We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We spent only one night here, thank goodness. The room was overpriced and desperately needs updating. The mattress offered very little support and the air conditioner failed to cool properly and kicked on and off it seemed like every five minutes. The breakfast buffet was crowded and food mediocre.
The pool is small but the grounds are nice.
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank californiaheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,119)
There are newer reviews for Kaanapali Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,710 - 1,716 of 4,122 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

My family (consisting of 2 adults and two young children under 4) stayed here late February and enjoyed ourselves but recognise there are many things this hotel can improve on.

PROS
- Fantastic location -in front of a beautiful beach (head down to the front of the Sheraton called Black Rock to swim and snorkel with turtles!) and a few minutes walk to Whalers Village.
- Some great staff, especially Khoo Ui on the Service Desk (both my sons loved her and she embodied the aloha spirit).
- Value for money - one of the cheaper hotels.
- Children's passport program - a kids club isn't offered but they do offer a program that children can participate in. My older son loved this as he loved receiving stamps and gifts and learning Hawaiian words.

CONS
- The crowd - this hotel is full of senior citizens which didn't suit a young lively family.
- The room is dated and you can hear everything from the room next to you. We were in a connecting room and could hear the phone ringing and conversations from next door.
- Some poor staff and silly decisions - the Tiki Grill was closed on one particular day from 11.30am-1.30pm. This would have been fine if the other restaurant served lunch but it didn't and wouldn't serve food despite the Tiki Grill being closed during the lunch period. There was no food available on the premises which forced us to walk to Whalers Village, not fun with hungry children. When we spoke to the manager we were shocked by his unresponsive attitude. He looked away several times when we were explaining our problem hoping that by not looking at us we would just go away. He didn't know how to assist us and the apology for the inconvenience was made through gritted teeth.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dem11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This hotel is a favorite of ours. Its a bit dated but very welcoming and relaxing. The hotel staff has always been so helpful and very kind. We've stayed there several times over the past few years and it just never disappoints. The hotel grounds are always so beautifully maintained and its very relaxing just lounging on the lounge chairs and reading. The Tiki Bar is fun and our favorite bar tender is Dale. He is a fun guy and always seems to know just what you like!! The location of the hotel is just about as good as it gets, too! If you are looking for a trendy place to stay, this is not your place. If you just want to relax with a very 'old school' Hawaiian vibe...this is your place!

Room Tip: We love the ocean front rooms!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Having just returned from 10 days in Hawaii, for my Birthday,I have to say our stay in Maui in this wonderful hotel has left us with memories we will never forget. There is nothing about this place that we didn't like,. Loved the very friendly staff who always greeted us with a big warm smile, promptly followed by an "Aloha" . Our room (on the Maui floor) was just amazing, we had partial views of the sea, but was high enough to see the sunset and capture some amazing images on our camera. Our room looked onto the wonderful green gardens which were immaculate, you could sunbath , rest & relax anywhere you choose as there are plenty of sun loungers provided dotted all over the garden/pool & beach side areas.In the evening, you could sit on your balcony and listen to the waves with Hawaiian music playing in the background ! We loved the history of the place...50 years old and has an amazingly strong Hawaiian culture running through it, this was felt from first entering the hotel on our first day.We didn't have the breakfast package as we had booked tours which left early in the morning, they did however offer to make something up for us, but it wasn't necessary as both our tours included breakfast & lunch. You are so close to everything and can do as much or as little as you choose. Whalers Village is only a short walk away with some lovely shops and restaurants with wonderful atmosphere. Truly a holiday to remember, we have plans to return to this wonderful place with our family.

Room Tip: Our room on the Maui floor was perfect..you have the best of both worlds, a partial sea view that st...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is the forth time we have stayed at Kaanapali Beach hotel and again we had a wonderful Hawaiian holiday we made this hoilday a family one - All the staff members are very helpful and friendly not a day went pass without great service . From the moment we arrived and parked our
hire car and walked into the hotel lobby we were all greeted and in our rooms within 10 minutes
We always get the Breakfast package deal & ocean front room or Ocean view room - it is not a modern hotel but the grounds are great to just relax and walk around each morning it is a real Hawaiian hotel - Swimming pool is a bit small but with the ocean two minutes away it did not matter
Kaanapalli Beach is straight in front of the hotel at the Blackrock end where each night you can watch the sunset and the local man jump off the rock and the activites hut is right on the beach we went whale watching it was one of the best things we have done on the Island it was magic

Great walk way to the little shopping Village with some very nice restaurants
We will stay there again on our next visit to Maui we just love coming back it is like our home away from home
Thank you again Kaanapalli for a wondeful holiday

Room Tip: Always book Ocean front to watch the sunset or Ocean view with the Breakfast package & car deal...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 739Malcolm49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Ka'anapali Beach Hotel is a great Hawaiian place to stay. It is a local and not a big chain. Their packages are great. We used the "island romance" package which includes nice options including breakfast every day. The hotel is low key and everybody is very friendly. It is a good base from which to do lots if interesting stuff some of which are part of the packages. This is our second trip there and we won't go any place else. There is nightly free hawaiian entertainment. If you are going to Maui, look them up!

Room Tip: All rooms are good. I think all have ocean view. The more expensive rooms are closer to the ocean...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Clean with all the amenities one would expect at a reasonably priced hotel. Excellent location on the beach. Close to shopping. Lots of activities available. Food was great but the big thing about this hotel is the wonderful staff. Friendly, efficient, about as close ideal as one could ask for in hotel staff. They are proud of their Hawaiian culture and love sharing it.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view, Leave the patio doors open. Let the waves put you to sleep and the birds wake yo...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harold D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,561 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.1 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.5 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,066 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1987
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £154 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing