We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely relaxed stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely relaxed stay”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had an Oceanview room which was clean and roomy. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were friendly and helpful. The grounds are always tidy and the swimming pool clean. It is just a short walk from a variety of eating places but we found the Tiki Terrace Restaurant and the Tiki Bar meals on-site were very good. The hula show and music each night added to the relaxing atmosphere. It is not a glamorous hotel but very homely and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: An oceanview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 389raewynb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,933
    1,314
    430
    190
    120
See reviews for
1,002
2,026
93
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (958)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

KBH was great! It has a homey feel to it, by way of the rooms and the staff. I feel like they strive to make you feel like a part of their family, and they achieve that. Sure, there are other hotels that are more glamorous and upscale, but my husband and I still say we would go back to KBH because it was truly a great experience. It has great views, the beautiful beach is just steps away, clean, helpful staff, and it also is in a great location. I would definitely recommend KBH.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed for four nights as part of a twelve night stay at Kaanapali also staying at the Hyatt and Marriott. This hotel is dated, and the rooms and amenities are not top notch. It is not nearly as nice as the Hyatt and Marriott. However, the employees are super friendly and helpful. The nightly Hula show is nice, and the Tiki Bar is probably the most fun place to hang out at night on Kaanapali. The location is great with Whaler's Village pretty much right next door, and the Sheraton and Black Rock snorkeling next door on the other side. I would stay here again for a few days just for the feeling of ohana (family) and the true aloha spirit, although I do enjoy the super pools and other amenities of the newer and nicer hotels on Kaanapali.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AZJuliasDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahuarita, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

this was our first trip to Maui for both my husband and myself. We followed a friends advice and booked KBH and we were not disappointed one bit. yes it's a older hotel but it's VERY clean and no bugs. The staff is 5* from checkin to valet service. We loved the location and the nice walkway by the beach. A very nice way to walk get some exercise and enjoy a nice ocean view while you're doing it. Nice easy walk the Whaler's village for shopping and restaurants. We plan to return to Maui and we will stay at KBH again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hairylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peekskill, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Don't stay here if you want an impeccable and artificial resort with a faux waterfall and a boat to your room. Stay here if you'd like a real taste of Hawai'i, if you'd like to be welcomed as part of the family, and if you'd like to smile every time you think of Maui.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PeekskillMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel could be charming, but instead it is just rundown and old. The room was dated and not very clean. I called housekeeping three times to get some sand cleaned from my bathroom floor and it remained during my entire stay. I was there on business and was not able to visit the beach, so the sand wasn't mine. I talked to the front desk manager about my issues and his response was "sorry, we will look into it." So, the bottom line, I didn't experience the friendly "aloha" service one might expect in Hawaii, the whole place is old and rundown, and they don't keep it very clean. Maybe my experience is unique, but just because it is a budget priced hotel on Ka'anapali Beach, doesn't mean that I should expect to get even less than I paid for in service and accommodations. Stay at your own risk.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PJS308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was a very nice hotel. We stayed here for four nights after taking a 7 day cruise. It is in a great location. The beach and the hotel grounds are A+, the hotel rooms are charming with wicker furniture and wooden beams on the ceiling. We had originally booked a garden view but was upgraded to a partial ocean view at no addition cost. If you are looking for a facility that is of the quality of Hilton Hawaiian Village, this would not be for you but if you are looking to relax and have a more old fashion Hawaiian experience the is would be a great place for you. They have activities that are no additional cost to you such as Lei making for hula lessons. Beach water equipment is available at a charge. We had a welcome breakfast that was available during the first two days of our stay that explained what was available to us in the facility as well in the area. The staff is very polite and there is a "Ohana" feel here. They have a tiki bar area where they have four guys playing music acoustically. They love to take requests. The hotel guests were made up of families, honeymooners, retirees and singles. There is a heart warming farewell when you check out of the hotel. It is very family friendly and there is a laundry facility if you need to do laundry. Beautiful beach, great location, great service. We utilized the valet service for $2 additional. It was worth it! My traveling companion felt like she was in summer camp which in my book made it a plus.
i would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean and garden pool view with a balcony, Very comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ktab96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.1 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,489 reviews
5.1 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.5 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
3,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Property: Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1987
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing