We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice resort in Lahaina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Andover, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice resort in Lahaina”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a nice resort in Lahaina (compared to some others). We booked this vacation through AAA and had no problems. Definitely rent a car on the island of Maui so you can get around on your own. Go to the Old Lahaina Luau located in Lahaina. The luau at this resort is okay, but you sit on plastic chairs. The shops at the resort are fun to look through. The breakfast buffet was not included in our AAA rate and way too pricey to eat there every morning. We mainly used the pool and outdoor cabanas (rent separately). We went shopping in Lahaina and drove all around the island. Try the Sky-Line Eco Adventures zip lines - we went to the one by Mt. Haleakala (fantastic). There's also a Lavender farm close by. Eat lunch at Mama's Fish House in Paia (very expensive but the south seas flavor and ambiance is priceless).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pianokam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,972
    1,740
    813
    367
    188
See reviews for
1,680
2,927
82
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dallas, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We booked 3 "obstructed view" rooms. 1 week prior to arrival, after having read all of the reviews about construction, I called to request that all 3 rooms be near each other and away from construction and was told "no problem." Upon arrival we were told that "obstructed view" meant "construction view" no matter what. There were no other rooms available to us unless we wanted to pay $100 per room, per night. Very very disappointing. And then, after traversing the long hallway past all of the sales people asking us to go on tours to view the new construction, we arrived at our dark, dank, dated musty rooms with beat up furniture, musty smells, and non-functioning freezer/fridge. And right next to us is ongoing construction 7-7. This is no more than a 2 star experience at a 4 star price. We'll never be back and may never stay in a Hyatt again. Both the marriott and Wyndham looked much better and not so dated. Plus don't forget you will pay a $30 resort fee, plus parking of $16-20, both per day per room for the privilege of using the grounds, 2 bottles of water, coffee maker, and a paper. This does not include the use of a chair on the beach, which costs extra. Like I said, very, very disappointing. Be prepared to pay too much for not that nice on Maui.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank tbwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMauiManager, Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to talk about your obstructed view room stay. On all online platforms - we have our obstructed view rooms listed as a room that "overlooks and within close proximity to an active construction site. Construction work, which includes noise, is limited to the hours of 7:00 AM – 6:00 PM." We apologize if you were given incorrect information about the room view! We would be interested to hear about whom you booked through and whom you might have spoke to in regards to an upgraded room so that we can correct any misleading information for future guests. Please feel free to DM me with your booking information! Mahalo for your help
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I was here on my honeymoon with my wife for a week. 2 days into our stay here my wife noticed a mouse running around the room while we were having dinner. I immediately called the lobby and had them change our room. I do not expect this of a high end chain of hotels where I paid so much.

Secondly there is alot of construction noise early in the morning and late into the evening.

Lastly there is a lack of security, I had my D&G sunglasses stolen from the hot tub (I suspect by outsiders lounging at the hot tub), whilst I stepped out for a couple of minutes. When I have stayed at comparable hotels it is strictly enforced that guests are wearing wristbands to ensure no outsiders are on the premises.

Overall a bad experience and would not recommend anyone reading this to stay here

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Gurpreet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMauiManager, Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Congratulations on your recent nuptials, Gurpreet. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. The ongoing construction noise next door is an ongoing project affecting our obstructed view rooms from 7am-6pm but are excited to announce that this is just a few months shy of completion. We apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused ! We hope you made wonderful memories on the Island of Maui and hope to see you back on property in the future. Mahalo~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We recently returned from a 4 night stay here which wasn't long enough! The hotel is in a great location with beautiful gardens and large resort style pools. We booked a "resort view" room through My Hawaii. On arrival we were told that we had been upgraded to a "mountain view" room. Our room was lovely and modern but quite a hike from the pool area and shops/lobby. Our view was ok, more so of the roof below us with mountains in the distance. (You could get a glimpse of the ocean if you sat on the very small balcony!!) Would prefer to pay extra for a pool or ocean view next time. Whilst we didn't spend much time in the room, it was quite isolated from the main action in the resort! In saying that we were not disrupted by the construction going on at all. We found the service very good and staff friendly. The pool area was great with comfortable sun lounges although it was hard to find some shade. Umbrellas would be a welcome addition!The beach here was nice and quiet and suited us. Loved the hotel's close proximity to Whalers Village and only a short drive to Lahaina. There are both resort and parking fees here. The outdoor parking really should be free or at least included in the $30 per day resort fee. I have stayed in Maui twice before, at both Kaanapali and Kahana, but in apartments which didn't charge a resort fee! Overall a beautiful hotel if you have the money to splurge!

Room Tip: Would definitely suggest upgrading to pool or ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank socoldACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I started our Honeymoon in Maui, we stayed at the resort for 8 days and had the most amazing experience. A bottle champagne was waiting for us in our room and we had the most beautiful view over looking the pools and beach. The food and view at breakfast from the swan room each morning was the perfect way to start each day! Maui was absolutely stunning!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lydjov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
I am so happy to hear that you had such an amazing experience at our resort. It sounds like from the moment you arrived you found the resort to be beautifully appointed and the service to be top notch. It is great to hear that you found your view from your room to be amazing. Thank you for choosing to spend you honeymoon at our resort. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa in the future!

Brock S - A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hyatt Maui Review:

My family has always loved Hyatt hotels, to start. Hyatt is our favorite hotel/resort chain to stay at because they are just fantastic. With our 16 year old son we shoved off to Maui after spending most of our previous visits at the Hyatt Kauai.
Pros:
The Hyatt Maui is in a fantastic setting. The island of Maui had changed much since we visited back in the early 2000s. At that time the Kaanapali region had not been developed, but our family did our due diligence and research. The Hyatt Maui is at a slight disadvantage in terms of location. It is located at the end of the Kaanapali beach resort “complex” which is basically just a stretch of resorts that line Kaanapali beach. It’s a great area that is something you can’t find on the island of Kauai or the Big Island, the new other islands we had frequented before this one. The resort itself does do good with its poor location. Being located at the end of the beachfront gives the Hyatt the worst beach of all the resorts on Kaanapali. It isn’t bad, and compared to our Socal beaches it is far from bad, but to see some true cool beach go down a walkway and you can see the best beachfront. I’d say in front of the Westin or Sheraton near the blackrock is the best (I’ve heard near the Sheraton is the best area for snorkeling, but since my family isn’t a snorkeling family I can’t confirm this).
The lobby of the Hyatt is amazing and the view you see when you walk in spectacular and the waters of Maui are beyond anything on the islands. The weather is always sunny and dry, unlike the weather on Kauai, which is known to be slightly rainy all year round or the weather of the Big Island, which has the famous volcanic fog (“vog”). So, again, the island of Maui is amazing. Lahaina is a short 15 minute drive and is an amazing beach town unlike any other. The Road to Hana is spectacular, with amazing views and little towns. Wailea has the better beach and the more luxurious resorts. We visited the beach just to swim and it is truly an amazing destination as well. The activities around the resort are great. I’d say compared to the Hyatt Kauai, it definitely has the leg-up in terms of activities. For a resort on Maui, its location is great as well.
The pools at the Hyatt Maui set it apart from the other Kaanapali resorts. Besides the Westin, the Hyatt Maui’s property is definetly the greatest. It is classic Hyatt, with amazing grounds and restaurants. Of course the pools, the main pool, waterfalls, and the second pool as well as the kids pool are all amazing additions. It can’t beat the Hyatt Kauai’s pool complex, but in terms of Maui it is more than anything you can ask for. I would add that the views from the rooms are amazing and it is easier to get an ocean view here than I’ve seen at other Hawaiian properties.
The food is great. The Swan Court was our personal favorite, as well as the poolside food (which expensive, but the service is fantastic). The property is beautiful inside, with an amazing selection of shops as well.

Cons:
There are a few reasons to not consider the Hyatt Maui. For starters its location is poor on Kaanapali. For Hyatt people like my family that isn’t terrible, a short walk and you have the better beachfront, and even so, the beach by the far side of the hotel is fine by us, but if you want amazing beachfront, then this place isn’t the best.
The pools get awfully crowded. And, while the pools are large and ample for swimming, the chairs fill up quick. I thought this was a stupid complaint when researching this resort before we went away, it’s true. The chairs fill up quickly and there is little shade. So it is no chairs, and the chairs you get are really sunny. Not bad, but if you want shade, it is difficult.
Restaurants can fill up quickly. Make a reservation just in case.
I would also rent a car. This isn’t really a con, but just for peace of mind, rent one to get from edge of the island to the other. This is self-explanatory in Hawaii, but even if you plan to just chill in the hotel your entire stay, have some precaution.

All in all, our vacation was great. You can’t go wrong staying at a place at this caliber. The expenses can add up here, but I’d say this was a great vacation and a great resort. Always great to patronize Hyatt brands, and hope I helped any of you make a great decision!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building were fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Shelby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife and I are finishing up our last night stay here for our honeymoon. We made sure on numerous occasions to let the hotel know that we are staying here for our special honeymoon occasion, however they completely failed to acknowledge it. The grounds on the hotel are very pretty, but there is definitely room for improvement. Our hotel room is very small, very nice ocean view though. The bathroom is a tiny, military style bathroom, with a standard shower that practically touches the toilet. The blanket on the bed (which is covered on top and bottom by two sheets) had a large blood stain on it from prior guests - how disgusting, we noticed it when the top sheet moved off the blanket, we informed them and they did change the sheets. The hotel definitely has way too many children at the pool, and does not cater to honeymooners at all. The hotel did not at all acknowledge that we are here on our honeymoon, not a single rose on the bed, bottle of champagne, complimentary dessert, nothing. All in all, we were not happy and will not be returning to this hotel, especially for the price that we paid. They nickel and dime you with resort and parking fees, the service is not good, and they lack attention to detail.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jmaim0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMauiManager, Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Aloha - and thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies for what looks like was a complete oversight on a chance to make this stay more memorable for you! Honeymooners that stay with us receive a lei greeting, keepsake amenity, coupon for 2 maitais or 2 glasses of sparkling wine and an invitation to our culinary demonstration to cheers and celebrate with other newly weds such as yourself. We take great care into recognizing and celebrating our newlyweds/anniversary couples - so I am disappointed to read your review and would love to have the chance to look into your stay to find what opportunities we missed out on. If you have a moment to DM me, I would be grateful for the chance to hear more about your overall stay. I hope your overall Maui visit was a great one - Mahalo for bringing this to our attention!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,938 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
22.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.7 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing