We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Resort,Exceptional Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jackson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort,Exceptional Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed at this gorgeous resort on our honeymoon and had such an incredible time. The resort staff was fantastic. We splurged on a suite with an ocean view and it was 100% worth it!The restaurants on site were some of the best places to dine on Kaanapali and the hospitality was top notch! The grounds, landscaping, and pool area were so beautiful. The activities concierge were so friendly and helpful and seemed truly delighted to help make our trip the best it could be. (Thank you Michelle, we had a blast!) We could go on and on about how great this resort is. When we return to Maui, we will absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ocean View is a must! Leave your lanai door open and listen to the waves all night. Amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDyers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa on your honeymoon. It is always nice to hear positive feedbacks from our guest and are grateful to know you liked very much the resort and most defiantly you will return again for its amazing location and excellent service and all the amenities that the hotel had to offer locally including the grounds, landscaping, and pool area. Your kind comments were forwarded to the Executive management team at the hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future in Maui.

Johny E.-A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,873
    1,690
    790
    355
    182
See reviews for
1,605
2,847
79
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

When you first drive up you may be underwhelmed, but it gets better, a lot better, once you get to the open-air lobby, the tropical gardens and the pools. This is the best pool playground in Ka’anapali, with lots of fun stuff for the kiddos. There were many first-class features in our oceanview room—a wonderful bed, high quality sheets & uphosltery, comfortable balcony chairs AND a table to set your drink on, large LCD TV screen—but then a couple of things were off, like a beat-up wooden magazine tray and a hint of stickiness when you walked barefoot on the carpet.

The location south of Black Rock puts you within walking distance of Whaler’s Village and restaurants at other hotels. If you don’t want to walk, you can ride the free Ka’anapali shuttle (stops at locations in Mid and South Kaanapali only).

Room Tip: Be aware that rooms classified as “obstructed view” face the construction site. Otherwise, even if...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Callejera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Just returned this evening from a 5 night stay with my girlfriend. Had a WONDERFUL time! Stayed in one of the deluxe oceanfront Regency Club rooms ("21st Floor"). The view was truly spectacular. It was well above the palm trees and had basically 180 degree view of beautiful beach and ocean scenery. Listening to the waves crash at night was truly delightful and relaxing.

We found all the staff to be incredibly helpful and friendly. I have seen some reviews of long waits, unfriendly staff, etc., and we just didn't find that in a single one of them. Particularly helpful was the valet staff. I have no idea how many times we got our car, but 5-6 times a day or more was pretty common. We never called in advance, and had our car in a matter of minutes every single time. They always welcomed us back (after they got to know us, of course), offered directions any time we left, offered to help with packages after shopping, luggage, etc. Yes, that is what valets are supposed to do, I guess, but I haven't encountered a friendly valet staff like this at any other hotel, and I have been to many, all over the world.

Also very helpful was Rita at the Expedia Concierge (thank you!!) and the entire staff up in the Regency Club Lounge. Very friendly, very helpful, and always welcoming.

Refreshing as well was that the pool was open 24/7. You never see that anymore...anywhere. Perhaps that's the norm in Maui, but everywhere else I've stayed in Hawaii, that was not the case. I guess it's somewhat difficult to close a pool that size, so maybe that's why they don't even try, but for us night owls, it was great to be able to head to the pool and hot tub for a late night swim, with literally nobody else around. It was very romantic.

I do have a complaint though, that quite frankly, just irritates me to no end. I'm not going to allow it to affect the 5 Star rating, but it is an issue that most certainly needs to be addressed. The drinks are horrendous!

I can see the quality of drinks suffering perhaps a little at the luau (Drums of the Pacific). It's an all-you-can drink, open bar affair, and truth be told, I could probably drink close to $100 worth of liquor during that 2 hour show. :P Bye bye profits. But seriously, the drinks were god awful. The mai tais tasted nothing like a mai tai I've ever had before. The vodka - lemonade was somewhat bearable, the blue Hawaiian was perhaps the best (though still awful), and the coup de grâce was the screwdriver. You can't mess up a screwdriver...you just can't. It's so simple, yet so yummy. Well they managed to screw it up. Just tasted horrendous. This all actually became a running joke with the other couples we were seated with, and eventually became a game...find the drink that somewhat tastes like what it's supposed to taste like. It's a game you just can't win there. Though on the plus side, I did have perhaps a bigger mixture of different drinks than I have in a long time, trying to find one that was palatable. One couple we were with visited the bar and noted that a single name brand liquor was nowhere to be seen. Water down the crap liquor and you get what we got for 2 hours.

But the bad drinks did not stop at the luau. Everywhere we went in the hotel, the drinks were awful. This was in basically every restaurant and bar located on the Hyatt property. Everything from screwdrivers, to mai tais, to margaritas, to fruity rum drinks just tasted awful. And they were expensive to boot! I realize we're in paradise and at a resort, but when I pay $14 for a margarita, I expect a large drink that actually tastes like a margarita, not a champagne-sized glass full of horrible-tasting liquor.

Now, go a block or two away to Whaler's Village...basically any restaurant there...and you get some amazing drinks, exactly as you would expect in a tropical paradise.

I hate to take half my review writing about something as inconsequential as alcohol, but it really did put a bad taste in our mouths, literally and figuratively speaking. :) Just a litlte something for the Hyatt folks to think about and work on.

We will absolutely be back! I found my new home for when I visit Maui.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with the Regency Club rooms. Yes they are expensive, but the views just can'...
See more room tips
Green Features: I could care less about environmentally-friendly practices, to be honest. I suppose it's good that they save water, save the whales, purchase only dolphin-free tuna, or whatever it is they do, but I would stay there even if they didn't. ;)
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa. Despite the quality of drinks offered at the Luau, it is always nice to hear positive feedbacks from our guest and are grateful to know you liked very much the resort and most defiantly you will return again for its amazing location and excellent service and all the amenities that the hotel had to offer locally including the grounds, landscaping, breakfast, pool area, and the Regency Club. Your kind comments were forwarded to the Executive management team at the hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future in Maui.

Johny E.-A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
223 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We read lots of reviews before we went on our trip. You will hear lots of talk about the construction and people being upset, but we never experienced any of that. We were in the Atrium tower with an ocean view and you couldn't have asked for anything better. There are so many shops at the resort and if you need water, snacks or other small items, the store in the hotel is priced the same as the ABC stores around town. We only ate on property for breakfast daily at Swan Court and once at the steakhouse and all were very good meals. Lots of wildlife to see and interact with as well. Sit in the nice breezy area with the Koi in the morning at enjoy your coffee. While eating breakfast, swans will sail right up to your table and you can see flamingos in the background. Great pool, friendly staff and a room with everything we needed. We went to the Luau as well. It was average entertainment and food, but was part of our group's events. Don't think we would have paid to do it on our own.

Great art store in the hotel as well. Has pieces by over 120 different artist's ranging from $10 to several thousand dollars. You can get just about anything here and it's all genuine Hawaii made.

Walk down to Whaler's Village for some of the best shopping on the Island as well as great food. It's only a 15 minute walk and so beautiful along the way. You will get bugged by all of the property's trying to sell you a time share, but just cruise on by them. There is also a trolly you can take from here to the bus station if you do not want to get a car.

We did rent a car and drive the Road To Hana. Very secenic drive, but it was a 12 hour day from start to finish with no lunch. Lots of waterfalls and overlooks to stop at, but don't expect anything when you get to Hana, it's about the ride there and not the destination.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ginnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa during your recent vacation. It is always nice to hear positive feedbacks from our guest and are grateful to know you liked very much the resort as well as the ocean view offered from your room. Also, it is nice to here that you had the best stay ever due to its amazing location, excellent service and all the amenities that the hotel had to offer locally including the grounds, landscaping, and pool area. Your kind comments were forwarded to the Executive management team at the hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future in Maui.

Johny E.-A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poplar Bluff, Missouri
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We loved Maui and the Hyatt made our stay wonderful. The view was great, the food was excellent and the luau could not be beat. Clean, friendly, only one minor problem, the ac was a little noisy.

The Hyatt is close to shopping, golf, or just walking on the beach. It was the final 3 days of a 3-island tour and we found it to be our favorite. Oahu was great for big city lovers, Kawai was great for rural lovers, but Maui has it all.

If I had to choose one island to visit, this would be it. And the Hyatt was a great place. The pools were excellent, the poolside restaurant was really good and the price was reasonable for Hawaii.

Room Tip: They have several different views...we had mountain/ocean with another tower between.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RatherBeCruising2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa during your recent vacation. It is always nice to hear positive feedbacks from our guest and are grateful to know you had a wonderful stay and you liked very much the resort as well as the ocean view offered from your room. Also, it is nice to here that you had the best stay ever due to its amazing location, excellent service and all the amenities that the hotel had to offer locally including the grounds, landscaping, and pool area. Your kind comments were forwarded to the Executive management team at the hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future in Maui.

Johny E.-A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Company trip for 3 nights and personal vacation for an additional 3 nights. Stayed in the deluxe ocean view room and was spacious for the two of us. Accommodations were as expected, room was clean and well appointed. We had an issue with our fridge staying cold and within an hour we had a another one delivered and set up. That was nice. Valet was exceptional and with an advanced call the car was always waiting with an attendant ready to give directions, if needed. Staff was all very friendly and always ready with a quick, Aloha and Mahalo.
We used Amie in the hotels Expedia center for advice, booking dinners and excursions. She was right on point and excellent to work with-even set up our rental car. See reviews for Lahaina Grill-Lahania, KO Restaurant- Wailea, Plantation House-Kapalua,
For company events-they seemed to do a really good job. Food was good-buffet style and room accommodations were on target.
Pool was crowed and sometimes difficult to find a spot, staff did seem to monitor hotel guests from non-hotel guests. Pool was nice, cool swim up bar under the waterfall. Good food-fish tacos and chicken salad were yummy.
Breakfast buffet from Swan Court was good and well appointed with a large variety of foods. Nice view for breakfast.
Store in the hotel was reasonably priced for basic items.
Hotel grounds were very well kept, lots of wildlife around. Took scuba dive from Jose at 5 Star Scuba through hotel. See review under 5 Star Scuba.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room no doubt, rooms on the south side and middle seemed to have the least outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PortlandTraveler1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just returned from Kaanapali, Maui and had the pleasure of staying at The Hyatt Regency. Everything about this hotel is breathtaking, the grounds, pools, ambiance and staff/service was phenomenal. However, I will say the room we stayed in, ocean front, was a bit anticlimactic. Don't get me wrong, the view is spectacular, you can hear the ocean/waves but the room was small and they don't have queen size beds, only doubles. Kind of disappointing being that it was quite expensive. But all in all, it is a fantastic hotel and if I ever get the chance again, I would definitely stay there again. Maybe, I'll go for the ocean view instead, save a couple of bucks.

Room Tip: The ocean front has fantastic views but I would choose ocean view next time for value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa during your recent vacation. It is always nice to hear positive feedbacks from our guest and are grateful to know you had a wonderful stay and you liked very much the resort as well as the ocean view offered from your room. Despite the bed type concern, also it is nice to here that you had the best stay ever due to its amazing location, excellent service and all the amenities that the hotel had to offer locally including the grounds, landscaping, and pool area. Your kind comments were forwarded to the Executive management team at the hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future in Maui.

Johny E.-A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
6.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
22.7 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
22.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia and TravelUp so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing