We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hyatt Regency Club is worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hyatt Regency Club is worth it”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel is a great location at the end of all the hotels in Lahaina so there is less foot traffic in front. The grounds are beautiful with tons of wildlife, penguins, parrots, flamingos, etc. The conceirge was very helpful, as was the rest of the staff. It is a 15 minute walk down the path along the beach in back of the hotel to Whaler's Village and Black Rock (great place to snorkel). There are a lot of vendors along the walk to rent equipment to snorkel or get surf lessons. I would recommend skipping lunch at the hotel, which is pricey and instead walking down to Hula Grill for lunch, along the beach in Whaler's Village. The food is better than the pool side restaurant at the Hyatt and half the price. We opted for the Regency club and it was well worth it. The breakfast is amazing, plenty of food and they also have a snack time around happy hour and dessert time. Would highly recommend doing this. Some of the pool was under construction when we were there but it didn't bother us and there was always plenty of space to get chairs (although this was the week before Thanksgiving and it was uncharacteristically empty so this might be different at another time of year). My only complaint is the hair dryer in the room is so small and not powerful at all so either plan to let your hair air dry or bring one if you are a women. I had the same issue at the other hotel we stayed at in Maui but that is really nothing. Definitely recommend having dinner at Japengo. The Swan restaurant was closed for renovations but we heard it is amazing. Japengo is asian fusion and very good.

Room Tip: Go with the regency club if it is an option. Partial ocean view is fine, you can still see part of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Okie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Greetings Okie21,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share feedback at the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa. We are thankful for your kind comments about our great location and landscaping, but most importantly how much you enjoyed your vacation was. We will be sure to recognize our staff and management for the great service they provide. I will also be sure to report and forward management team about the challenges with the air dryer during your stay, my sincerest apologies. This information will help us make sure our future guests do not encounter the same challenge. We cannot wait to welcome you back to our Hyatt Resort on your next trip to Maui.

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,969
    1,738
    812
    367
    188
See reviews for
1,678
2,923
82
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I must start with I have been to this hotel over 6 times in the last 10 years. And after a 5 night stay this will be my last stay.

Booked an ocean front room with regency club privileges over the New Years holiday.

The regency club offerings are an embarrassment to the brand, please upgrade the food.

Housekeeping was very poor and never came when asked. They always came in late afternoon even though I asked them to come at 9 am and the same with turn down service.

Breakfast buffet was one of the highlights of my past stays but not anymore. Instead of trays of kiwi or mangoes or strawberries we get cheap muffins, pastries and breads. Not good.

Apparently too the omelette station as well as the salmon are going away as well: are you kidding me?

The hotel has turned into a timeshare pitch area where the sales people are everywhere. Not a good impression.

Yes the rooms are small and dated, the pool very crowded, no self parking at all, ridiculous microwave fees, resort fees, valet fees, self parking fees, shaded chair fees, long lines every where regardless of season, but the views are great.

With all of this I believe any other place on Maui provides better value, updated rooms, and better service.

Room Tip: Away from construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank C-Suite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMauiGirl, Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Aloha C-suite,
Thank you for taking the time to review us! I'm happy to report that our omelette station is not going anywhere and we are looking at available options to expand our fruit and health options. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced over your stay and hope that we can resolve this and regain your trust for future stays. Warmest wishes for a Happy New year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

loved this hotel! It's a large one - bringing in business incentive groups, etc. But it can handle it. The pool area is gorgeous - with a small waterfall, a slide and lots of chaise lounges. The beach area had no chairs, and the water was a bit rough, so we stayed mainly at the pool. Rooms were beautiful - clean, well-lit, and lovely views overlooking the pool and the ocean. Restaurants were very good. Breakfast buffet was excellent each morning - with a lush array of fresh fruits and the usual breakfast fare.
Hotel shops were nice - they even had a Macy's there! Though it only carried resort and swimwear, it was fun to shop there. They looked up my charge for me (as i didn't bring it with me!)
The hotel is in an area with several large resort hotels...a beach walkway connects them all. At the end of the walkway was a very nice shopping area (though they were mainly the same high-end store you'd find at home). This is where you could also get a free shuttle bus to the other hotels in the area...or an inexpensive trolley ride into the charming harbor town of Lahaina.
Well worth the trip - terrific local shops, a few museums, art galleries, lots of casual dining and interesting sights.
Hotel grounds were beautiful - the restaurant we ate breakfast in (and which became a nice dinner restaurant as well) opened up to a lagoon area filled with swans, ducks, birds and more.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool or ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wagsalot13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
wagsalot13,

Thank you so much for your review! I truly appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. I'm glad you had a memorable stay at our property.

Best Regards,
-Paul R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Don't know where to start - horrible service, horrible rooms, food poisoning from the Luau - ended in Maui Memorial hospital. Start with the room - i can't believe they can even charge for the room - lower ground with concrete constuction outside - which means i could not once open my window - might as well be in a dungeon - bath full of debris- disgusting - right next to doctor's clinic - queues right outside my doorstep everyday- truly awful. Disturbed by the queues outside - sick babies and children crying etc. Service horrible - clearly care way more about selling their time share - loads of facilities and service on that for sure but can't get anyone to help hotel guests. Concierge failed to inform us when kayaking trip cancelled - took a taxi all the way at 6.30 am only to find out its cancelled - no apologies/explanation obviously - not told how to get a refund. Paid shuttle service horrendous - guests ahead of us waited an hour for theirs, so when our scheduled shuttle arrived shooed off very rudely by harrased driver - we can't take you, just deal with it - didn't realise shuttle on a first come first serve basis?! Severe food poisoning after the Luau - treated at Maui Memorial hospital, at least service and care at the hospital was exceptional compared to the Hyatt. Totally ruined our anniversary - don't get me wrong, Maui was beautiful - but never at the Hyatt again.

Room Tip: Don't bother - avoid this hotel at all cost
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank s t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMauiGirl, Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Aloha ST,
First let me start with a huge apology for the overall experience you had while you were under our hotels care. It breaks my heart to read your review but I am grateful that you have taken the time to review us and let us know where we have an opportunity to fix things. I hope that your overall experience on Maui was delightful and you made some great memories on the beach and sand. We hope to have a chance to gain your trust in the future. Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeneville
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We had a mountain and ocean view king with table, chairs, couch, and balcony. Buffett at swan court restaurant is 25$ but the best I've ever had, all restaurants are pricey but have excellent views. Grounds are immaculate. Fried green beans at Umalu are a must! Only drawback is getting a chair at the pools. People start putting towels down at 7:00 A.M. They do tag chairs that have towels on them but no people in site, and give them a hour before they pick everything up, store the property, and release the chairs. Finally brought out many more, but still have to get to pool early to get them. Great beach and running path.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandLH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This was a fantastic resort. Worth every penny. We were spending our anniversary in Maui and wanted to make it special. We upgraded to an ocean view room on line and were certainly NOT dissapointed. The view was amazing. Full ocean view to boot. The room was clean staff treated us to free drinks for our anniversary and just all around courteous. Plenty to eat and do there, even late at night. This may sound silly but we were also impressed by the contrusction crew. We learned of the construction a few months after booking and were somewhat concerned. While there were vehicle and workers around we never heard a sound from our room, pool, restraunts etc. even when a worker/ vehicle was encountered they were more than accomodating not to hold you up. I was very impressed. Because we stayed on the 22nd floor we were treated to breakfast, cocktail hour and deserts at the regency lounge daily. Also, the location could not have been more perfect. I walked from the pool to the ocean in 30 seconds. We also attended the Luau while here which did not was very nice. Great service. I HIGHLY recommend and will def stay here again.!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Christine M,

I am so pleased to hear that you had an amazing stay for your Anniversary! Congratulations. Thank you so much for providing your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. I hope to welcome you back next Anniversary for another great stay!

Sincerely,
-Paul R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Despite the construction going on nearby, we had a faultless stay at this beautiful resort. The staff were always so attentive and helpful. Our room was spacious and in excellent condition. The resort facilities...pools, water slides, gym...all fabulous. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne502012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Wayne502012,

Thank you for your review! I truly appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback on your past stay. I'm happy to hear that our staff played in instrumental part in making your stay as comfortable as possible. Thank you for choosing Hyatt!

Sincerely,
-Paul R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,934 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
22.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.7 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing