We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Family Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 June 2011

For a higher-end Maui family vacation it is the best hotel going. My 5 year old loved the expansive pool including a great children's area, South African Penguins in the lobby with daily feeding, myriad of talking and interactive birds, flamingos, swans... "just like a zoo" she said. The property has every amenity, tours, restaurants, and even an in-house Macy's. Within walking distance of restaurants and more shops along a mile long paved sea-side path. Ten minutes from the great little town of Lahaina full of quarky shops, eating, and art galleries. We have stayed three times and will come again. Just great.

Room Tip: The government rate is the best, followed by AAA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRSHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2011

Mahalo! Thank you for such a wonderful review of our hotel. We pride ourselves on creating a fantastic experience for people of all ages. We hope you and your five year old join us again in Maui soon. Please feel free to contact us if you need any assistance with future plans.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,311 - 5,317 of 6,746 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2011

A lot has been said about the Hyatt in previous reviews, however I want to comment on the service. In all of our travels this has been without a doubt the best service we have experienced with staff. It started when we arrived late and checked into the two rooms for our family. Not only was the staff at the front desk wonderful.... they had the house cleaning staff come down right away and help switch out the bedding and remove anything with feathers for us. They got us extra robes and brought my son cards on all the animals on the property. Everyone was so friendly and wonderful and it continued throughout our stay.

The grounds are quite wonderful and the hotel seems so "warm and friendly". We had a really, really nice time. Although we were there as a family I think this would be a wonderful couples get away also. It all just blends in so well.

The only negative in my opinion was the swan court breakfast at $30 per person. It was not included in our room rate so we decided to splurge one morning. What a mistake. The line was crazy long and the food was not impressive. Felt like I was on a low end cruise ship! I was really disappointed based on the price. We did have breakfast in the coffee shop and we really enjoyed the breakfast paninis... The staff was also very friendly both there and also at the bell and valet desk. They have a great team...

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lvtolvlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re thrilled that our staff was able to make you stay wonderful. We pride ourselves on excellent service and reviews like yours reinforce this. Please contact us if you need any assistance with a future stay.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Stayed here and was very disappointed with the rooms. I went with my family of five and we were told that we were in a suite and that there would be enough room for all of us but when we got there it was a queen and a pull out couch that was not at all comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanW1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We booked an ocean view king and were not disappointed. The room was 332 and it is very nice. Our balcony overlooked the pool and beach area and the ocean. We got the sunrise each morning. The rooms have mini fridges in them which I love. We stopped at Safeway on our way in and picked up snacks and drinks. We did have issues with the self parking. The spaces are so close together you can barely get your compact in them and when you return late at night you need to drive around several times to find a spot. Just to let you know, one night we could not find a spot and they parked the car in valet for us at no charge, which I feel is very fair. The food at Umulu is good but very overpriced. 14.00 for Chicken tenders and fries. Drinks are mostly over 10.00 unless you get a mai tai during happy hour then it's 5.00.
In case you don't know if you need a 2nd room for your kids you can get if for half off the price of your room.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lablover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2011

Dear lablover99:

Thank you for taking a moment to share your comments in regards to your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. We're delighted to hear it is your fourth time back at this property; and how much you enjoyed your visits. We appreciate you sharing your personal experience. We cannot wait to welcome you back for your fifth stay, along with many more!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

This is our 3rd stay in 3 years at the Hyatt. I can't speak to the 'value' rating as I know they are very expensive and we were able to use multiple discounts and get an AMAZING rate since my husband is a near constant business traveler using the Hyatt all over the US.

The staff goes out of their way to be friendly and nice. Everything is top notch from the upkeep of the grounds to the way they accomodate your needs and requests.

The grounds are gorgeous and our room directly overlooked the beach with only the sidewalk in between us. What luxury to fall asleep nightly to the sound of the waves. Thank you, Hyatt, for working to get us into the room we desired!

Everything is gracious including the staff. The Club room breakfasts/hot dinner appetizers/desserts were very appreciated.

The pool is a delight for young children. This year we had friends traveling at the same time as our family so we brought their children in almost like they were our grandchildren. The pool time was so enjoyable!

The Hyatt is within walking distance of Whaler's Village and close driving to Lahaina.

Hyatt--we hate to leave each time. We hate to leave Maui and hate to leave you because you always make our trips worry free and enjoyable!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonCoastLover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

The hotel is awesome. The resort pool is so great and beautiful. Its walking distance to the Whaler's Village. If you're at Whaler's Village, try to eat the the Hula Grill, they offer great food.

We stayed at this hotel for 7 days.....

Some not so good points to consider:
(1) In the breakfast area (The Swan), you need to queue to get a table. When your at the resort on a Saturday, the line would be so long, and you could get a table in at least 40 minutes.
(2) The hotel doesnt have a water tank/ reserve. When we stayed there, the main water line broke and the whole hotel row didnt have water. For the price you paid at the resort, they should have at least made the guest feel comfortable by giving/delivering water. We had to call the front desk many time just to have some water to wash our faces with. They should have some contingency measure if things like that happened.

Other than that, WE ENJOYED MAUI!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dinoc621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am excited to hear that you found our resort to be amazing. It is unfortunate that during your stay we had a water line break. I am glad you and your party were able to accept the compensation for the issues the water line may have caused during your stay. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

While this hotel is a bit older and lightly dated in its decor, it is still just marvelous! Friendly, good eats, and the location is perfect. My family had a blast there!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coastaltransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,285 reviews
23.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
22.4 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
1.3 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £271 - £637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing