We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very traditional hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very traditional hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights on our honeymoon. It does seem quite pricey to say there is nothing included in that cost (not even Wi-Fi) but the hotel is very traditional (some would say old but I think it is more the style it is trying to be) and the staff were really friendly and helpful. The beach outside the Ka'anapali is easily the best along the front and there are plenty of restaurants along the front to try too. We did find a cockroach in our bathroom on the first night but the hotel did offer either a room change or a spray clean immediately and to be fair, the rooms were already spotless so I wouldn't worry too much about that. The hotel entertainment is fun and there are also traditional activities that you can do during the day. The hotel gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne for our honeymoon too which was really appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zubi06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,864
    1,258
    407
    183
    114
See reviews for
945
1,944
90
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (924)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We just returned from our third vacation at this hotel. Why? Because it has personality. It is a one of a kind place which respects Hawaiian culture. Our granddaughter took part in their lessons and activities for children (Hula, lei making, pineapple cutting, visiting staff to gain points in a passbook, etc.). Our grandson learned to play a ukulele from their teacher on staff. There were tears in my wife's eyes when we had to leave. The hotel's representative kissed us each on the cheek and sang a goodbye song in Hawaiian lyrics.They have 11 beautiful acres of oceanfront landscape with many different plant varieties. They offer a culture walk and explain the uses of the various plants. Isn't this why you travel to Hawaii?
Also, we enjoyed the nightly live music and Hula on the grounds between hotel and ocean beach.
The only negative was poor internet and they said they are in the middle of a major upgrade of their internet service.

Room Tip: Ask the staff about the types of rooms. Garden and Ocean Front are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I couldn't praise this hotel high enough... the location is excellent, set in lush green vegetation and well kept gardens. The staff are so friendly, obliging and attentive to your every need. I enjoyed meeting up at the "Tiki Bar" in tropical balmy sunsets and evenings to engage in delightful conversation with other happy travellers. The hotel "Tiki Restaurant" serves delicious local cuisine at very affordable prices and the nightly entertainment is vibrant and most enjoyable. My room (357) on the 3rd floor was very comfortable, spacious and immaculately clean with beautiful views of the hotel gardens, framing the sea before a backdrop of mountains. I will definitely return

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikato
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Hotel was very nice, older but very clean. All staff very welcoming. Hula show every night. Beach in front of hotel beautiful. Grounds extensive, very clean. Never felt like there was a lot of people around. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunlap, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to Hawaii and hopefully will not be our last. The reviews I read prior to the trip are pretty much "spot-on". The hotel is older and could use some remodeling. It is in a nice location with a short walk to Whaler's Village. There were a couple of issues with our room and they were addressed promptly. We were even refunded a night's stay. They were very apologetic and that goes a long way. They really want you to return. We had vouchers for breakfast each day. It is a buffet. Without the voucher, the meal is pricey, at around 20 dollars. There is a deli/convenience store by the front entrance. They have wraps, chips, salads, etc. It is a reasonable option for lunch items. Would I stay here again? Yes. Their willingness to make things right goes a long way in my book. Most large hotels would never reach out to customers the way Kaanapali did.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Advertised as the most Hawaiian hotel, but I disagree. First the Pros; Good location, fronts onto the main excellent Ka'anapali beach, has reasonable grounds and pool, within easy walking distance (10 minutes max) to Whalers Village which has good shops, facilities and restaurants. Big room, small balcony, good value multi-storey parking with direct access to the main hotel. Part of the Ka'anapali complex which is well developed and organised. Breakfast was a good spread, but extra and not cheap. Now the cons, and it was probably the small things that irritated me; In need of maintenance in places, some areas were definitely built on the cheap, when I am paying nearly $200/night for a room I object to being asked to pay an additional $1.60/night for the use of the safe, and $12/day for internet access. I'll pay for the safe, but I can walk next door to Whalers Village for free internet access over a coffee. Overall OK, but if I was going again I would stay in the Sheraton next door!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms face the ocean or pool/gardens, I would avoid a ground floor room unless you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKDiver2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights on our first ever visit to the islands of Hawaii. We were in a 6th floor room with excellent views of the ocean. Our room was large and clean, the lanai lovely. The hotel is a little dated but it has a very hawaiian feel. The staff are very friendly. The grounds and the beach are beautiful and we spent most of our time relaxing at the pool, particularly as we were very jet lagged after our long flights from the UK. We attended the magic show which was good fun. Other than that we only ate one evening meal here and it was excellent.

WiFi is expensive and is only available near the Tiki Bar/Pool. It was not unusual to have to go to reception to ask them to reboot it as it was often unavailable.

The farewell ceremony is very touching and my wife and I really enjoyed being part of it.

Room Tip: A high floor with a sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.1 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Property: Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1987
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing