We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maui hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Maui hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed for 4 nights at KBH. It was in a lovely setting right on the beach and had beautiful gardens. The pool was inviting and we felt that we could stay longer because of the shade. You could move the loungers around the grounds to stay out of the sun, which is good. The hotel was comfortable, we had a partial ocean view room that also looked over the garden. It was friendly and within easy walking distance to Whalers Village. Lahaina town is definitely not a walk away, but the shuttle bus is a good option. A nice touch was a farewell ceremony on the morning of our departure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,887
    1,275
    415
    184
    116
See reviews for
965
1,967
91
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (932)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for about five days on our honeymoon trip. It's not your Westin or Sheraton hotel but it's nice. The best part is definitely the grounds. We had an ocean view that looked right out on the courtyard. Very beautiful view, even if you don't get oceanview you probably get a great view of the island landscape. The staff is very friendly. Your stay includes a free welcome breakfast, and they are not lying, it is not a sales pitch. They just tell you what the island has to offer.

The cons for this place: the only casual dining on the property closes at like 8pm. So there is nothing to satisfy your late night cravings.
They charge $10 a day for parking and $1.50 to use the in room safe. These days those should just be included.

Other than the few downfalls this was a friendly and comfortable stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank piecesofadream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed at KBH for 6 days in May and enjoyed everyday. Took advantage of "Catch of the Day" promotion that included daily breakfast buffet and lunch at Tiki Grill. Buffet was well stocked with fresh fruits as well as hot breakfast foods. Staff was very friendly, courteous and made sure your empty plate wasn't on your table for very long. The Fish sandwiches at the Tiki Grill were delicious with a generous serving of Mahi Mahi. The rooms are spacious (450 sq. ft.) and well maintained. The same room would cost you twice the price at the Sheraton for less sq. ft.(355 sq. ft.) The beach is beautiful, with plenty of white sand, and the ocean is very nice to swim in, at the location. Don't be lured by the fancier hotels on Kaanapali beach, try the KBH--you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: watch for promotional deals when booking online with the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe32988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our 5th time here and as always it was a great stay. Rooms are spacious, location is the best and the grounds are spacious and clean. Plenty of room to spread out on a lounge chair by the pool unlike neighboring hotels. Good breakfast, good bar and good food too. Short walk to black rock and Whaler's Village. We can't wait until visit number 6!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikez68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights on our honeymoon. It does seem quite pricey to say there is nothing included in that cost (not even Wi-Fi) but the hotel is very traditional (some would say old but I think it is more the style it is trying to be) and the staff were really friendly and helpful. The beach outside the Ka'anapali is easily the best along the front and there are plenty of restaurants along the front to try too. We did find a cockroach in our bathroom on the first night but the hotel did offer either a room change or a spray clean immediately and to be fair, the rooms were already spotless so I wouldn't worry too much about that. The hotel entertainment is fun and there are also traditional activities that you can do during the day. The hotel gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne for our honeymoon too which was really appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zubi06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We just returned from our third vacation at this hotel. Why? Because it has personality. It is a one of a kind place which respects Hawaiian culture. Our granddaughter took part in their lessons and activities for children (Hula, lei making, pineapple cutting, visiting staff to gain points in a passbook, etc.). Our grandson learned to play a ukulele from their teacher on staff. There were tears in my wife's eyes when we had to leave. The hotel's representative kissed us each on the cheek and sang a goodbye song in Hawaiian lyrics.They have 11 beautiful acres of oceanfront landscape with many different plant varieties. They offer a culture walk and explain the uses of the various plants. Isn't this why you travel to Hawaii?
Also, we enjoyed the nightly live music and Hula on the grounds between hotel and ocean beach.
The only negative was poor internet and they said they are in the middle of a major upgrade of their internet service.

Room Tip: Ask the staff about the types of rooms. Garden and Ocean Front are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I couldn't praise this hotel high enough... the location is excellent, set in lush green vegetation and well kept gardens. The staff are so friendly, obliging and attentive to your every need. I enjoyed meeting up at the "Tiki Bar" in tropical balmy sunsets and evenings to engage in delightful conversation with other happy travellers. The hotel "Tiki Restaurant" serves delicious local cuisine at very affordable prices and the nightly entertainment is vibrant and most enjoyable. My room (357) on the 3rd floor was very comfortable, spacious and immaculately clean with beautiful views of the hotel gardens, framing the sea before a backdrop of mountains. I will definitely return

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.1 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,465 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#16 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,875 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Property: Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1987
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing