged a specific time for our room to be cleaned daily. Tim, the housekeeping manager took care of my concerns and was very receptive to my issues. He sent us a small gift basket for our troubles as well. Thanks Tim. Just the kind of thing you would expect at a 4 or 5 star property. A very nice touch.

The food was very good. Although there are great places outside of Hyatt to eat, and mostly ate off property, did dine at all the restaurants and enjoyed them all. Expensive, but what on Maui isn't? Breakfast buffet would have been a huge waste of money as we could have never eaten $100 of breakfast a day, but was included with the room for all four of us. Very nice spread of food, fresh fruit, hot items, etc. Just not worth $100 a pop for four people.

Have an issue with the resort fee as should be included in the price of the room. And the wi-fi you get for the resort fee, in a word, sucked. To charge for the better broadband wi-fi is really crappy. And the self parking was a struggle daily. Should have a gate for hotel guests only with non-gated for public beach access.

All in all, a fantastic stay. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a resort with everything you need but at the same time is not too sprawling.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 8 June 2011
I am thrilled to hear that your stay at our property was an overall success. I am glad that you and your family were able to experience all the different amenities offered at our resort. It sounds like you had a pleasant interaction with our staff. I will be sure to pass along all the great feedback that you mentioned about Janice, Josh, Emily and Tim. Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We look forward to having an opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Brock S – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We spent 5 nights at the Hyatt Maui in a partial ocean view room. We barely noticed the view unless we stood on the balcony to see the ocean from the side. The hotel is very tranquil, in spite of the number of people that stay there. We love seeing the African penguins and the African cranes at the hotel. We spent a lot of time pool side which was nice, but they cram the lounge chairs together and there's very little space between you and the other guests. You also have to get the pool early to get a good spot. The food at Umalu is really good. Our only complaint has to do with the parking which is somewhat limited in the evenings when the parking lots become full. We came back from a luau around 9ish and couldn't find a parking space so we had to valet it for $18. We're paying a resort fee so we should be abe to get a parking space when we need it. Other than the parking, we would return to the Hyatt Maui on future trips to Maui.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Recently vacationed at the Hyatt for the first time. An incredibly beautiful property with unsurpassed service from the entire staff, but in particular from Corene and Pohaku (Recreation Dept)! Kiliko, the front desk manager, went out of her way to make sure that we enjoyed our stay and that we did! They are truly dedicated to providing excellent service to their customers. I highly recommend the Hyatt....in such a short stay, I felt like i was leaving family when it came time to return home. I will be back next year - can't wait!

Room Tip: Any corner room on 3rd floor. Suites, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Dear Barb60713:

Thank you for taking a moment to share your personal experiences at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. We're happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We'll be sure to tell Corene, Pohaku, & Kiliko how pleased you were with their helpfulness & how friendly they were. We look forward to having you stay with Hyatt again!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 681 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

This was our fourth trip to Maui and our second stay at the Hyatt. We have also stayed at the Marriott on Kaanapali Beach and the Ritz. Our last stay at the Hyatt was back in 1994. Our original plan was to stay at the Wailea Marriott but at the last minute the Hyatt offered a deal too good to pass up. After taking a trip to Wailea to see the Marriott, we were glad we made the switch.

The entire staff at the Hyatt couldn’t have been more friendly or helpful. Check-in was quick and efficient. When we inquired about an upgrade, we were offered a corner, ocean front room. You need to keep in mind that the Hyatt is over 31 years old so the rooms are on the small size (especially the bathrooms). However the size of the rooms is just about the only aspect of the hotel that indicates its age. The rooms have been re-modeled and included flat screen, HD TV’s and updated furnishings. While the room is a bit tight, there was sufficient closet and drawer space for two people. The grounds, common space, pools, restaurants, etc., were all very well maintained and again, don’t give away the age of the hotel.

The package that we booked included daily breakfast and access to the Regency Club. The only option for breakfast was at Swan Court. It seems as though most guests at the Hyatt opt for the breakfast package (no surprise since if you had to pay for breakfast you’d be shelling out $30 per person), so there can be a line waiting to get in especially during “prime time”. There was a wide variety of food to choose from with some slight variations daily. The only thing not included in the breakfast package is the gratuity but that’s pretty standard with most hotel breakfast packages.

The Regency Club (located in its own lounge on the 22nd floor), is open continuously from 6:30 AM until 9:00 PM. They offer a continental breakfast in the morning (lots of fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, usually one hot egg type item, coffee, espressos, lattes, juices, bottled water and a lot more.) During the afternoon there is a refrigerator stocked with water and soda, snacks and cookies available. Around 5 they have hors d'oeuvres and an honor bar (reasonably priced) and a selection of desserts until 9. There is also a separate concierge available to help with dinner reservations, activities, etc.

Is it worth it? It depends on the difference in price between the room category you’re choosing with or without access to the Regency Club and if you’ll take advantage to all of the offerings. I would definitely recommend upgrading to the Regency Club if you’re not getting a breakfast package included in your rate.

I’ve seen some other reviews complaining about the resort fee. Just about every hotel in Maui (and just about every other resort location in the US for that matter), charges a resort fee. At least the Hyatt includes items in the resort fee beyond what you’d expect to receive as part of the room rate. Included is wi-fi access, self-parking (something many other Maui properties add on in addition to the resort fee), and access to the gym area of the spa (which is one of the nicest and well equipped gyms of any hotel in Maui). The resort fee is $25 a day per room (which is clearly disclosed on their website so I’m not sure why people react so surprised by it). But if you’re a Platinum or Diamond Gold Passport member, they resort fee is reduced to $15 a day.

Here’s a tip regarding parking. While self-parking is free, it is very limited. Don’t go crazy trying to find a parking space. If you drive through the lot and can’t find a space, just drive up to the valet parking and let them know the self-parking is full. They’ll waive the $18 valet parking fee for 24 hours.

Another common complaint is that there is not enough chairs available poolside and that there is an extra charge for chairs on the lawn facing the ocean. I’d say facing the beach but as others have commented, there really isn’t much of a beach in front of the Hyatt. In fact at times of high tide, there can be less than 10-15 feet of beach front space. You’ll need to walk about 50 yards or so towards the Marriott to find a much wider beach.

As far as the chairs go, we were at the Hyatt over Memorial Day weekend and the hotel was close to sold out. We never really had a problem finding a spot around the pool. True if you want a “prime” spot you need to get to the pool a little earlier but that’s the same with all big resort hotels. There is an extra charge for cabanas but the chaises on the lawn are available, first come/first served, without a charge

Here’s another tip. If you have a late flight, the Hyatt has a great facility available located inside the restrooms in the grotto area of the pool. Inside both the men’s and woman’s restrooms you’ll find a door in the back that can be accessed by using your room key. These rooms contain large electronic lockers, two showers, soap, shampoo, hair dryers, etc. This way you can check out at 11:00, lock up a change of clothes in a locker and spend the day at the pool, beach or doing an activity. You can then shower and change before your flight at the end of the day. Hyatt also offers a late check-out for $75 (guaranteed until 4:00 PM but you can sometimes push it until 6:00 PM), but with these very nice (and free) facilities, why pay?

I can’t say enough good things about the Hyatt. It’s a great hotel with a great staff located on the best beach and in the best location in Maui. If you need any additional information, feel free to send me a message.

Room Tip: Just ask. If available, they'll upgrade you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank HeyMan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Me an some friend havd a wonderful visit to hawaii We stayed @ the hyatt Maui resort spa ..........but found it very dissapointed to learn that there was no smoking on the outside balcony of our hotel room. yes we knew that we were in a no smoking hotel but they did not specify that there was no smoking on the balcony. All of the hotels that i stay in that are no smoking allow you to smoke on the outside balcony. You guys should state this prohibition in your ad. We would have chosen to stay at another hotel that was not so STRICT!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ppehs55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We were very happy with this resort, it puts a smile on my face just thinking about it. The lobby is open to the outdoors, overlooks the pool and ocean and is full of exotic plants and animals. I was not disappointed when it was time to return to the resort after an exciting bike trip down Haleakala or snorkeling Molokini crater. (Note: both MUST DO's while in Maui)

Rooms were average in size, smaller bathrooms but they fit the need. The beds are extremely comfortable with light down comforters and pillows.

The restaurant Japengo which is part of the resort was quite possibly my favorite while in Maui (We experienced some pretty good restaurants Pacific'O & Lahaina Grill). Japengo provided excellent sushi, seafood and wine as well as impeccable service. The entire restaurant, much like the Hyatt itself, is open to the outdoors allowing for breathtaking views of the ocean and sunsets.

The pool was a great spot to cool off and get some sun. Drinks were available from both poolside wait staff and Ūmalu (the restaurant attached to the pool area) There is a full bar under the waterfall, however we never found ourselves there. One downside to the pool was the lack of lounge chairs come 12pm. Its a great place to be and everyone seems to agree. Be prepared to do some searching to find two empty chairs together.

Spa Moana is an experience. Total relaxation. A great facility located right on the water and short walk from the lobby & pool. Massages, steam rooms, hot tubs, saunas & gym.

I would highly recommend the Hyatt if you're thinking about staying in or around Kaanapali in west Maui.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbarker201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Dear Jbarker201:

Thank you for going out of your way to write this review about your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. Sharing your personal experiences while visiting, is appreciated. We often hear enthusiastic feedback about the pool & amenities surrounding it. It's great to hear Hyatt can put a smile on your face, just thinking about the resort. We can't wait to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
22.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
1.3 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing