We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
newport beach, ca
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good, comfortable stay”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Good resort at excellent location. The staff overall are very friendly and helpful but service was a bit spotty (i.e. burned out lights never changed, some days replaced tea/coffee and other days did not, etc.) We did have an issue with our room but they gave us options to either move rooms or take a credit.
It is worth staying here if you get a good deal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poggy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2015
Greetings poggy2002,

Thank you for writing a review on your past vacation at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa. I am so happy you found our resort to be a great experience and location for your travels. We really appreciate you choosing Hyatt and look forward to welcoming you back to Maui. We will be thanking and recognizing our staff for the amazing customer service they provide. Thanks again for your feedback!

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,094
    1,808
    851
    385
    195
See reviews for
1,800
3,013
87
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This place has a lot of work to do. During our stay in April, they were still in the middle of construction (new building) so perhaps this made our trip a bit unpleasant. It does have great access to the beach however. Not enough positives overall to lure me back. I will try another hotel next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nekiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The Hyatt regency is not a cheap hotel. We booked a partial ocean view room. The only way you see the ocean is from the tiny balcony. The bathroom is pokey with a shower over a tiny bath with a horrible plastic curtain. The room comes with a coffee machine but they only provide paper cups. All in all a huge disappointment.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMauiManager, Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Aloha Bernard! Thank you for your review of our partial ocean view room. Please note we offer a variety of room views from our hotel - and have found two that might be of better interest for your future stay: Ocean View - which is a full ocean view from the balcony, and our our Ocean Front room - which offers unobstructed views of our ocean from the room. We hope to have the chance to better serve you in the future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We just spent 4 nights here despite concerns about time share construction adjacent to the building. Although the construction is an eyesore as you drive up to the hotel, we were assigned rooms in the tower farthest away from the construction. During our stay there was no noticeable noise at all and all the facilities operated normally. The only hiccup that happened was that the front desk assigned one of our rooms to another family during our stay. They actually opened our unit while I was in there and immediately realized it was already occupied. Other than that, the views are spectacular, the facilities are clean and the service is excellent. Free snokeling lessons, fitness classes, a nice fitness center, and beautiful grounds, including African penguins, Australian ducks and flamingos make this hotel family friendly for a wide range of ages. No problem getting seats by the pool. The path along the beach leads directly to Whaler's Village which is great for walkers/runners. Breakfast buffet was included in our room package and great for us because we have teenage boys. Lunch was only offered by Umalu - good solid food, but after a few days, we went off property for variety. Japengo's is the best restaurant on property with beautiful sunset views, although expensive. Son'z is overrated - although service and view were excellent, food was exceptionally pricey and we felt there were other places less expensive that were better.

Room Tip: Inquire about rooms farthest away from construction to be safe, unless you want to be in the main bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay at the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. I'm so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our beautiful property. I'm happy that you enjoyed the variety of food options we offer. I am disappointed to learn about the experience with another guest walking in on you. I will certainly forward all your feedback to our management team. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Becky S-Guest Relations Associate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel is one of the most beautfiul I have ever been too! The staff were beyond phenomenal, they had tropical birds everywhere and even many local works of art showcasing the Polynesian Culture! The gardens were amazing, the pools were huge and I loved how close it was to the ocean. The gym was also one of the best I have ever seen in a hotel! The breakfast buffet at the Swan Court was also some of the best food we had! We would go back here in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay at the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. I'm so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our amazing property. I'm so happy to hear the experience you had with our wonderful staff. They are truly instrumental in our hotel's success. I will certainly forward your feedback to our management team. We would love to have you back and hope you have the opportunity to return soon.

Becky S-Guest Relations Associate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This resort is large and gorgeous from all aspects. The lobby is open air but breezy, the restaurants are all nice but pricey, the ocean view rooms are incredible, the beach shack for renting snorkel gear is nice but that staff was sub-par. The pools are spectacular with slides/waterfalls/swimup bar and lots of room! It's beachside of course, so makes for good surfing/boogie boarding for older kids and amateurs.I would highly recommend the Hyatt. Our ocean front suite was gorgeous. But the absolute greatest asset to this hotel, and there are many, is the staff. From checking in to checking out everyone except the activity hut kids working there, was above and beyond helpful. Especially the ladies in the regency club. These ladies were the most friendly customer service oriented staff I have ever encountered. Even our maid was super friendly and went above and beyond to make us comfortable.

Room Tip: Ocean front is highly recommended
See more room tips
Green Features: Don't even think about nor do I consider this when I travel.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clermontcane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review. It's great to hear that the staff of the hotel made you feel very welcome and that you enjoyed all that the hotel has to offer! We would love to have you come back and visit us again as soon as possible!

Thanks,

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We spent one night at the Hyatt because of a wedding, and I went in prepared to dislike the place. The lush, non-native, Disney-esque environment of this and the other huge hotels in the area seems so unnecessary (penguins -- really?)-- almost like they've created resorts for people who don't actually want to experience the place they're in. That said, the staff was friendly and helpful, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom amenities were lovely. We did not take advantage of any of the other offerings at the resort (gym, pools, yoga, stargazing, and so forth), so I can't comment on those. The restaurants are expensive. One other issue: there are sales desks everywhere to push the Hyatt time-shares.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction site next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElandTi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMauiManager, Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! Our resort opened in 1980 as the original "fantasy resort" - with the idea to have guests as excited to visit our hotel as much as the destination Maui itself. This meant exotic wildlife (from great places and properly loved/cared for), lush greenery and free-form pools (have you seen the pre-1980 postage stamp pools?). Over our renovations through the years, we kept the goal of holding true to that idea to accommodate guests of all types from honeymooners to families at all times of the year. We sincerely hoped that you enjoyed you time with us, and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
22.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
1.3 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing