We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great relaxing stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hunter Valley
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stay here for our first few night of our honeymoon, the staff were so polite and couldn't do enough to help you. We had a mountain view room, if we were to here again i would get an ocean view room. Breakfast was awesome, you can get your own omelette made fresh or pick any thing else in there, eating right beside the water fall. The pools were great and there is even a slippery dip for the kids. We did our culture dinner feast here (Luau) It was great. We hope to go back soon but this time we will be taking the kids.

Room Tip: Book a ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lachlan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,873
    1,690
    790
    355
    182
See reviews for
1,605
2,847
79
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

This was our 2nd time to visit the Hyatt in Lahaina and once again, our visit was fantastic! The staff is courteous & helpful and of course, the hotel itself is beautiful! Their breakfast buffet is the BEST...so many choices & all of it was yummy! There are so many things to do within walking distance of the Hyatt or just stay & enjoy their pool restaurant/bar, Umalu. The food & drinks were great & the chatty bartenders were so knowledgeable about the island...they gave us recommendations of places to see & other restaurants to try. We definitely enjoyed this hotel & our time in Maui!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandynrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback on your recent stay. I’m delighted to hear that your return visit was so enjoyable. I’m glad that you found the staff to be courteous and helpful. The breakfast buffet in Swan Court truly is marvelous. It’s fantastic that you were able to enjoy it, again. I’m pleased that you found the bartender at Umalu to be knowledgeable and friendly. I hope that we can welcome you back to our hotel again soon for your third visit!

Abrea H – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Clean and unremarkable rooms. Property is very nice and well kept. The pool is small and the beach nearly non-existent. A better bet would be the Westin farther up beach in Kanapali as the beach is much, much nicer.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

This is one of my vacation that wasn't exactly cheap, but I was well worth it. The facility was clean and the food was just wonderful. The best breakfast buffet hands down.

The staff was very helpful and polite, the room was clean, and it the hotel was perfectly situated.

I had a nice experience,

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are a bit less expensive and for me it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BamPopWhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, Oregon
Level Contributor
121 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

This is a first class hotel. The grounds are beautiful and immaculate. Our ocean front king room was comfortable and roomy. As an added bonus, we were able to hear the luau music every night. The hotel has great pools. We ate at most of the restaurants in the hotel, and they were fabulous. Try the duck pots tickers at Japengo; you won't be disappointed. Every single staff person we encountered, from server to maid to custodian to shopkeeper treated and greeted us with enthusiasm. We especially liked our waitress Elena in Swan Court who gave us big hugs and a box of chocolates on our last day. The hotel is in easy walking distance to great restaurants in Whaler's Village. This was our second stay at this hotel, and it is the ONLY place we will stay while on Maui. Mahalo Hyatt Regency. You are superb.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, grab an ocean front room. You will go to sleep every night listening to the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhetoricRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Aloha RhetoricRox,

Thank you for going out of your way to share comments about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our relaxing resort grounds. The ocean view king rooms offer guests some of the best views in the area. The chefs at Japengo serve delicious food. Elena will be recognized for the excellent service you experienced in Swan Court. It will be my pleasure to welcome you back, to our hotel, on your next Hawaiian getaway.

Mahalo,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Spent 10 days with hubby, 4 year old and 18 month old for the first time in Maui at the Hyatt. The toddler pool was closed due to construction. We didn't think it was a big deal since the beach is steps away from the hotel, but after walking along the boardwalk and seeing the nearby toddler pools, we were very disappointed about not having a kid only pool. The larger pool was nice with it's waterfall, cave and water slide. These pools at it's lowest 3 feet so I had to carry the kids around in the water.

We also had a partial view in which the gal at the front desk said it was there best room and it was a joke. The view of the ocean could only been seen if you steped outside on the deck and stretched your neck around the corner. On top of that, the room was far away from the pools which is no big deal if you are not pushing 2 strollers but the property is NOT stroller friendly at all. The only ramp is on the clear far other side of the property and is a good 10 minute walk from towel pick up, toddler pool, kid area, etc. We asked to be moved to the ground floor which was perfect for us. We could walk outside via our deck door and was steps away from the pool, kid area (temporary inflatable water slides), and boardwalk. The ground floor was also cooler and surprisingly very quiet. Once we found the "secret" shortcut entrance (the door leading to the doctors on call from the main road), that made our travels to/from the parking lot so much easier. Plus we had a view of the ocean that was far better than our other room.

The rooms could be cleaner (small stains on sheets, dirt/dust around edges on floor, walls needing to be wiped down, etc) but I'm a hyper wiper so it probably bothers me more than most people.

The staff was friendly and accomadated every request with a smile. Overall I liked the property and this was the resort experience I was expecting. It was close to everything we wanted, had 2 fridges in the room (which we used our entire stay), good size closet, large vanity and was just a good size room for our family.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with little kids (strollers) ask for a room on the ground floor close to the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gogoeverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed here in mid-November for 4 nights. We noticed the construction, but thankfully we had an ocean view room which faced away. We never heard any noise. The grounds were well-maintained and beautiful. The staff were very helpful. The boys at the beach activities station were great. We took a stand-up paddle boarding lesson and had a fun time. The breakfast buffet was decent, but nothing special. We had breakfast included in our stay, but if we did not, we would not have chosen to eat there. There was not much variety from day to day, so we got bored with the food. We ate at happy hour at Japengo--their appetizer sampler was great. Food and drinks by the pool were also very good: can't go wrong with some bar food and tropical alcoholic slushies!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
6.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
22.7 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
22.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia and Southall Travel so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing