We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rough start, but overall a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 August 2012

When my wife and I tried to check in around 5:45, our room wasnt going to be ready until 8:00. The gentleman at the front desk immediately gave us a resort credit for the inconvenience. When we went back up to the desk at 8:00 to check back in, our room still wasn't ready...we were given an additional credit and were promised our room would be ready no later than 9:00. Well, we didn't get into our room until almost 9:30, but once we settled in, we had a great stay. The location is tough to beat...very convenient to Lahaina, and the main roads that lead to the other areas of the island. We opted for breakfast by the pool bar, as it was far less crowded, with a similar selection(minus the omelet station, which always had a huge line anyways). Get down to the pool before 8:00 if you want a good spot, and the beach is much better if you walk up a little bit. While not as luxurious as the Grand Hyatt on Kauai, this resort still provided a very enjoyable experience, strong service and hospitality.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DOD629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cld6784, Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Aloha DOD629:
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. I'm sorry to hear about your delayed check-in on your arrival day, however, we are glad you were compensated for the delay. It sounds like once you were checked in you did have a great stay and enjoyed location of the property, breakfast by the pool, and the pool. We hope the next time you are on Maui, you choose the Hyatt!
Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,421)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,349 - 4,355 of 6,422 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

My wife & I visited this hotel & island for the 1st time, what a great place both where. Staff where great, food was exceptional, the ability to go to whalers village for shopping eating and drinking made this site ideal.
As you walk down to whalers village you do go past the other hotels which all look great however you did get stopped most days & nights by the hotels trying to sell time share, a bit annoying & great that Hyatt didn't have this same idea it was just a great hotel.

The concerns people have with rooms is a poor excuse to complain, a bedroom is the last place you want to be with an island a beautiful as Maui

Make sure you book a trip or drive yourself for the road to Hana, stunning views & you get to know a bit of the culture.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aptimbrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Aloha Aptimbrell!

Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed walking to Whaler's Village and enjoying the surroundings of our area. We'll make sure to recognize our employees for the great customer service provided while you were with us. Hyatt takes pride with the food prepared by our Chefs in our restaurants.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to the area.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I booked through Priceline and Buyer Beware - you get what you pay for. I was given a room on the first floor that had a direct view of the self-parking lot. They list their amenities, but most of these amenities incurr additional fees. EVERYTHING is extra! They charge for everything per day - a $25 "resort" fee - $14 for self-parking - $20 for valet parking - $9 for the microwave - $11 for the internet - etc., etc., etc. It is not worth the extra money. The resort itself is fine as far as the location and pool, but for the money, I would have reserved a condo for the same price and would have had kitchen access.

Room Tip: Insist on an upgrade.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1Nonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Aloha 1Nonna:

Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. We're glad our location worked well for your visit to the area. Often, our guests will give enthusiastic feedback with regards to the large pool here. The resort fee is an additional charge for the specific amenities you referred to, however, if you were charged on those amenities individually, you would end up paying more than the cost of the resort fee. Also, with just five eligible stays at a Hyatt, in a calendar year, you can receive free internet at our hotels.

We hope this stay doesn't discourage you from joining us at Hyatt again, as we look forward to a second chance to host you.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

Rooms are a tad above average- of your budget allows, go for ocean front those views are spectacular! Also include the Swan Court breakfast buffet - excellent.
Beach bar fills up early- food is soso. Room furniture is not very comfy for watching tv or reading . Staff is friendly. Only real negative was that air conditioning syst em is motion activated do gets warm when one is sleeping

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaqpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cld6784, Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Aloha Jaqpot:
Thank you for your review of the Hyatt Regency Maui! It sounds like you really enjoyed the Swan Court Breakfast Buffet and the fantastic ocean views! We appreciate your feedback on the guest room furniture and the AC unit and have shared with our Management Team. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

At first I was wishing we had stayed in Wailea but after a few days I realized how much I liked it here. Walking distance to Whalers village shopping and lots of restaurants. Lots of good restaurants on premises as well as shopping. Pool area was nice. Room was great. Ocean view was perfect! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TCM327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cld6784, Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear TCM327:
Mahalo for your recent review of the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa! It sounds like you really enjoyed the resort & Ka'anapali as a whole. We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Maui!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Aloha! My husband and i went to Maui for our honeymoon and booked this hotel based on our friends recommendation. We totally loved it! Rooms are big and very clean. The staff is superfriendly, everyone from the Front Desk (Jeezabel checked us in, she was so friendly and helped us with everything!) to the housekeeping and the waiters on the pool bar. The concierges helped us with our trips and cancellations where no problem and didnt take up our time whatsoever. Our waitress at the pool remembered us after one day beeing there (and this hotel has aaaaalot of rooms). Every request we made (like we asked for coffee for the room) was done quickly! The breakfast that you can include is good but usually there is a huge line in the mornings, we just went to the little starbucks place and got a decent priced yummy breakfast and coffee (The paninis are so good) and once again the 2 employees there were so friendly and rememberd us and what we had for breakfast :) The second day of our stay we also recieved a nice bottle of sparkling wine regarding of our honeymoon, which his a very nice touch.2 things that werent sooooo nice was that we weren't able to get a late check out and their check out is 11 am so that was a bit of a "bumma" and the staff at Japengo (we went for dinner one time)was not as friendly as the rest of the staff and a little bit slow. The GYM is awesome, equipment is very new, they have classes too but we didnt try them, the gym is also included in the resort fee. The BEACH is not the greatest very rocky but if you walk a little further you will find a great beach just before whalers village. Definately go Kayaking (you can rent these in the resort for $40 for the first hour) and kayak away from the resort on the shore you could see some huge turtles like we did! Awesome resort will def recommend and come back!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view is nice and quite (you hear the waves tho ;))
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiningstar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Aloha Shiningstar12!

Thank you for going out of your way to share such detailed information about your honeymoon celebration at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. We're delighted to hear how our employees were able to help provide you with such a memorable visit. We will recognize our employees for the great level of service provided, including answering your requests quickly.

Your referral is greatly appreciated. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for many more anniversary celebrations!

Mahalo!

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I just got home from a recent stay of only 3 nights. My platinum status was recognized at check in and I was offered late check out which I did take advantage of. I was advised of the new $14 parking fee. I asked if this was new as I had not read that anywhere before. She said it was new and waived it since I was only staying 3 nights. Coupled with the $25 resort fee you are looking at $39/day right off the bat. I am not aware if any other properties on Kaanapali are doing this or not. For $14/day they should have a guy in a golf cart down in the lots to run you up to the hotel. I had booked partial ocean view and was given a very nice room on the 7th floor of Lahaina tower. Awesome Ocean Views plus views of the Swans and Flamingo's down below. We could hear sound of waves at night which is always nice in Hawaii. Room was nothing special, but was very clean, comfortable beds. Bathroom is cramped with only one sink and tub/shower combo. The setting for the breakfast buffet is hard to beat. The staff there most mornings was very good and we always woke before 8 and were able to beat the rush. There is a line after about 8. My only complaint about the buffet is there is always a long line for the Omelette station as there is only one station. They need to have 2 to serve a breakfast area this large. The hotel is big and it was busy. If you are looking for tranquility and quiet this is not the resort for you. It was buzzing and busy. I talked to an employee there and he said they were at 98% capacity. He worked there since the hotel was built. He was a very proud EE and said there were many others who had worked there since the hotel was built. My interactions with staff were all great. The pool chairs get taken early so it is a good idea to reserve a couple with towels before breakfast if you plan on spending time at the pool. The beach here is not good, but walk 5 minutes north and it is great. All in all a great experience.

Room Tip: Shoot for higher number rooms in the Lahaina Tower facing the Ocean.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank koctail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cld6784, Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Aloha koctail:
Thank you for your recent review of the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. It sounds like you had a great 3-day vacation here. I'm glad we were able to recognize your platinum status and waive your parking fee. We often hear enthusiastic things about the Swan Court Breakfast Buffet and please know that since your stay we have implememented a second omelet station when we are at high occupancy! We appreciate your feedback regarding our guest rooms and have shared with our Management Team. We look forward to hosting you again if you return to Maui! Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
22.4 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
1.3 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £232 - £547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing