We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 January 2009

Imagine you're walking down a perfect beach. The sea's kissing your feet. It's a warm sunny morning and it's your first day there. You're about to find a small path to a wonderful paradise...The Hyatt Regency.

We arrive at this place late morning walking from our hotel (see other review). We sit down and order drinks, and more drinks. Talk about last night's experience and say to ourselves : "This is where we want to stay." The girls leave us and come back a few minutes later : "We're staying here". The had negociated everything.

They picked us up at our other hotel, greeted us with flowers, provided the nicest friendly service available, a great room with a great view of the ocean, and everything else. We spent the next eight days in paradise.

We will never forget the Hyatt.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Karl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,751 - 5,757 of 6,648 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2009

This is a beautiful resort. Setting is absolutely awesome. Most gorgeous lobby I have ever seen. Staff was terrific. Our booking agent failed to properly book our trip, but the assistant manager at the Hyatt went out of her way to make up for the travel agency's mistakes. The pools were wonderful and, although we were there over Thanksgiving, the water never seemed too crowded (although it was difficult to find a chair by the pool, at times.) The pools wind their way through various formations and waterfalls. There is a very long slide that is not terribly steep and accomodates adults, as well as children. There is a beach area in front of the spa, although the water isn't that clear. However, that is true of the entire beachfront strip in this area of Maui. On the downside, the rooms are very small, although decently appointed. Food is overpriced and we had two bad experiences at the Umalu Restaurant: At lunch, our waiter disappeared after taking our order. The hostess was not at all helpful. Another waitperson saw us sitting there forever and eventually grabbed our food for us, which was, by then, ice cold. We decided to return for dinner to give the restaurant a second chance. It was a Thanksgiving buffet and the turkey consisted of a pan of dark meat remnants. It was the most unappetizing Thanksgiving display I have ever seen--and costly. Overall, a good experience at this hotel, but don't expect much from the rooms and avoid Umalu's--unless efforts have been made the improve the service there. Shopping arcade on ground floor was terrific.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MandB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2009

The grounds are awesome and the lobby is quite impressive. All of the employees are gracious and kind too! We booked a deluxe ocean view room and specified no smoking. That was critical as I'm allergic to smoke.
Our room was a typical room, nothing deluxe about it. Our view was of the kids pool and all the noise that comes with a kids pool. Our room was non smoking but our neighbors balcony was not. They chain smoked next door and pretty much ruined our use of the balcony. Being a platinum member I was hoping for an "upgrade" to a room with a view that I paid for (the ocean) but no luck.
I think for us, flying over 10 hours from the midwest to get here, then having the hotel give us a smoking kiddy pool view room for the "deluxe ocean view" price will prevent us from returning.
Another issue was the pool area. People were hogging all the lounge chairs the staff does nothing about it. Sort of like being on a cheap cruise with limited seating.
The parking is different since it is one of the very few things that aren't charged for but if the lot is full (as is usually the case) you have to valet for $20/night. If you beg the valet will remove the charge but it's a hassle.
One thing to do for sure is the roof top star gazing, awesome views and great insight From Bob.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank scooterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

We didn't stay at the Hyatt this year due to friends offering their condo up at the Kannapali Royal condos but we did make a point to come back to the Tennis facility several times again to take lessons from Frank Salvador, their Pro, and to enjoy the courts for tennis play.

Frank provides a fun and educational experience with all of the first class touches like ice cold wash cloths and fresh orange juice to keep you hydrated and cool and he gears his lessons to fit your level of play. We’ll keep coming back to see Frank on every trip to Maui!

We also dined several times at the HR Resort and we continue to be impressed with their delicious menu, beautiful setting and friendly service.
.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SVDanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

Tennis

If you are a tennis enthusiast you should try out the Tennis facility located at the Hyatt on Kaanapali Beach. The facility is exceptional with everything you will need to fully enjoy yourself. Tennis shoes and rackets are provided if you didn't bring your own. The facility and the mountain view as a backdrop is something that you won't find in too many places. You don't need to be a guest to use this facility and the prices are very reasonable ($30 for a 1 hour clinic).

The Tennis pro (Frank Salvador) was excellent. Frank provides daily clinics focusing on a different aspect of the game each day. You will feel comfortable no matter your level. You can also get private lessons with Frank (highly recommended) or Frank can help you get set up with other players equal to your skill level. I highly recommend attending this facility you won't be disappointed.

Ed Furilla

______________

Stayed: January 2009
Thank furilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2009

We stayed at the Hyatt for 7 days for our honeymoon October 5-12, 2008 and we thought it was wonderful for what we paid. The open air lobby has parrots, penguins, and cranes which was a surprise. We received an upgraded ocean view with a bottle of champagne because it was our honeymoon which was an added benefit. The pool was amazing, although, you have to get out there early to claim a chair close to the pool and the attendants will take your towels if you leave them there more than an hour. The kids pool was fun even for adults with their waterslide. The rooms are updated and very "Hawaiian" and the bed was especially comfortable. The restaurants there are slightly over-rated but convienent. The breakfast buffet at the Swan Court is expensive but you have a great view (especially romantic at night) and there are a lot of choices. One downside is that there are a ton of birds flying around for scraps because it's also open air. The food for dinner is limited but I would suggest any fish dish on their menu. If you come for your honeymoon, this is the location for the "honeymooners reception." My husband and I were told that this is where we enjoy free cocktails and hor deurves. The truth is that they hand you one glass of wine or champagne and then you are seated with other honeymooners to enjoy 3 pieces of items featured on their menu. It's not open bar and it's not enough to equate to an appetizer--so skip it. The best part of the hotel is it's location. There's a sidewalk that will take you past all the other resorts and to the area's shopping center.
The hotel was worth what we paid, $1500 for the week but when we go back to Maui, we are going to stay in Wailea. It's a lot less touristy but a lot more expensive.
Tips:
Buy a A3h gold card for $30. I got the tip from frommer's--the 1st of every month, they sell excursion tickets for 50% off! We both snorkeled for $90, we both biked for half $45, so it cost $30 but saved us $150.
Recommendations:
Stay in Wailea, play a round of golf at Kapalua-(twilight rates are about $100 cheaper) and have dinner at the Pineapple Grill, watch the sunrise and bike down Haleakala, skip the Molokini Crater (there aren't that many things to see underwater, rent a car and only drive about half of the road to Hana, there's nothing there when you get there and it will make you car sick.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank clee82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2009

We stayed in this hotel for over a week with our 3 young children and although the kids' pool was great, the hotel rooms were awful and not what you would expect for a Hyatt. Grant it, I was expecting it to be a step down from where we usually stay (The Grand Wailea) but I didn't anticipate it to be so far below in quality and service. Our bathroom smelled like a sewer - it was so awful we had to keep the door closed at all times. The tub/toilet area was very cramped, which made it very difficult to bathe the kids. And the sink area was very dark. The carpet was gross (I hated to let my baby crawl around on it) and the pull-out couch was disgusting. The rooms were old and felt dirty and tired.

The grounds were okay; it was fun to have wildlife there (penguins, flamingoes, and cranes). But the beach there is basically non-existant. It is difficult to access (esp. with kids) b/c the property is elevated above the beach and so you have to jump down/off a small cliff. And once down on the very small beach, the water is murky and full of seaweed and lava rocks. No fun. We had to walk down several hotels in order to get in the water. The pools were fun - the adult water slide is very fun and the kids' pool is designed in such a way that the kids can play independently. That was good.

But overall, I find Kaanapali to be way inferior to the Wailea area. It is so much more commercial and crowded. I was surprised with all the noise - from the airtraffic to the boat traffic to all the tourists walking the beach path (who, by the way, fail to move aside for joggers, etc...). I will never stay on this side of the island again. The only reason we left Grand Wailea was b/c the closed the pools for construction.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank letstravel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,228 reviews
23.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
22.4 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
1.8 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £243 - £640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing