We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic location!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Our family visited KBH over Christmas and stayed in the Molokai wing with ocean front views. I had read reviews of the hotel, so thought I knew what to expect. Even so - I was initially very disappointed with our room. It was small (we had a 3 adult room), the shower/toilet area was tiny and the hotel block just looked tired and needs refurbishment. I do agree with other reviewers that free Wi-Fi and parking should be available to guests.We only had Christmas lunch at the KBH and it was OK. On the positive side - the location is excellent and there is so much to do on Maui, that really you spend very little time in your hotel room. We did not use the pool, as my family prefers swimming at the beach. We swam with turtles at Black Rock and enjoyed lovely meals at various venues along the Kaanapali walk. Generally staff at KBH are very friendly and welcoming - we loved being serenaded with carols on Christmas morning!

Room Tip: Choose ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aquablue21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,970
    1,350
    442
    197
    122
See reviews for
1,047
2,065
94
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (971)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Csprings
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Most things at this hotel are perfect, and yes, very Hawaiian, but once a few things are updated this hotel would be amazing. The location is perfect, the staff is professional and even over the holidays the place did not seem busy but the bedspreads need to be updated to the new industry standard, the restaurant should be more than a tent and the sort of luau should be scrapped for just plain simple live music. I still give 5 stars overall. One last thing, look out for the tiny parking spots in the parking garage and the pillars.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pdkbhunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nesconset, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had stayed at the Hilton Hawaiian Village Hotel in Waikki on Oahu before going to Maui and staying at the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel. The Hilton was beautiful and modern, but crowded at the pool and didn't feel like Hawaii should have felt like. It could have been Puerto Rico, or LA, or Jamaica, or any other resort. When we went to Ka'anapali Beach Resort we walked through the lobby to the outside and all we heard was the surf, birds and Hawaiian music, played by Hawaiians. The hotel was only run by Hawaiians. The restaurant had wonderful food and service and was reasonable. It all had a comfortable and relaxing feel to it. When we left they sang songs to us and gave us kakuenut lays. Oh, and even though it wasn't a fancy high tech hotel, it was clean and lovely. I would go back to the Ka'anapali Beach Resort Hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk up to your room, (older building doesn't have elevator), ask for n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mariann55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Many years ago, we visited Maui and stayed in Kihei. We came up to Ka'anapli for a visit and thought, wouldn't it be great if we could stay up here one day? Eight years later, we came back to Maui and we stayed at the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel. We were a party of 7, staying in three rooms on the 6th floor of the Kuaui building. Two of the rooms had connecting doors which made it fun for our daughter to come and go to visit with one set of grandparents.

So the PROS:
- Our rooms included the breakfast buffet. The food changed very little each day, but it was still good and we all ate A LOT.
- Beach access. It's a very short walk to the beach and if you're up early enough, you can rent cabanas, lounge chairs or umbrellas. You need to be lined up at the rental place between 7:30 and 7:45 to rent an umbrella. Beach Towels are free for hotel guests. the KBH's stretch of the beach is much better and cleaner than the one in front of the Sheraton hotel next door.
- If you swim out far enough and have snorkeling gear, you can see fishes. Some people told us they saw turtles out by the rocks over on the Sheraton hotel side.
- They do rent out snorkeling gear and boogie boards but it's expensive.
- The hotel is old but it's clean and the people there are friendly. Restaurant staff were amazingly friendly and helpful to us.
- Short walk to Whalers Village for restaurants and shopping.
- They had a non-denominational Christmas Eve service out on the lawn which was very nice.
- They have programs for kids throughout the week, although we didn't attend any, it's nice to know they are kid friendly.

CONS:
- No free wifi. And if you do pay for it, it's only available by the pool and lobby. Understandable as it's a large 4-5 building complex, but still, most hotels nowadays have in room wifi.
- There is an in-room safe, but if you use it, they charge you $1.50+tax for each day it's used. If the cleaning staff notices that the key is gone from the safe, it means you're using it, which means they'll charge you. We were not told this and so it was a surprise when I saw the bill, even though it wasn't a lot. There is a safe down by the front desk that is free of charge.
- There is an activities desk that can help you book activities. We used it to book our snorkeling trip.
- There is a pool but our daughter told us that the pool was colder than the ocean so we spent our swimming time in the ocean instead.
- The shower. Some people have posted that their tubs didn't drain properly. My parents and inlaws said the same, that their tubs drained slowly. We found out that it's because when you turn on the faucet and then pull the tab to turn on the shower, only half of the water goes to the shower head and then rest still come out of the faucet, flooding the drain. To get the shower working properly, pull on the shower tab FIRST, then turn on the water. Then all the water will go to the shower head.

Advice:
- The hotel is close to Whalers Village, but beware - shopping in Whalers Village is expensive. Do your price checking on the internet before you buy stuff there. I was a victim of an overpriced handbag.
- For snorkeling gear or boogie boards, you have cheaper options than to rent from the kiosk at the beach: Go to Lahaina and you can rent the stuff for cheaper. Or, go to an ABC store (in Whalers Village or in Lahaina) and you can buy a styrofoam cheap version of a boogie board for less than $15.
- You might be tempted to buy your own beach umbrella. It's worth it to rent the ones from the beach kiosk as they are sturdier and the people who rent them out actually put them up more safely. I have seen many "home bought" umbrellas get turned inside out by the Maui winds.

Personally, I would stay here again for the convenience of the beach. It's right outside the hotel so you don't have to drive to get there and if you anything from your hotel room, it's just steps away. I don't think we'd come here during Christmas again though because it's just too busy.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views if you have a partial Ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nsyvenky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I revisited the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel over the 2013 Christmas holiday and had a great time. It is still the most Hawaiian Hotel in the islands. The people are extremely friendly and there are cultural activities going on all the time in addition to nightly live music and hula near the pool bar. They really make you feel like a member of the family instead of just a customer. The room I had this time was in the Maui wing - a partial ocean view that also looked out over the pool and lawn. The view was wonderful and you could hear the nightly music from the room. Even over the holidays, the rates were reasonable and much cheaper than the larger chains on the beach - I liked the savings and the atmosphere of the smaller hotel more than the fancy pools at the other hotels so I am glad I stayed at the KBH. The location is perfect and you can walk to any hotel on the beach as well as the Whaler's Village shopping center. I will be back.

Room Tip: The Maui wing is partial ocean view at the third floor and above and you can view the live music / h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My girlfriend and I just completed a 1-week stay at the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel and I can say that we will stay there again next time we're in Maui. We love beaches, we spend much of our holiday on the beach and the section of Ka'anapali Beach that is directly behind this hotel is beautiful. Walk out the lobby, make your way past the hotel Tiki Bar and swimming pool and you're on one of the top Maui beaches. Soft, clean sand and warm, clear water within minutes of your room!

Some more positives about this hotel:

Whalers Village (shopping & excellent restaurants) is just a 5 minute walk away.
Black Rock (snorkelling) is a 5 minute walk the opposite way.
Downtown Lahaina (Front St) is a 5-10 minute drive.
Easy driving access to golf, shops & restaurants in Honokawai, Kahana, Napili & Kapalua
Easy 45 minute drive from OGG airport.
No resorts fees & only $10 parking fee per night.
Clean and quiet rooms.
Soft, comfortable bed and large washroom.
Clean, well groomed grounds.
Computer & printer station in lobby for departure flight check-in and confirmation.

I don't have much negative to say, but if I had to nitpick:

Wifi is not free and limited to certain areas of the property.
Daily breakfast buffet was part of our package and I must admit that it was average at best. That's subjective though and some groups seemed to enjoy it.
Beach towels are provided but were unavailable on a few occasions.

Those negatives are not enough to keep us from coming back. We walked along the beach in both directions and saw that many of the resorts were newer and many had much more luxurious appeal. However, we feel they lacked a certain "warmth" that the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel exudes. We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank VanCityChamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We have been home a week now from our stay at Kaanapali Beach Hotel. I read other reviews before we left so I knew what to expect. Other reviewers are accurate in their comments.I would like to provide a most honest review here. Making a choice in where to stay simply boils down to this: What are you looking for in a room? If you are looking for a stay where you will not be spending much time in your room, this could be the place for you. A well rounded vacation to me equates to being able to enjoy outside surroundings and your home away from home. If you have the family with you just know that the accommodations provide no privacy. The rooms are clean but dated and downright unappealing in the bathroom and shower area. Keeping it real here. We did have issues with noises in the wall coming from the shower area and after notifying management they were speedy to resolve this issue. Aloha spirit filters from Management right down to Housekeeping. Again, I ask, is this what you are looking for: Speedy resolution to room problems or a stay at a hotel where none of this is an issue?
Restaurant: what makes the restaurant is the entertainment from 6-9pm, food is okay but expensive and service is slow. Tiki bar is awesome but know last call is at 10pm. No Hot Tub. The issue of no WiFi may not be a problem for the many folks who come here year and year but for us who are not retired and leave behind family & pets it is a HUGE problem. We need to communicate with responsibilities back home. Don't be fooled by thinking you can connect out by the bar and/or pool. We enjoyed the hotel's location, beach access, walks to Whaler's Village, the hotel staff, the clean grounds, the entertainment & the Aloha spirit.

Room Tip: Worth it to have Ocean Front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kathi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.5 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,034 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Property: Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1987
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing