We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better this time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have stayed at this resort twice and the first time was great, until the last day. No hospitality rooms really make it difficult to do activities before your flight back to the mainland. The construction is almost done on the timeshare building, and we attended one of their presentations. It was not really worth the money, but the presenters were friendly and professional. The stay was nice and we definitely recommend the Swan Court for the breakfast buffet. The housekeeping staff were great and get an early start. We would leave our room every day by 7am, and sometimes return as early as 1p - each time our room had already been made up with fresh towels. It was nice to have them get an early start so we could be in our room during the afternoon hours. Since the construction is still going on, avoid a west facing room in the Napili tower, although you will get a discount and 2-for-1 buffet if you stay over there. On our last day we booked a massage and used the spa prior to our flight, so that worked out better for changing and preparing yourself for the flight back to the mainland. Overall, a great trip this time!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Casper H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMauiManager, Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for the great review Casper! I'm glad to read that you had a friendly experience with our Kaanapali Residence Club team, and a great stay. We hope to see you back in the future! Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,418 - 3,424 of 6,608 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here at our honeymoon in 2010 and came back now with our baby girl and the hotel was almost as good as we remembered it. Some updates were made of course but most things remained the same. The view of the grounds in the Atrium over the palm trees inside the hotel and the ocean is simply Amazing. We were worried about the Construction going on with the new time share building but it was not disturbing us. First we got a crappy room at the South Tower but we complained and managed to get an upgrade to the Atrium Tower with direct ocean views, stunning! The pool area is very nice but people leave towels and reserve chairs very early, annoying! We rented a private cabana facing the ocean a few times, the price is reasonable for half a day. The newest restaurant is Japengo, a fantastic Place with sushi and other food, fantastic sunset views and great staff. The food at Umalu by the pool is ok but not much more. The rooms are a bit dated but the hotel surroundings are great and there are lots of activities to take part in for free, like animal tours, gym classes and hula lessons. The luau Drums of the Pacific is a must, great food and alcohol and an Amazing show. Whalers village is a great shopping center about 15-20 minutes by foot and there are nice restaurants there, you can also take a free trolley to and from the hotel. Wifi is free throughout the hotel area. There's also a convenience store and a Macy's at the hotel so you can easily spend all your time here at the resort. The beach in front of the hotel is small but the sunsets here are simply fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sannis82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon. We had a room on the top floor overlooking the ocean and got to enjoy the regency club as part of the stay. This helped defray some of the food costs combined with the breakfast buffet. The hotel didn't do any kind of upgrade for the honeymoon but the service was great. The grounds are beautiful and you are right on kaanapali beach and a 10 min drive to Lahaina. The resort restaurants are good but overpriced. There are a lot of families there as other reviewers said but this wasn't really an issue for us

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roseyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hotel is beautiful, grounds are exquisite, beach is very small, but they can't do anything about that. All the animals are a bonus. Luau was very good as well as the food. Rooms are a little dated, but overall a great stay.

Room Tip: room away from construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyrossdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here in may 2014 for 4 nights. The resort has beautiful views, and the pool is amazing.
Only thing is you are quite far from the main part of maui so if you dont have a car you have to eat their. We found the restaurant downstairs was ok food but very overpriced. And The cocktails are about 12 15 each, at the pool. When we arrived we were told we had paid our resort fees already through travel agent, then at check out they charged us?!
We apparently got "upgraded" from an ocean view room to one overlooking a golf course?! I would rather our original room, but because of our arrival at 3pm i dont think it was ready.
Still waiting on the money they hold on our credit card to be returned 4 weeks later.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank EmandstuartfromNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We moved to the Hyatt in Maui after coming from Las Vegas so the peace and quiet of Maui and this hotel was a welcome to us. We were celebrating our honeymoon so had planned to stay here for 7 nights for lots of R&R.
The hotel is in a great spot & right on the beach and the views are pretty impressive. We were advised before booking of the building work next door to the Hyatt however the description suggested it was much smaller scale works then they actually are. They are in fact building an entirely new residential block so there was a huge crane on site - a little bit of an eye sore. However in their defence we weren't disturbed by any of the works & nothing could be heard from the pool area and we weren't overlooking anything so no harm done.
We paid for a ocean view king room as we wanted the guarantee of a good room for our honeymoon. We weren't upgraded on check in however the hotel is popular with honeymooners and other couples we met did seem to get upgraded to the same ocean view room we had paid for so if your willing to risk it you may be lucky to get an upgrade.
We had free breakfast for our stay which was good as there isn't loads of choice around for places to eat. The resort itself has three restaurants but one is very casual food and swans court is quite pricey and opposite end of very formal. There's another 3 in the nearby walkable town of whalers village but we would highly recommend getting the $2 bus to the next town where the outlet shops are for more great restaurants and more bar options - it's a lot cheaper too (average cocktail is $14 in the resort compared to $7!) if your looking for places to hand out in late evening this probably isn't the hotel for you as all but one bar closes at 10am so choice is reduced very quickly and like I said prices at this bar are quite high. Don't get me wrong though the cocktails are lush!
The hotels appearance is wonderful & they obviously pride themselves in providing a great environment for guests. The plants are all thoroughly groomed daily and the pool area is very impressive. They have resident birds on site too with many parrots and penguins which are very cool. You must visit Niko the grey African parrot - he is a proper dude and in the right mood will play & dance for you! We loved him :)
The only reason we can't award 5 stars is because of the amount of children at this resort. They obviously attract lots of families and honeymooners alike and at times the amount of young children about was overwhelming. There is no kids club so they do take over the pool area so if your a couple looking for adult time I would l think again before booking this resort but if that doesn't bother you then go for it as everything else was super!

Room Tip: Highest room possible with ocean view - you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank conker89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMauiManager, Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your thorough review! We definitely cater to a variety of guests from Honeymooners and families alike - I hope that your overall stay with Hyatt was a memorable one - and we hope to see you back again in the future! Congratulations on your recent nuptials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I loved this hotel and spa. location was great, right on the beach, pool was great, restaurants in location especially Japengo was fantastic. attractions desk was helpful on point with everythig and booked me with everything i needed. thank you

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flor j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, A Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your experience from your Hyatt Regency Maui stay. I am absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your time with us, and that you found our associates to be helpful. It is fabulous that you had the opportunity to try out some of the many different recreational activities in Lahaina, and on the island; and that we had some part in making your experience special. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our location’s proximity to the beach, as well as our pool area. I must agree with you that Japengo is fantastic, and we are very lucky to have such wonderful dishes easily accessible to our guests. Thank you for being our guest, and for your kind word. I hope we can welcome you back to the Hyatt Regency Maui again soon.

Allie H. –A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,212 reviews
23.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
22.4 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £238 - £615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Splitty, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing