We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old but refurbished hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, MA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Old but refurbished hotel.”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We last stayed at this hotel in 1988. It has been refurbished. Of the three hotels at which we stayed during our 15 day Hawaiian vacation, this was by far p, at least initially, our least favorite. Our original room was small with a tiny ocean view from our lanai. I had requested a free upgrade, since we were returning guests...26 years ago. We had not been to Maui since 1988.

I called the front desk, to state my displeasure with the room, and the fact that we did not receive a free upgrade as requested over the months since our reservation. I asked to speak to the manager. After some back and forth, we were offered an ocean front on the first floor. I usually don't like the first floor for security reasons. We saw the room, found it so much bigger and better, and made the switch. I thanked the manager, Salome, for providing the upgrade.

The first floor worked out very well. It was very convenient to step out to the beach, and we didn't have to deal with the quirky elevators at the far end of the hall.

Breakfast was included. I didn't quite understand why after we saw the host/hostess, showed them our vouchers, everyone had to wait in a small lounge to be seated. The restaurant was nearly empty. This was a buffet breakfast, where we serve ourselves. The waiter, any waiter, can bring you your coffee or tea. No need to wait.

There was a fee to park. $17/day. The fee for lounges, cabanas, and umbrellas were discounted for hotel guests. Very reasonable. We paid less than $22 for a cabana with two padded lounge chairs.

Wine at the bar was a ridiculously low $4 a glass! I believe last call was at ten. Early for us.

Be carefully in the water. The surf can be dangerous.

We told the desk when we checked in that we would celebrating our 42nd anniversary. We gave them the date, the desk marked it down, and promised a bottle of champagne. Our anniversary came and went. No champagne. However, miraculously, a bottle of champagne appeared in our refrigerator at ap 1pm. Now that was very nice, oops, but I have to drive to the airport in a few hours. I can't be drunk on champagne! We shared the bottle with others on the beach.

Our flight to Phoenix and Boston wasn't leaving until 10:30 pm. I asked what was the latest check out time we could have. We paid an extra $90 and had the room until 6pm. We had to check the day before to make sure it was available. We spent the day at the beach, and we're able to shower before heading to the airport.

Would I stay again? I believe I would if provided a free upgrade again. Hotels should provide extras for their returning guests. If not, why return? I thank Salome again for that wonderful free upgrade.

Room Tip: Old hotel that has been refurbished. Wifi was being upgraded, and was not available. If you truly d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bvieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,918
    1,296
    422
    188
    119
See reviews for
990
1,998
92
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (950)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hw
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were upgraded to an ocean view room with a bottle of champagne waiting for us. Ask for a bed board, if you like a firm bed.
Grounds and beach area are very nice. Cabana rental was reasonable. Short walk to Whalers Village with lots of restaurants to choose from.
Wifi is only in the outdoor bar area, but was broken the week we were there. I believe there is a charge, if it would have been working.
Departure ceremony was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I usually stay in 4 to 5 star hotels but having lived in Hawaii for 2 years I wanted to go back to a traditional hotel where I felt like family. This is it. Kaanapali Beach Hotel is traditional and it has beautiful grounds...lots of grass and quiet places to relax. It is all refurbished. It is not a hotel for someone wanting swanky 5 star. I looked at the Westin just up the beach and it was all glitz and glam...flamingos in the pool and a black swan. Everyone was crammed in around the pool you could have been anywhere in the world. But with Kaanapali Beach Hotel I felt like I was back in Hawaii in the 80's which is when I lived there. The guy at the bar has been there for 30 years. I loved the grounds..the chess game on the grass and the Hawaiian checkers. Staff are fantastic. Its a 2 min walk to Whalers Village which we loved. Dinner at hotel was fantastic too. The beach is beautiful and we were swimming with turtles. The sofas are covered in flowers and the rooms are similar with traditional furniture...I love it.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room but we looked over the garden and out to the beach it was amazing. We we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ausloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Ok, it's a tongue in cheek title, but that's how I found the hotel - from a Google search. I feel very lucky that this is the location I chose. They call themselves the 'most Hawaiian hotel' and I think that's probably true. It is the only privately owned hotel in Hawaii and promotes the heritage of Hawaii in every aspect that they can. From my first contact with the reservations person to the last bellman that helped put our bags in the car, every single employee was caring, friendly, engaging, and happy in their job.
We were in room 585. It had a wonderful ocean view.
We had the Sunday Champagne Brunch. I don't think I've ever seen that much food in one place. And, it was really good food! Quality AND quantity.
We attended the in-house magic show and dinner. The dinner was served quickly and efficiently and the magic show was skillfully done. The show highlighted the Hawaiian heritage by presenting illusions from famous magicians who have visited Hawaii in the past and also Hawaiian legends and dance. All in all, a very skillful cast, crew, and service staff.

Maui was more expensive than I expected but, in most cases, we got a lot for our money. For an example, we took a sunset dinner cruise. It was 2-1/2 hours long; they had a great prime rib; and, it was an open bar.

I don't want to give much away on this event, but they have a small ceremony upon your departure that we found to be very sincere and actually moving.

I guess you can tell that we had a great time but it's important to know how well the place is run and the quality of goods and services they provide.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Keith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Lovely property to stay at as right on the beach and has free nightly entertainment ,pleasant friendly staff,plenty of water activities on the door step nice clean pool and grounds, but look after your valuables in your room as we came home minus a mini I pad.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and get an Ocean view room as we'll worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzygirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui Hawaii
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We live on Maui... whenever we want to "get away" we stay at the KBH. It is right on the beach, part of a wonderful walk along the beach... the rooms are very nice, always very clean, friendly staff. Very close to Whalers Village, shopping , many restaurants. We love Hula Grill for dinner, walking distance! We love the ambiance of this hotel. The rates are among the least expensive in this area.

Room Tip: We stayed in 188 first floor oceanfront.... it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StargazerMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

You can not get more Hawaiian than this hotel. It is not new, shiny, big resort and that is what makes it perfect. It is smaller, yet the grounds are open and big and beautiful. Where else can you sit under a plumeria tree, smelling the blossoms and take a nap or read a book and be completely undisturbed. It's restful and rejuvenating - and the views are stunning! One of the best views anywhere along Kaanapali beach. You can probably get an ocean view room for the price of a parking lot or garden view at one of the big resorts. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely appointed. No complaints at all!! The housekeepers did a terrific job and were always so friendly. The staff is one of the best parts of this hotel. They are caring, kind and so helpful. Especially Malahini-she is a treasure. They believe in the spirit of Aloha, and the hotel is doing a wonderful job of keeping Hawaiian culture alive and well! You can get free hula lessons, ukelele lessons, lei making, wood carving, pineapple carving - and the list goes on! It's amazing!! The pool is a no bells and whistles pool, but that's ok - kids still enjoy splashing around and having a fun time, and there are plenty of chairs for everyone to relax. No fighting for chair spacelike at the big resorts! If you want beauty, peacefulness, rest and relaxation, gorgeous beach, great staff and activities, this is the perfect spot. They also have local artisans in the lobby each day, so you can take a break from the pool (or your nap under a plumeria tree) and do some great shopping! Every night, there is a free Hawaiian music/hula show under the stars that is always entertaining - and free!! We simply love this hotel. To us, it is the true meaning of Aloha and is exactly what we imagined Hawaii to be like.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barb777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.1 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,926 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Property: Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1987
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing