We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed as a family at this hotel, having two rooms with an interconnecting door. The views over the gardens and whale-shaped swimming pool were perfect and across to the ocean. I loved being able to hear the ocean from the room. The staff were welcoming and friendly, breakfast was great and when we ate dinner at the hotel, we had a great choice of menu and everything was beautifully presented. The swimming pool did get rather busy at the weekend but on the other days, it was a relaxing environment as the grounds stretch right across towards the beach (there is a little path to cross over to the sand). We found Whalers Village disappointing, as there were very few restaurants, several top-end shops selling art and jewellery, so we used to go into Lahaina in the evening where there was a much better choice of restaurants and interesting shops. The bus also stopped at a mall which had clothes shops and a pharmacy/drug store for toiletries and suntan lotions. The walk along the path between the beach and the hotels was enjoyable with views across the ocean but the sea was too rough for young children - we used to get voicemail messages on the phone in the hotel room warning us not to swim in the ocean!! Great for surfing and we used to enjoy watching the experts. We went on a fantastic whale-watching & snorkelling trip out to the Molokini crater and loved seeing the turtles (Pride of Maui) Wi-Fi didn't seem to work as it should - but Starbucks in the Cannery Mall had free Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: We had two rooms with an interconnecting door, overlooking the gardens and swimming pool. We all sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,696 - 1,702 of 4,162 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We had at great time at this hotel. We received a room upgrade without even asking and loved the view! The beach was beautiful and the activities were a great price compared to other rentals along the beach. Great location right next to Whalers village and Black Rock. The staff were all very welcoming and very versed in the Hawaiian history and culture. Our hotel seemed very authentic and genuine compared to other resorts. My only complaint was the lack of jacuzzi. We can't wait to return and have beads added to our goodbye leis.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great hotel...great experience. Our family has stayed there several times...true Hawaiian culture. Amazing beach, close to Whalers Village. Staff are very friendly, makes you feel at home.
Always happy to see repeat visitors. The closing goodbye ceremony is beautiful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is an older property as they let you know; it's Hawaii's family hotel and they are very nice here. I would have rated it five stars, but we felt the mattresses could be changed out for newer ones, although we did sleep good on the ones we had. Very large room and bathroom with seating bench in the shower (157). The trees were in bloom and the petals were all over the lawn, it was pretty amazing to see at this time of year. Awesome beachfront location by Black Rock. Bar staff at the tiki bar was great. Nice gift shop on site, great breakfast buffet/brunch. Friendly staff. Our room was not ready at 3pm, but shortly after, and we had a very nice time, just way too short during our one night cruise ship stop.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Boggybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was my second stay at this great hotel. This stay we bought a group of 19 with us. I just love that it is not a "canned" chain hotel. The grounds are so enjoyable. Not perfectly manicured, but with trees, flowers, lawn chairs scattered everywhere to make it very inviting to sit under a tree and read a book or take a rest from the beach or sight seeing. I loved the sound of the staff raking the fallen flowers each morning. We took many of the free cultural classes an especially enjoyed the lei making classes. I even repeated.

The staff was so accommodating with the exception of one evening our group of 19 tried to dine in the restaurant. Our waiter didn't measure up to the friendliness standard of everyone else we encountered. He seemed to be annoyed with having to serve such a large group, even though we had made a reservation. Pretty unfriendly fellow but perhaps he was just having a bad day.

The location is great! Very near Whaler's Village for dining opportunities and shopping. Black Rock snorkeling, some of the best according to one of our group, is a five minute walk down the beach.

The rooms are quite adequate and a bit different in each building. It was sometimes later in the day before our rooms were cleaned but never a problem as we were busy with activities or laying on the beach or under a tree most of the time.

Our group met a the Tiki Bar each evening to regroup and plan the next day, while enjoying the evening Hula Show put on by local dancers. Another example of local culture versus touristy production.

I will always stay at this hotel on future trips to Maui. The departure lei ceremony is also very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for a week with a group of 24. The rooms in some buildings were really nice. The rooms in the building close to the Sheraton however were definitely economy rooms, no full tub, not oven a fitted sheet. We had a room on the end of the building so we had a nice view. If you stay in the backside of any of have buildings your view is of another hotel. Also the pool closes at 9, which is a little early if you are traveling with a lot of young people who stay up late.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Beatleslover57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was a wonderful place to stay - the best! Best location, atmosphere, food, rooms, grounds and Hawaiian experience. The Sunday Brunch with the staff is not to be missed. What a gem of a place. They have a take-out counter which we used for breakfast several days - and ate staring at the ocean at the tables and chairs they have spread out. The birds are a hoot to watch. We had an ocean front room which was super clean and comfy. I would totally recommend this to anyone - couples or families. No, it's not a Hyatt but it's Hawaiian........

Room Tip: Ocean front! Do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Patty_in_Cleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,582 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.1 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.5 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,098 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1987
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £157 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing