We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The hotel could use some updates and improvements but it is clean, has friendly service, and is a good value. We had a pool view room and could actually sit on our patio and see some of the beach also. The house keeping staff was always friendly and do a good job. The breakfast buffet came with our reservation and the food was good. You could also order off the menu. The pool area and tiki bar are nice and there was always plenty of lounge chairs. If you are looking for the Ritz this isn't the hotel for you. But it has a Hawaiian charm and the price was right. Its in a great location, near Whaler's Village. The room had a small refrigerator so we could keep snacks and drinks handy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenKreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,831 - 1,837 of 4,234 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

We have ALWAYS stayed here on our many, many trips to Maui. Staff is fantastic. Doesn't feel like a hotel, set back from the beach, with many areas to just chill/lounge. Free Hawaiian craft instruction during the week. Easy access to shopping areas. Free Hula show at night.

Room Tip: Make sure you tell them if it is a birthday or anniversary trip, they will upgrade you free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debi650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Are there nicer hotels on Maui? yes. Are there any with a better location? no. The hotel is dated for sure but it is clean and the staff is mostly nice. Only had a small issue at the breakfast buffet when a couple of the servers did not seem to care about my experience. But overall they were great! The place is of course right on the beach and has all the amenities you would expect. We had an ocean view that would have been over $800 per night at the Westin (couple of doors down). Still not as cheap as a Super 8 motel on the side of the road in Clarksville, TN but a great deal cheaper (less expensive) than the others on the beach. We watched whales from our Lanai, where we also had a great view OF Lanai. We basically slept and showered in the room. Otherwise we were out doing stuff on the beach or in the water. No need to spend a fortune. The rich folks get all the nice stuff already. Some of us regular folks like nice places too. Who would not love paradise on earth.

Room Tip: We were on 2nd floor so we could stay off the elevator and also overlooked the great Pacific Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BDAD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

13th time to Hawaii, 11th time to Maui. Worst hotel ever. Chose this one to save money to spend more on shopping - not actually cheaper. The wifi is a joke, no one could get it to work. The employee's all know it does not work. But you can purchase dial up in your room @ $10/day! Everything is a-la-carte so you end up spending a lot. The tiki hut poolside restaurant is NOT cheaper than eating at Leilani's (fantastic) or even the Sheraton.

Also, cockroaches. The hotel, unsurprised, told us they are the AK-47 kind..

I was also unaware that I was being charged for each day I used the lock-key in-room safe.

No elevator either. I'm 20 and it was hard on my body to haul my luggage up to my room. If you are older please make sure you stay on the first floor.

No room service, no fitness center. Ka'anapali beach is great. Just not this hotel.

Room Tip: Pick one on ground floor b/c no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lindsay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This hotel is truly my home away from home! This is my fifth visit to to the islands and I have stayed at this hotel every visit. The rooms are comfortable, the courtyard is beautiful, the distance to the beach is almost non-existent and the staff is second to none! From the bell desk to the check in process to the concierge I could not have a more pleasant experience. My kids ages 6 and 9 loved all of the Hawaiian activities provided and taught by the hotel. They participated in Lei making both flowers and ti leaves, hula lessons, ukele lessons, a cultural garden walk, as well as others. This hotel really is a great value and hidden treasure on Kaanapali Beach. The staff really does make you feel like one of their Ohana!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

this was our 3rd time to Maui,2nd to this resort.It has been established here that this resort is old and maybe a bit tired,but we feel it still has it,s charms.It is the last remaining older style hotel in the most desirable area of all of kaanapali,(next to black rock),and as such offers a value destination to a area that is littered with cement 5 stars.I think that its days maybe numbered as there will be increasing pressure from the big name resort chains for this valuable property.If that happens,it will push out travelers who really cannot afford to pay the big chain price,
It amazes me that people don,t do there homework before spending there hard earned money using sites like trip advisor before they go instead of using it after they go to complain about a resort that is clearly described to them in detail.This is advertised as a 3 star,not a 5,so don,t expect it to be like a Sheridan or Weston,there,s a reason that it costs less!
We had a room in the Maui wing which afforded us a excellent view of the gardens,pool area and a 120 degree view of the ocean.
When we where there,there was a couple celebrating there 26th visit to the k.b.h.!
Don,t overlook the tiki terrace restaurant,we wasted 2 nights waiting to get a meal @ whalers village (the average wait time to get into any of the restaurants there is nearly one hour,including the grills).We waited 3 hours for a meal that was served cold to us at the maui fish and pasta and 2 hours for a meal that was served to us raw @ the sugar house/sugar shack!
The tiki bar is always a fun place to relax after a day @ the beach.
The k.b.h. represents excellent value in a prime location with the absolute best beach in kannapali.
Get it while you can,it may not be there forever!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunbuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had confirmed reservation for a pool side, King bed room. When we got to the room, on the third floor of a building that does not have a elevator it had two full sized beds. I went back to the front desk where two other guests were complaining about the same problem. Desk staff explained that they hotel only guarantees a room in the same "class" as the reservation, but does not guarantee the type of bedding! WELL THEN, what's the point of specifying the type of bed in the first place! It took well over an hour to get this straightened out. The overall look of the lobby and the lodging building we were in is stuck in the 1970's. We were immediately turned off by the hallway carpeting in the building we were in - it was very worn and stained. We learned the second day it was being replaced and talked to one of the carpet installers who said it was 12 years old! We were there for 5 nights and only one floor of a three floor building was completed. This was JUST the hallways- not the rooms. The rooms were in a little better condition, but again VERY dated. Old school tube tv, barely adequate lighting, very old shower stall, etc. OH, did I mention there is an in-room security safe- BUT they charge you $1.50 PER DAY if you want to use it! Speaking of per-day charges, don't overlook the fact there is a $10 per day self parking charge, or $12 per day for valet. If you show up by car there really isn't an alternative except to pay at least the $10 PER DAY charge. No free Wi-fi- UNACCEPTABLE, and I'm not sure Wi-fi is available in all the rooms at all. I know it was available in the common areas, but we did not purchase access. We ate at the on-site restaurant the first night. Didn't bother going back. There was absolutely nothing to entice us to go back. My brother ordered the fresh ahi, and specified it to be EXTREMELY RARE. The waiter even said "you mean like still flipping?" We all laughed at that, but stopped laughing when it arrived very well done- not a bit of rareness at all. It was returned. Any alcoholic drinks must be ordered from a completely different waitstaff from the Tiki-bar and drinks are billed separately. Trying to get someone from the Tiki-bar to order a drink from was a challenge. Every day during daylight hours the lobby is filled with vendors selling 'trinkets'. This gets pretty old pretty quick. I really don't want to fight my way through a lobby crowded with vendors and customers on a daily basis especially since we have no interest in what they are selling. If you want to shop go to one of the local marketplaces! We vacation in the Hawaiian Islands frequently. We won't be going back here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
1.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,617 reviews
21.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,145 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1987
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £148 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing