We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great belated honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 August 2014

As an owner of of a travel agency, I find myself giddy every time business or leisure gives me the opportunity to be in Maui. For my belated honeymoon, my husband and I stayed at the Hyatt and it was incredible service from check in to check out.

The valet service was prompt and very friendly. They directed us to the lobby and asked us if we had any other questions as we waited to check in. What a great 'service surprise!'

Checking in, we had the option to upgrade and wait for our room to be ready(we checked in a 4 hours before regular check in time of 3pm) or to have a mountain view room that was immediately available. We opted, of course, to wait for the deluxe ocean view room on the club level to be ready. They offered to text me when our room was ready, guided us to where we could pick up pool towels, stored our luggage and pointed us to where we could enjoy a blue hawaiian drink. Very attentive, very helpful and drove the spirit of 'aloha' home!

Our room was ready within 1 hour of checking in, our luggage delivered within 5 minutes of entering our room, switched into our swimsuits and off to explore the property we went!

Grotto bar was fabulous and I love how the children's pool area is separate from the main pool. The beach was fantastic and not heavily populated at all. It directly faces Lana'i and the sunsets are incredible and feel so private on the beach.

The room was beautiful, faced the beach on the top floor; so intoxicating! modern look with little specks of Hawaii throughout. Very comfortable and though smaller than we're used to, it was enough room to enjoy and not feel cramped.

So much to love about this property, especially once the non intrusive construction is done!

We are planning our return next spring already! Thanks Hyatt for the memories, service and spirit of 'aloha!'

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, A Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2015

Dear Scott B,

Happy belated honeymoon! It is so wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay in Maui. I am so happy to hear you decided to upgrade your room and were able to experience a wonderful ocean view. I appreciate the kind the words you have about the hotel. We are so excited to see you are planning a return visit. Thank you for choosing Hyatt!

Sincerely,
Kaycee D, A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,531 - 3,537 of 6,816 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

I highly recommend the Hyatt Regency Maui. I had a fabulous stay. Great staff - friendly and helpful. So much to do at the resort - heaps of activities the resort puts on such as Body Pump, beach boot camp, Zumba, lei making and much more! There are markets at the resort every Friday too. Several eateries from the more expensive to the less, plenty of options to suit. There is a nightly luau - you could give that a miss though, if you enjoy being herded like cattle through a buffet then it's for you. Overall excellent, plenty to do both at the resort and close by. A cab from the airport is approx $85.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tinky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for recommending the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa. I was glad to see that you had a great stay and enjoyed our staff, food options, and activities to do around the property.

-John S, Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is the 3rd consecutive year that we have stayed at the hotel, and once again found it very enjoyable. Everyone, regardless of their position, was very friendly and responsive.

On check-in, without asking, the front desk manager upgraded our room from a partial ocean to a full ocean view, and it was well worth it. Yes, the bathrooms could use a bit of tub/shower fixture care & updating, but this in no way dampened our overall satisfaction with our room.

The hotel spa is modest but very nice, with steam & dry saunas and a nice sized hot pool with jets in both the mens' & womens' areas. It is very clean and not crowded. The massages were excellent.

The workout area is well equipped with weight & aerobic equipment.

The only drawback with this stay was the changes to the Swan Court breakfast buffet. In the past, whether staying here or elsewhere on Kaanapali (over 20 years), we always looked forward to it. Well, with this visit, the quality has definitely dropped! I got the sense that other guests (and the staff) had the same opinion. Now it feels like management has decided to go in the direction of "crowd food". Eliminated are individually made omelets, eggs or waffles by a dedicated buffet chef. Instead, what passes for an omelet is a large pan concoction which appears to be very unappetizing. Pancakes seem to be available only on alternating days, the french toast slices were tiny, and I don't recall any waffles on the buffet at all.

The coffee was very bitter every day, as if it was brewed in containers that had not been thoroughly cleaned in some time. Bananas were never on the fruit table; if you want one, it will cost you extra!

Although the setting is great, at $25 per person the meal is no longer worth it. For the same price, you'll be much happier taking a short walk or drive to have breakfast elsewhere. Our breakfast was included with our room and we still chose to go out, which we would never have done in the past!

I hope management reconsiders the changes that were made to the quality of the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank enso-circle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2015

Good Morning aperfectmoment,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent travels to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. I am so happy to hear you had a great vacation with us and thank you so much for your loyalty and return to our location. Thrilled our management was able to upgrade your room to a full ocean view and you found the room very accommodating. I am very sorry to hear about the quality of breakfast you had at Swan Court. I have forwarded your concerns and suggestions to our executive management team for review and to resolve immediately. We definitely want to ensure this does not happen in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Mahalo,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Free welcome drinks and free breakfast buffet came as a surprise. The room is big, clean and comfortable, but has no view (although we didn't pay for one). The resort is very close to the beach but having a car is essential as it is far from everything else.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank peebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2015

Dear peebaby,

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. It is wonderful how our location to the beach was convenient for you. Hope you will be able to return soon!

Sincerely,
Kaycee D. A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had been to this property in 1994 and had good memories. When we decided to stop in Hawaii on the way back from Japan, it seemed like a reasonable choice (with Hyatt Diamond status and a suite upgrade). Anyhow, we made reservations more than 6 weeks in advance of the trip and boy, were we disappointed!

So lets start with a description of the property. The hotel was built in the 80's. I believe the primary reception area, some of the interior corridors and the suites have been renovated. The bulk of the rooms have not. As we saw ~11 rooms in the quest for something suitable, I think I can comment on the state of the rooms. The re-done suites are consistent with modern expectations but are extraordinarily small. I would suggest you save your suite upgrades for some other property. The one suite that was available had a parking lot view and was directly above the nightly Luau (read LOTS of noise). So we requested an alternative.

ALL the rooms we were shown were badly dated. Bathrooms the like of which I have not seen - well since the 80's - tiny spaces with a cramped tub and toilet with an open to the room sink. Depressing! The balconies are tiny and we requested that the table and chairs that were covered in bird poop be cleaned but they never were. The room is OK - tired Thomasville with dinged up furniture - nothing that most would find a relaxing environment.
The central building is built around an atrium. The corridors are poorly maintained (I regularly saw trash on the floor/ corners and they were not mopped well) and have dated wall paint and railings - unfortunate.
The worst really was the Regency club. I have never seen such a cramped space. It has a poor location in the hotel, and serves sub-standard breakfasts.
The hotel offers NO 'nice touches' - things like iced towels on the beach, accessories in the bathroom (just ear buds would be nice), minibars are empty, no beach services . . .. I could go on.
So what could possibly redeem this hotel? My 10 year old son enjoyed the multiple pools with slide and grotto. The area is too crowded for my taste and I cannot handle coupons for towels and other things that remind me of Schlitterbahn or something but it suited him.
The shopping area has a number of good stores and a Macy's with a rather impressive collection of swimwear. The beach at sunset was nice (as long as you walk away from Lahiana and ignore the jumbotron playing a kid's movie for kids camp).
This is not a relaxing beach destination. It is more suitable for large families with kids looking for a lot of activities. People who are ok with a lot of noise and not too particular about the state of the rooms.

Room Tip: There is construction on the north side of the property (you will drive through this to get to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 37Frequenttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMauiManager, Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for your response and review. We're glad that you decided to stay with us having had a wonderful previous stay... and are disappointed to hear that you did not equally enjoy it the second time. Over the last few years we have made some renovations to our room while trying not to compromise the authentic Hawaiian feel that guests look forward to - which might have given you a false impression that we have not made any changes in quite sometime.
We have passed your comments on dinged furniture, clean balconies and trash in corridors to our housekeeping team so that we can make sure that we improve those areas for our future guests!
We are excited to announce that the construction of Timeshare next door to our hotel will be completed by January 2015 - and so the obstructed views overlooking this will no longer exist at that time. We hope that we have the chance to be able to serve you in the future - and thank you again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We just returned from a week's stay at the Maui Hyatt Regency. We have stayed at two other Kaanapali resorts in the past but this was out best experience yet.

Like all Kaanapali resorts this one is showing its age a little, but is still everything you expect of a Hyatt. There are some minor annoyances, starting with the parking fee. Like all the resorts you pay a $30.00 dollar per day for a "resort fee" that gets you internet, a couple of bottles of water, access to the fitness center etc. However, unlike the other resorts the Hyatt charges a dailiy parking fee of $16.00 for self parking. So, count on an extra $50,00 per day over the quoted price. It would just go down a little easier if they simply included this in the cost of the room at the beginning. It is not really an issue, but if you are not aware of it could cause some heartburn.
We booked an ocean front room. The main reason being they are substantially bigger then a standard room. We were NOT disappointed. The room was almost 100 sq ft bigger than the last room we stayed in. Our room was in the Napalli Towers on the ground floor (Rm 132 to be exact). We loved the location. True, the ocean view was somewhat interrupted by the trees and bushes, but as a trade off our lanai had essentially a private yard. We spent a lot of time enjoying the view and the privacy. By the way we never even noticed the construction ongoing next door.

The room was comfortable, the daily maid service dependable. The lobby was beautiful and the staff helpful. We have no complaints about our stay.

The Swan Court breakfast buffet was really good, although at $25,00 per person more than we were willing to pay each day, We just do not eat that much breakfast. The lobby coffee bar offers a cheaper alternative if all you want is coffee and pastry. However the view in the Swan Court is worth the cost at least once. We frankly mostly ate breakfast on our lanai using the provided in room coffee and supplies bought at a local grocery.

Sonz restaurant is good, and again the view make it worthwhile.

Bottom line is we had zero surprises whihc is what you hope for.

Room Tip: Choose an Oceanfront if possible just because they are larger than the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BertL249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel two weeks ago for a family vacation with my husband, 13 year old son and 9 year old daughter. The hotel had everything we needed to have tons of fun. Beautiful property, close enough to walk to Whaler's Village and Black Rock Beach. Pool provides a variety of options...slide, grotto bar, large swimming area, basketball, children's area. Of course the food is super expensive as with most nice hotels. My kids know that room service isn't available to them due to the huge service charge. We ended up purchasing a good amount of food at the convenience store (Accents) in the lobby. I also enjoyed browsing through the Macy's. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SanDiegoMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,335 reviews
23.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
22.7 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
22.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £265 - £596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing