We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property and central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful property and central location”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I've stayed here twice only a month apart. Unfortunately, I didn't get to take advantage of most of the amenities, since I was in Maui on personal business. Both times we booked an obstructed view king room (construction site right next door with another tower going up). The first time, both couples in our group got upgrades to ocean view rooms. Wow! The view was amazing! Our upgrade was to the Regency floor, so we got free continental breakfast each morning. The food was fresh and delicious. On our second stay we got upgraded to a mountain view. Not nearly as nice as the ocean view, but still pretty. Could have done without the highway view and the room was right next to the elevator, but it wasn't bad. I did miss the sound of the waves crashing, though.

Both trips we had drinks and apps at Umalu. Both times it was very busy. The first time we sat at the bar and the service was fast enough. The second time we sat in the restaurant area. The service was sloooooow. In our server's defense, she got stuck with several large groups, but it was still pretty bad. The food and drinks were good, though.

On the trip without free continental breakfast, we got coffee and fresh fruit at Halona Kai. Very fast service, Starbucks coffee menu and the man working there was the perfect mix of friendly and efficient.

In total, I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially for travelers who have time to slow down and enjoy it more. (The luau looked really cool, too!)

Room Tip: Ocean views are fantastic, seems like they try to upgrade everyone with an obstructed view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2BeachLvrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,053
    1,779
    837
    379
    190
See reviews for
1,747
2,986
86
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort for 3 nights while we were visiting Maui. The property itself is amazing and right on the beach. We really enjoyed the pool, which is very large with water slides and waterfalls that you can swim under. The rooms where great but they seemed to be a little out dated. The beds were also very comfortable. They are doing construction on a new set of rooms at the entrance but I never heard any noise from the construction. The location was great. It was easy to get to Lahaina City to do some shopping along the beach. The only thing that could have been better is the choice of restaurants. If there is nothing at the resort that you like you will have to leave and find something different for dinner. Also, there was no room service for lunch. No complaints though, it was a great vacation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robh310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We had an ocean view corner room in the Regency tower, and our only regret is that we hadn't brought binoculars to have a better view of all the whales breaching in the water right off the hotel! If you come during the season, the whale activity is fun to watch. Otherwise, our room was fine except for the bathroom which is smashed into a corner of the oddly shaped room, and was smaller than any bathroom on a cruise ship, for example. We had great fish at Japengo, an outstanding filet mignon at Sonz, and enjoyed the penguins, swans and flamingos who live on the extraordinary grounds. The luau was a little corny but fun for an evening and the food on the buffet was surprisingly good.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemini607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Wonderful stay at a great place. Views breathtaking! Service was great! Common areas clean and well taken care of! We had a great time at the luau and enjoyed the local crafters! We traveled with 2 boys age 9 and 15 and everyone was happy exploring the island from the Hyatt!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ShererAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
I'm very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed the hotel and were able to participate in a lot of the great activities they have to offer. I hope you can come back and see us again very soon!

Thanks,

Danny N
Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I cannot say enough great things about this hotel. I am an avid traveller and this resort surprised me with its consistency. Every nice is beautifully manicured and maintained. Though they are doing so renovation, I never heard a thing the entire time I was there. The rooms are well appointed and the views are spectacular. I enjoyed this business trip immensely. For those of you on East Coast time, bring some instant coffee, the Starbucks in the lobby does not open until 6 am and there is always a line of us who had been up for hours.

Can't wait to come back and bring my family next time. Thanks

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the west tower. Quiet and renovated. I was in room 719 and the view was excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LetaH0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hello!

Thrilled to hear that you are a frequent traveler to the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa. Thank you for all your kind words and we will be sure to forward these to the hotel management so they can praise our wonderful staff for the amazing job they do! We can't wait til your next business or leisure travel to Maui!

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were here for the second leg of our honeymoon. Having started off skiing in Whistler Canada we thought we'd take the opportunity to check out Maui. We're from the uk so this is a long way to come for us so it's hard not to compare it to places closer to home. So first of all, Kaanapali beach is not close to the airport, it was a $100 taxi ride to get there. The lobby and the grounds of the hotel are fantastic, well looked after, the pool is nice, there is a koi pond and there are even penguins. The only issue is that to get a seat at the pool you have to get up early and stick a towel down. The room itself was clean and comfortable but this hotel is over 30 years old and it shows in the decor etc, also you can hear everything for the people in the room upstairs, we could even hear the guy peeing, it was awful. The hyatts location within Kaanapali leaves something to be desired for me. The beach immediately in front if the hotel is quite stony and there is very little sand, you're better off down in front of the Westin. Also the Hyatt is at the far end of the resort so if you want to eat outside the hotel you've got a bit of a walk along the irritatingly narrow walkway. The breakfast in the hotel is fine, it's a buffet which is well stocked. The staff are friendly and helpful throughout the hotel. Over all it's a reasonably nice place but we'll not be back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We ended up at this hotel at the last minute and we booked under the "construction special" which was a great deal. We didn't find the noise annoying as it served as the alarm clock in the morning for us and we didn't spend much time in the room anyhow. Not much of a view but you could still see the ocean - besides its better outside the hotel. The pool area was amazing - highly recommend renting the cabanas for top shelf ocean view and service. Loved the Japengo happy hour and the entire staff was more than happy to patiently answer questions and go out of their way to ensure you have a great stay. Would book again when in Maui.

Room Tip: the construction special is a great value especially if you are not planning on staying in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ima_Cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Greetings Ima_Cruiser,

Thank you for being our guest at the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa. I am so happy to hear about the great deal you received for your vacation and all the wonderful amenities you enjoyed at the lovely resort we have in Maui! We cannot wait to welcome you back on your next vacation to Maui.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,031 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
22.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing