We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location & hotel”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here 8 nights in January 2014. Very happy with hotel, staff & location. Very good gym. Terrific pool. Only real gripe is prices at the on location restaurants, particularly Sonz. Way too pricey for what you get.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,972
    1,740
    813
    367
    188
See reviews for
1,680
2,927
82
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

I am not sure were too begin. This resort amazed us in everyway. The employees we encountered were super friendly and showed that that truly cared about their jobs. David, Bernie Glenn and Bryan at the Umalu Bar were great. Stephen who checked us in was friendly and helpful. The Regency Club folks were especially kind and hospitable. The one gentlemen up there remembered us from two years ago and the ladies gave us hand knitted flip flop luggage identifier on our last day. The waitress and Hostess from Son'z Swan Court were super friendly at the Breakfast buffet. Truly all the employees we encountered were fantastic.

The grounds are gorgeous and the pool is amazing. You have to try paddle boarding at the resort. It is inexpensive and so much fun. Virgil is a great instructor. The food and drinks at all the Restaurants are delicious.

This will be our go to hotel when in Maui. They won a lifetime customer. Do not look anywhere else in Maui. Hyatt is the place to be.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerseyboyinmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for the nice review. That is great to hear how our staff treated you so well during your stay. I would even be amazed if someone remembered me from two years ago and then got a nice luggage identifier when I left. We hope you have the change to come see us again.

John S-Guest Services Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 days. I was not sure if I should write a review for this hotel because there is not much to say. We have stayed here numerous times and also had our company conference here. The grounds are still beautiful and the location is great. The rooms seem very used and not very clean. The mirror over the desk was not very clean. I wrote on the film the first day we were there and it was never cleaned. The shower curtain liner was not very presentable. The pool is nice but very crowded. We were in the tower by the construction side but faced the ocean and we were not bothered by the noise. Had to walk by the timeshare people everyday. They were all very nice and never bothered us. I hope this hotel can spruce up there rooms otherwise we will be looking for other accommodations on this beach.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Danndiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
140 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Attended a business conference at this locations with 200 associates and their families. Hotel have everything to keep families busy and conference rooms of all sizes to accommodate the business meetings. Its about a 45-60 minute ride from the airport depending on traffic... get a rental car instead of the cab ride, $100 one way!

Room Tip: room faced the old volcano and saw rainbow on it when it rained!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blanchardbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Depending on weather, the Hyatt has a great nightly astronomy session on its rooftop. You need reservations, Most nights the session is at 8 or 9 (with weekends have 10PM romantic strawberries and champagne session). They have a copuple of large telescopes with computer controls, binoculars, and a nice entertaining and informing spiel about stars including the Hawaiian names for them.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

A group of nine stayed at the resort for 4 nights. From the time we checked in we all had a great experience. The full buffett breakfasts in the Swan Court restaurant were sensational with plenty of variety that Australians are used to. Even though one couple family were located in a seperate tower which the check in staff really tried hard to get all 4 rooms close, this didn't prove to be any concern to our group. A good selection of food was available within the resort, which we ate a few time at the pool side bar Umaul whilst kicking back with some of the famous cocktails.
Having a few shops located within the resort especially Macy's proved to be a bonus as the girls shopped for their Hawaiian resort clothing.
Being able to take a short stroll along the beachfront to Whalers Village to experience some fine restaurants re-enforced what good location the Hyatt was located.
The view from the resort was spectacular especially during the Breakfast period overlooking the ocean and the beautifully manicured gardens and lawns.
The Pool area was one of the best we have ever experienced with it's own water slide.
The only downside to be wary of is the State taxes that you need to pay on checkout even though the breakfast package was included, and if you have a larger group is to avoid the automatic 15% gratuity tax is to break your group into two.
We will definitely be back to spend a longer period of time at this resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larna35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
I'm so happy to hear that you had a great time at the hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed the variety of dinning options the resort offered. We would happily welcome you back to the hotel. We hope to see you soon.

Becky S-Guest Relations Associate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Having read many of the previous reviews, I appreciate letting me know about the construction on the other side of the resort. I asked for a room far away from it and was given a lovely one with a beautiful view of the mountains and ocean. The only "noise" we heard was from the almost nightly Luau but this was a pleasant distraction and it ended by eight p.m. The hotel is much more beautiful than the pictures show. The grounds are stunning and the open and airy design reflective of the Maui experience. Service was attentive and excellent from check in, through car valet, through pool staff through restaurant workers. My only criticism is the cost of food. It is truly staggering. I would allow yourself several meals to "treat yourself" especially to the breakfast buffet and the incredible Luau. However, most of the time you would do better eating in Lahaina, especially at Aloha Mixed Plate which I will review next. The food, atmosphere and service are awesome and the cost low!

All in all, we loved the Hyatt Regency and will return! P.S. The so-called "pressured time share" were nothing of the sort. We sat through the presentation with a very low key gentleman, gathered our gift and were on our way. We also chose to sit through this. No one "forced" us.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the construction. There are three towers. Request the one furthest from the wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Greetings Gary Z,

Thank you for going out of your way to share your experience at the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa. We are so thrilled that we were able to provide you with an amazing room and view for your vacation. I am so happy to hear as well about the great service you received from check in to check out. I will definitely send your feedback on the food and beverage prices to management for review. We hope you return soon on your next trip to Maui!

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,939 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
22.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.7 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing