We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
La verne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a great hotel! It's beautiful with a great view of the ocean. They have an awesome workout a area and offer free classes! I loved their breakfast buffet, the pool area that has a basketball court and waterfall you can swim thru to go to the fun kid area, the penguins and birds!! I could go on forever. I loved staying here and would stay again and recommend it to everyone coming to maui!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alohagurlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,972
    1,740
    813
    367
    188
See reviews for
1,680
2,927
82
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Dakota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is there were a few "small" things overlooked - a light bulb that was out during our entire stay, loss of power for a few hours, etc. But the room was beautiful, nice closet and bathroom. Our partial ocean view was pretty obstructed, but we only sat on our lanai a couple times anyway. Otherwise we very much enjoyed our stay. I really enjoyed the workout facilities and tried a couple classes while there. We received free breakfast with our package which was a great value (otherwise it would have been over $50 for the two of us each morning). The breakfast was quite good but not worth $50+. Nice pool area with lots of chairs - we never had any issues getting a place to sit although the weather was a bit cloudy and rainy while there so that could have had an influence on that. If you are looking for a good beach, I would pass on the Hyatt and go somewhere else. Not far to the east the beaches become much bigger. Within walking distance to Whaler's Village for some shopping and a few restaurants. If you have mobility issues you might want to go elsewhere; it seemed there was quite a walk to everywhere, plus quite a few steps to get to the beach and pool area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoDakMom42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We loved our stay at the Hyatt Regency Maui. It was gorgeous and welcoming, making our 3 nights here absolutely wonderful. We continued our trip with 3 nights at the Andaz Maui, but actually liked the Hyatt Regency Maui better. We will choose to stay here again over the Andaz on our next trip!

PRO's:
- Beautiful grounds with trees, birds, penguins, etc.
- Fun pool complex with waterfalls and slides
- Very comfortable room and bathroom
- Warm and welcoming staff, especially in the club lounge
- Efficient and helpful valet staff
- Great breakfast, snacks and desserts in the club lounge
- Fantastically located in Lahaina, where there's lots to do

CON's:
- Rooms feel slightly dated
- Small beach in front of the hotel is not really swimmable

Room Tip: A club room is definitely worth it for the beautiful ocean view and access to the great club lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shinywings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had a very nice 5 night stay here in late May. We also stayed next door at the Marriott timeshare, and up the beach at the Kaanapali Beach Hotel. We have either stayed at or visited most of the properties on Kaanapali in the 10+ years we have been coming to Maui, and I believe the Hyatt is the overall nicest when you look at the whole package. We love our timeshare next door at the Marriott, but it does not have the same amenities or dining options as the Hyatt offers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AZJuliasDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The property is amazing. The pool is fantastic and the beach access is hard to beat. Even though we checked in and none of the the package amenities I book showed in the system, the manager, Amanda, was fantastic. It was a bummer to have to spend extra time working out the details of our package with Amanda (1 hour, tops), but our stay was amazing. The restaurants on property were great. We did the star gazing on the roof one night and were totally flabbergasted on the things we saw. We attended the Luau on property and my children (13 and 10) enjoyed that, as well. We are hoping to make it back soon. Hopefully next time it will be without the glitches.

Room Tip: We really didn't spend much time in the room so our partial ocean view was just fine. We stayed...
See more room tips
Green Features: Everyone was friendly from the front desk personnel to the young man who rented us an umbrella on the beach.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mesa, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was my 2nd trip to the Hyatt; the first being pre-construction of their Vacation Club property. Truth be told I was hesitant to come because of all the construction noise complaints but couldn't resist the offer extended by Hyatt to hear the timeshare presentation (which I was leary of as well) but I had ANOTHER fantastic stay! The pools are amazing. We stayed in the Lahaina tower and paid a little extra for an upgrade to ocean view. Room 769 was the best! Beautiful sunsets every night and located close to everything. Traveled again with my two children 5 and 8 and we all loved it. Food at Japengo is worth every penny. The drinks at Umalu are well served (happy hour too). The timeshare presentation was painless. We had top notch service every day. From our check-in to Owen our bell man. Every penny spent hear was worth it. Some changes I noted from my visit in 2012 is the Camp Hyatt location changed. We didn't like it's location near the pool desk (seemed to hidden away and dark) so we chose not to use their services, even though we would've liked to. Swan buffet breakfast no longer has an omelette bar and their selection seemed less than before -we went once and didn't return because we didn't think it was a good value. The concession store has a large selection of foods which I liked and the laundry room was large and airy. It might seem odd to comment on the laundry room but compared to the Hyatt in Kauai it was much better. We also had our pick of lounge chairs by the pool. We traveled 5/28-6/3 so that might have had something to do with the lack of crowds (after memorial day and before most schools let out). One pool day highlight was a sea turtle came right up to the shoreline on the property. Hyatt Maui - beautiful grounds, great spa, awesome restaurants, good shopping, pretty animals, awesome hospitality. The place is a feast for the eyes and all senses. A resort in the true sense of the word.

Room Tip: Ask for the Lahaina or tower next to it (in the middle of the resort). Construction is taking place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwinsville, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed four nights for our honeymoon after staying at the Grand Hyatt on Kauai. Quite a different experience at the Hyatt Regency compared to the Grand Hyatt. First, check in took quite a long time. It was a holiday weekend and it seemed that everyone was checking in at the same time. Despite our travel agent requesting that we not be located anywhere near the construction (a new building/time share is being built on the north end of the property) we arrived to find that we were booked exactly overlooking the construction and the parking lot. Not ideal for your honeymoon. We ended up paying a good deal extra to be upgraded. The part of the hotel where we roomed was outdated and small (80's) but the view was beautiful. The hallways were noisy but luckily we were in a corner room with a double door which helped. The bed in the room was odd. It was practically sitting on the ground! We are in relatively good shape and we still found it difficult to get out of. The line for breakfast felt like Disney World. We understand that it was a holiday week-end but we felt like cattle being shepherded down the staircase waiting to be seated. The view was beautiful, the food was delicious and the birds were abundant. Not enjoyable when you are afraid of birds. The beach is small and not swimmable. Very much a "Large Resort" feel to the place and not so much "Hawaii." Lastly, considering the price of a room being near $500 a night. Having to pay a $18 daily "self parking fee" with taxes added as well as the $30 Resort Fee there might be better options out there.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room away from the construction. Ask to see the electronic view of the room when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,938 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
22.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.7 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing