We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful but pricey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful but pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

This was a beautiful hotel. beautiful lobby area with penguins, birds, ponds, gardens. just wonderful. The resort fees are very expensive especially if you do not fully use all the amenities. but the room I was in, terrace view in the atrium was beautiful. I could see the gardens, the ocean and the mountains. service was good but not outstanding. beach was clean, pool area very nice. turn down service is a must at least one night of your stay. Also a must do is the guided tour of the stars. Our astronomer was very interesting and stated things in easily understood ways without making us feel like children...she was very good. nice scope and presentation. I wanted this hotel based solely on this option and it was worth it...if you like this you may want to try Haleakala at night..go for sunset and stay for stars excellent!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Magghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,873
    1,690
    790
    355
    182
See reviews for
1,605
2,847
79
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2009

I can't say enough about the views, the service, the room. Everything about our stay was wonderful . The hotel is in the beach and it has a great beach walk/ running trail. The food is expensive , but there is a place called the whalers village right next door to the hotel (on the trail) that has more reasonably priced food. I highly reccomend taking the gemini whale watching tour. You can save 10 percent if you book online. The service at this hotel is great everyone is so friendly. Hawaii is a great place to visit, or better yet live.

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank Kdekime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Islip, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2009

we had a great time at the hyatt. the hotel had two large pools that were joined by a swim-up bar that was located in a cave. the staff was very accomodating and the rooms were very clean and comfortable.
we saw a luau at our hotel which was amazing, very entertaining. couples from other hotels came to this luau because they heard it was the best. do not miss it.
Shopping and nightlife was located 10 min car ride away in Lahaina. we went there for dinner almost every night.
fyi, the locals that we met when we were in waikiki said they vacation at this hyatt in maui quite frequently. we now know why.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chrisandmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2009

We've stayed at the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort on every trip to Hawaii, and it has always been a wonderful visit. The grounds are incredibly beautiful, with lush landscaping and colorful birds everywhere. The pool is amazing, with waterfalls and a swim-up bar. This place really makes you feel like you're in paradise. The staff is extremely friendly and welcoming. The rooms are nice and clean, and the views from the ocean front rooms are fantastic. There are many shops in the resort, which is very convenient. There's also nightly entertainment, and an excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank coolcat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2009

We were there for a week with for a company vacation from a supplier. The trip over and back was long but 5000 miles is not done at the snap of a finger. The rooms were clean and the staff was helpful from the maid service to the bartenders. The worst I can say is "I ATE TOO MUCH!" The prices for the bar and at Umulu were higher than the value received, but the better restaurants had a nicer atmosphere and quality of food.
I guess the one bad thing was the shower walls were dirty and soap scum was on them, but I just kept my hands off the walls and forget to mention it to the desk.
We went to Pearl Harbor for the tour and I recommend doing a tour rather than flying over and getting a rental car on your own. The traffic in Honolulu is bad and if you don'y know where you are going- Forget it. Arizona and Missouri were awesome and very sobering.
Did whale watchin out of Lahaina, Slip 11 charter, and recommend them, cost under $40 each. Saw LOTS of whales, I do highly recommend seeing them, they are awesome also.
Did Ruth Chris Steakhouse inj Lahaina and the food was GREAT.
Others in party went to Molokini to snorkel and they were happy.and took helicopter over Hana and crater.
I probably won't return to Hawaii as once is enough and I saw what I wanted to.
Take the Trolly, FREE, to Whaler's Village and get on local bus, $1.00, to other destinations if you have time. It is fun to mingle with the locals and see what you don't see at the tourist traps.
ABC stores are best for cheap souveniors which will end up in someone's yard sale next year anyway.
Excpect to pay high dollar everywhere as everything has to be shipped or flown in.
And YES, the bars need to stay open longer at the property.
Now, go have a great vaca!

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Prices
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IowaBigBobDavenport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

We have stayed at the Maui Hyatt many times and have always been impressed by its beauty and amenities. The past two years we have had especially great trips thanks to the tennis pro, Frank Salvador, who has become a favorite with our twins age 5. He has a great teaching style and is wonderful with kids! He has instilled an interest in the game that they still talk about at home. Wre can't wait for our next trip.

  • Liked — Water park
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Racquetmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Le Willows
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2009

Maui was the second stop on our honeymoon after leaving Los Angeles. We had wanted to make our honeymoon the most amazing experience of our lives and I can say, 5 months on, that I want to go back tomorrow. The hotel was fantastic, the staff are friendly and cant do enough for you. The food at the resturants was first class, a bit pricey, but worth it. We used the free trolley bus to take us to the bus stop where we got the Maui Bus into Lahaina. This bus was the best value for money we had, clean and punctual. We loved the hotel. Our room was a terrace room, looked out onto the Luau and to the mountains. In the morning we were awoken by the sun coming over the mountains. Perfect start to our married life, in one of the most perfect locations. The pool was cool and after braving the waterfall we were in the cave having our cocktails. We then strolled down the beach to the surf lessions. Unfortunately we couldnt go out on a boat ride due to the sea conditions but settled on the ocean centre instead! Road to Hana was great, however, a bit hairy, its called divorce road!.

Loved it and if i could afford to go back tomorrow i would.

Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank SuzyandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
6.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
22.7 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
22.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing