We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Place - See Monica First”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 April 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 8 nights for our 10th anniversary and it more than met our expectations. Be sure to visit with Monica at the concierge desk before making any plans. She was extremely helpful in bringing us up to speed on things to do all around the island, making reservations, and all with a great sense of humor and fun.

The breakfast buffet is the best I've seen in a long time, but is a little pricey - ours was included with the room. Speaking of t he room, it was clean. Housekeeping was , up to date, and had a wonderful view of the ocean. Housekeeping was there early and often.

This is a beach resort, so if you are used to European vacations, this is a real change of pace. If you are looking for a place to relax, watch dancing whales from the beach, you can't do better.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Santino49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,400 - 5,406 of 6,519 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2010

I was a little disappointed with our stay at the Hyatt. The rooms are in dire need of renovation. In saying that, they were clean and comfortable and the soft furnishings have been replaced. We had a flat screen tv and a very comfortable bed. It is just an older decor style and looks very worn and tired. It is a very busy hotel with most people spending the day lined up on sun lounges in rows around the pool and on the grass. If you are looking for a quiet romantic holiday then this is not the place for you! We swam with turtles at the beach in front of the hotel which was pretty amazing. The hotel is only about a 5 minute drive from Lahaina. The mahi mahi at Lahaina Fish Company was great. I would not recommend Cheesburger in Paradise.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monkeywhistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

My husband and I had the misfortune of staying at this "family resort" during the tsunami of 2010. During this time the Hawaiian Islands worked very well together to evac and inform the people of what was going on and potential threats. Not this Hotel. They chose to wait. This hotel had NO posted evacuation plan for ANY disaster. And as the news repeatedly stated to look in the phone book for evac shelters the rooms had no phone books because the hotel wanted you to eat at their local and not order out. Even when asked to see a local phone book at the front desk I was denied. I was told The Plan would be announced after the air raid siren was blown...total chaos would surely ensue. So my husband and I chose to leave for higher ground due to we were on the ground level and had a beach front room. We came to find out the guests stayed were locked in their rooms and given very minimal comforts for food and beverages.(doughnuts for b-fast and 1/2 sand for lunch) Upon returning we were greeted with contempt and hostility. We were told to leave. We demanded they let us back in the room. When they did finally they locked us in too. We had no room service for 36 hrs. During the stay we did concluded the pools were beautiful and everything in the hotel was completely overpriced and over rated. If you can choose a different hotel please do! The Kaanapali Beach Hotel is very family friendly and half the price. Has much better beach access and better management. I do recommend that you take your children and yourself to visit the Hyatt because the lobby is beautiful and the birds and fish are fantastic. The breakfast buffet is wonderful if not a bit over priced. I must however state the staff, other than the upper level managment ,were very friendly and informative.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We got a terrific deal using an online bidding service and got a reasonable price for a terrific resort. So we expected a nice hotel with a nice pool in a nice location, but not much else. However, we were in for a pleasant surprise. As soon as we got there, we got lei's and complimentary water. Such terrific check-in service, we truly didn't expect to get treated so nicely. Especially since generally if you pay for a bargain room at a great hotel you're stuck in a broom closet. This was not the case here. Our room was conveniently located right in the lobby building, and was clean, spacious, with a large flat screen tv and offered views of the golf course. A few footsteps away were the pool, shopping center and restaurants.
Right on the ocean and the beautiful strip of beach, small as it may be, was nice to get some sand under your feet. But the truth is the resort itself was so great, you didn't have to leave for anything, as a matter of fact, the pool was so much fun- we spent 1 of our 3 days enjoying it.
Meals are expensive if you stay at the resort. But a short 5 minute drive away is Front St. a local Safeway, the Cannery Mall and a couple of restaurants. Because we had only 3 days, and we did both the Road to Hana and the drive to the Haleakala crater- which killed 2 days, we only got to enjoy the resort for one day. It was very nice to have a day to do so, because pool fun aside, the birds on the grounds were such a pleasure to watch. From swans to penguins, we were certainly entertained! We'd definitely stay here again! And it was almost sad to leave our hotel for our driving adventures, but it was nice to know you were coming back to a beautiful place!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Macjewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

I recently stayed 3 nights at the Hyatt with my boyfriend who has "Diamond" status with Hyatt as he travels frequently for work. (Points were used to "pay" for the stay and we had access to the club floor and free breakfast). We were given a partial ocean view with which overlooked the golf course. I had read reviews about the hotel needing updating, especially with the carpet, but didnt find such issues. Our first morning we decided to go to the buffet breakfast due to the great reviews. The line was long but we were seated in about 20 minutes. We were also able to get in for a couples massage at the Moana spa with only 30 minutes notice. They seemed to have a lot of availability despite some of the reviews. The spa was beautiful and the massage good (although probably not worth the almost $400 we spent for both of us). It was also a short scenic walk along the ocean to Whalers Village where we had lunch and shopped. The pool chairs did fill up quickly but we were able to get chairs on the grass overlooking the ocean which was probably a lot more relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laura3606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Frank Salvador and his staff ran excellent drills each weekday, with great tips for players of all levels. Frank also gave my daughter some private lessons, which she enjoyed and were well worth the money. Frank also arranged hitting partners for my daughter (a high-level junior player). All in all the tennis program was the icing on the cake for our family while on Kaanapali.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethrgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Prior to arriving, we were expecting a nice experience at the Hyatt. As people who tend to be drawn to "off the beaten path places," we had no idea that we would end up enjoying it as much as we did.

Most noteworthy...

ROOM - Upgrading to the Ocean View room is worth it. We were blown away by our view of the ocean. Initially, we were apprehensive because we thought the room would be noisy (overlooking the pool, etc.). As it turned out, it was completely peaceful all the way around.

SERVICE - The people at the hotel could not be any nicer. They were extremely friendly and attentive. We found ourselves commenting (often!) about how friendly - incredibly friendly - everyone was.

GROUNDS - A short walk to visit nearby hotels will immediately clue you in that you've picked the best hotel in the area. The grounds are lush and varied. Speaking of the area... Like we did, you probably hear a lot about how over-crowded this stretch (Kaanapali) is. Again, we're not ones for crowds, but the area is truly beautiful and we didn't find it to be overly crowded. Don't let the location sway your decision.

FITNESS - The fitness center is reasonably extensive, newer and large enough to accommodate the size of the hotel. You can run on the treadmill and look out onto the ocean. Very cool.

MISC. - Self-park is free, Internet can be purchased in your room via T-Mobile. Breakfast lines got a little overbearing but moved quickly.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TandemWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,162 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £237 - £581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing